We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Mouton Blanc

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Mouton Blanc to your Saves list
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grande Rue | BP 18, 50170 Mont-St-Michel, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Mont-St-Michel
Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

Wow. I really don't understand why anyone would stay on the mainland. The experience of staying on Mont-Saint-Michel is just amazing. It is not expensive and you get to explore the island in peace and quiet after the hordes of day trippers have left. We picked Le Mouton Blanc as they had a family room that would take our family of 5 (2 adults and 3 children aged 4, 6 and 8). The room had a double bed and two single beds - the two youngest shared a bed, head to toe no problems. While the room was small, this is to be expected in an historic hotel. The room was very clean and neat and while the bathroom was small (also to be expected) it was clean and modern. We really loved the hotel. We heeded the warnings of others and packed a few necessities in a couple of carry bags and left the rest of our bags in the car. We were a little nervous about leaving most of our luggage in the car but the car park appeared to have security all night and is very open. Make sure you are at the abbey first thing when it opens so you can tour it before the day trippers arrive. Don't stay on the mainland - stay here instead!

  • Liked — Such an historic hotel in an historic location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    193
    119
    48
    34
See reviews for
113
236
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

We've lived in France....we love France. We know that the customer is not king in France and that's okay. But our experience with the evening staff at Le Mouton Blanc was not pleasant. It left us convinced that most of the people who work on Mont St. Michel have had their fill of tourists. We were not welcome. (The young woman who worked at the front desk during the morning hours was competent and polite. She seemed to exert great effort to compensate for her coworkers. She and the housekeeper in the annex were both very pleasant.)

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mont-St-Michel hotels

Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

An experience not to be missed is to stay on Mont. St. Michel overnight. You can actually see things without fighting the mobs of tourists crowding the streets. Le Mouton Blanc (The White Sheep) is a nice family type hotel about half way up the tiny main cobblestoned street (less than one lane) that winds up (very up) to the abbey on St. Michel. Perfect access to anywhere on the mount. Look for the sign above the street (hard to see in crowds).

To get there, you have to park your car at the public lot (4 Euros) near St. Michel, then go to the hotel and get a pass key for the overnight parking on the causeway since the parking lots flood with the tide. Once you have the key, you can come and go as you please at no cost.

The hotel is nice and comfortable although there is no lift and the stairs can be a bit tricky especially on the top floor where we were. Also some low ceilings but the bathroom was brand new and spacious for France, with full shower. Sparkling clean. Very friendly staff.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No wi-fi or lift
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sometimes uk, sometimes japan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

We stayed here for just one night but were very pleased with everything. Our room was a little small but full of character with lots of nice wood. The bathroom had a shower over bath and a toilet. All parts of the room were clean and we had a view (not a great one, but a view nonetheless) of the abbey itself. Breakfast was included in what was a great price (£63 for a double) for France and particularly for such a touristy area. Staying the night meant we got to see the area without the crowds. Breakfast was good and our evening meal (not included) was absolutely excellent - all courses! Having read other reviews about the annexe I guess we struck lucky but, from our experience, I would happily recommend this hotel: great food, wonderful and romantic experience at a good price.

  • Liked — Room had real character - and the lobster I had for dinner
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

The hotel was a disappointment. We picked the hotel because of its location in/on the island. The pictures of the hotel suggested simple but charming rooms. However once we arrived we found that this small 12-15 room hotel is really two hotels. Unfortunately the majority of the rooms are in what the hotel calls the "annex". The annex is actually a completely different building. In fact after checking in at the main desk they give you a map with out-of-date pictures that are suppose to lead you to the annex with a warning that if you can't find it (you could not with the pictures they used) you should come back to the desk!

The rooms in the annex were very small and looked nothing like the pictures we saw. In fact the bathroom is a one piece plastic sink and commode (shower sprays the bathroom). The bathroom is very similar to what you would see in an airplane or low end cruise ship. The modern decor of the room is quite tacky. The rooms are stacked vertically in the annex which previously must of been some kind of bell tower. The rooms are noisy as people walk up and down several flights of circular stairs. There is no lobby or front desk in the annex. You depend on other guests to lock the front door.

The only redeeming feature of the hotel is its location on the island. The island gets very crowded during the day and staying on the island offers you a wonderful opportunity to really get a sense of the place. Well worth visiting but I would not stay in this hotel.

  • Liked — Location on the island
  • Disliked — The list is long
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
key west
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

My husband and I were advised to spend a night inside the walls of Mont St. Michel. I went ahead and booked two nights at le Mouton Blanc. We stayed in a newer room, as we wanted a shower. The decor was very 70's shabby, which I guess was new when considering the age of Mont St. Michel. Also France can be quite warm in the summer. Thankfully, a cold front had moved in and kept temperatures down as a result. If not, a lack of air conditioning would have been an issue. We did have difficulty locating hotels with airconditioning once we got out of Paris. Thank goodness for the cold front! It is really a gamble to book an unair-conditioned room at the height of summer in Europe, I have found.

When compared to other hotels in Mont Saint Michel, the price was right. However, I would opt to spend more next time for a better accomodation, though. Hopefully the US dollar will go farther next time!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of character...so if you stay there, stay in the main building and take a bath
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

We (wife & 2 kids) had to rent two rooms in the Annex due to the size of the rooms but on a per room basis the prices were comparable to what we paid in other places. Rooms were clean but like most places on the Mont they are small. Shower-only. The rooms were not noisy during the day but they and Mont St. Michel are very quiet after the tourists leave. Would stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Mouton Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Mouton Blanc

Address: Grande Rue | BP 18, 50170 Mont-St-Michel, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-St-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Mont-St-Michel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Mouton Blanc 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel de 19 chambres tout confort dans des demeures historiques du XIVème siècle au coeur du Mont-Saint-Michel, Merveille de l’Occident.Restaurant de tradition dans l’auberge historique du Mouton Blanc avec sa cuisine authentique et savoureuse.L’hôtel historique Au pied de l’Abbaye, l’hôtel du Mouton Blanc de renommée centenaire vous accueille dans sa demeure historique du XIVème siècle et dans seschambres calmes, pleines de charme et d’un très grand confort.L’Auberge normandeDans ses salles à manger traditionnelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Mouton Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mouton Blanc Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Mouton Blanc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.