We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic comes at a price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Mouton Blanc

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Mouton Blanc to your Saves list
Hotel Le Mouton Blanc
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grande Rue | BP 18, 50170 Mont-St-Michel, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Mont-St-Michel
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“Magic comes at a price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

LOCATION: The hotel itself is easy to find, on the main drag part-way up the hill. You’ll find a lot of discussion on Trip Advisor about the value of staying on the island or not. Personally, we loved walking around the town late at night, a more magical experience than I’d anticipated. It was easily the best part of our visit to Mont Saint MIchel. I have a hard time imagining how it could be the same when using the shuttle, but I could be wrong.

ISLAND ACCESS: Currently buses from Rennes drive to the base of the island for drop off and pick-up. This makes arrival from Paris very efficient. This could change at any point, however. The causeway is currently a mess of construction.

ROOM: We had a room on the third floor facing the front. My expectations weren’t real high, and it was cuter than I’d expected. We didn’t have any problems with noise, but we were there off-season. I was prepared for some early-morning garbage and transportation noise, but we awoke long before that started, and it wasn’t that bad anyway.

STAFF: Hard-working and friendly.

FOOD: Adequate at the hotel, but nothing to crow about. Watch out for the deceptively benign-sounding “Normandy Stew” on the menu. Its main ingredient is tripe, also known as cow intestine lining. Our marginally-English-speaking (but very sweet) waitress kindly warned us by repeatedly pointing to her stomach.

We ate elsewhere in town and decided that the food in Mont Saint MIchel was easily the worst of our month in France. Given the millions that tromp through each year, they don’t have to try very hard. Oddly enough, the posted restaurant menus throughout town looked nearly identical, like they’d been duplicated and laminated at the same place. We found the “famous” omelet at one nearby restaurant inedible--it looked and tasted like puffy plastic and smelled funky (and not in a good we’re-in-France sort of way.) I still get nauseated thinking about it. The “fondue” was stinky cheese on a cracker.

THE TIDES: Don’t fret if the railed entry pathway goes underwater. There’s a service access to the right under an arch. (I’m not sure why they direct tourists on the pathway in the first place, unless it’s to deliver them to the first trinket shops. This town is all about the tourist dollar.) We saw some Japanese girls wade through the ankle-deep sea-water, unaware of the alternative dry option for entry. Fortunately they found it hysterical, if not freezing.

OVERALL: Come at a quieter time of year, if possible. Even with crowds, tourist traps and crappy food, a visit here still earns its keep with a single late-night walk. Simply lovely. You’ll pay more to stay here than it’s probably worth, but you are at picture-perfect Mont Saint MIchel, afterall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    208
    122
    50
    37
See reviews for
121
253
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Le Mouton Blanc Hotel is inside the heart of Abbaye du Mont-Saint-Michel.

My hotel was housed in a historical building right near an old Gothic church that was open to guest late in the evening. The room I stayed in was small, but there was a window that overlooked the bay surrounding the abbey. My room was equipped with a flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi access. The private bathroom was very small, about the size of a ship bathroom and was fitted with a shower. After I checked into the room, I had to wait over two hours in order to use the water in the hotel room; perhaps it was due to repairs. Overall, the hotel room was clean and located near everything in the Abby, so I didn't mind the small convinces. I was told Breakfast was served daily, but didn't try it. Over all the experience was a good one. I was near everything in the Castle and loved the experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I will make this brief as this hotel and restaurant is easy to review. Hotel and our room fine although generally it was a bit shabby and needs a bit of TLC. Did not see evidence of the bed bugs that other visitors have reported.

The restaurant was the worst we have ever eaten in. I cannot emphasize this enough. No other restaurant we have eaten in comes even close to being as bad. All three courses that my partner and I had were shocking and took ages to arrive. That would explain why they were all stone cold, no exaggeration no heat left in the food at all. After a heated discussion we did not pay for the food.

Mont Saint-Michel is lovely so please visit. The hotel is fine if you don't mind the risk of the bed bugs others have reported (I personally would not stay again after reading that). DO NOT EAT HERE!!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mont-St-Michel hotels

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Mont Saint Michel in winter is worth the experience! You get the island for yourself. We booked last minute at Hotel Le Mouton Blanc and got a triple bedroom for 80 euros a night no breakfast. At our arrival, we were given a quadruple bedroom in an annexe with direct Abbey and Bay views on each side of the room. Room 308 was clean and recently renovated, it seems. We had nice comforters on our beds. There was enough room to move around. A great FREE !!!! fast WiFi connection. We had no contact with the hotel at all as the room was in another bldg above the main street and all we can say is that the entrance and front of the main bldg are extremely charming. Staff was nice.
Would I recommend this hotel? How good are he other hotels in comparison? what would be the experience in summer? most probably hell. So enjoy Mouton Blanc Hotel and Mont Saint Michel in winter and enjoy the beauty of the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here in December and really loved our triple room on the second floor. This little hotel excels in Medieval charm. Our room had thick chunky exposed wooden beams on the roof and at the end that fronted onto the street the whole wall was old medieval style wood with two little shutter windows from which, when opened, you could lean out of and almost reach across to the building on the opposite side of the alley. It still had its old fireplace which had now been turned into a decorative alcove with its original huge wooden lintel embedded across the wallspace. The room oozed charm and was actually quite spacious with two single beds and a double. Everything was very clean and we all fell in love with it. If you are staying at a hotel on the Mont you have a special car park on the mainland in which to leave your vehicle and then you jump on a little shuttle bus that takes you across the causeway to the main entrance gate. It is a short walk up a steep rough cobblestone alley to the Mouton Blanc so you might want to keep your luggage to a minimum (we packed an overnight bag rather than lugging all our suitcases with us). The only thing that let this place down was breakfast which was not the greatest spread we had seen and the sole waitress was not very attentive however as it was off season I can forgive them for this. Another very helpful staff member allowed us to store our bags so that we could tour the Mont and the check in staff were also pleasant. All in all we loved our stay here and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay on the Mont and relish the tranquility of this very special place after the day trippers have left.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Clean hotel and rooms, nice breakfast, excellent location and good prices. Employees are very nice. And we had a nice surprise at our arrival at the cozy rooms: even if in the webpage it says that there is no wifi we were so happy to see that we had wifi in our room. Very good deal!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We visited Mont-St-Michel and stayed at Hotel Le Mouton Blanc on my 50th birthday. Wow! What a gift! I e-mailed the hotel before we left, requesting a room with a double bed and with the best possible view. It took my breath away! Although in an annexure of the hotel, we sure hit the jackpot. Our room had 2 double beds, with a view over the bay on the one side (where we saw sunrise), and a view over the Cathedral (which is lit at night). Because we were "off the beaten track", we were not disturbed by any noises. Our reception was friendly and warm and we felt very welcome. We had dinner at the Hotel Restaurant Le Mouton Blanc. Quite expensive for South Africans but it was good. It was a privilege to spend my 50th here! The special shuttle service for hotel residents are an added bonus!

Room Tip: Ask for room 308 for view on both sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Mouton Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Mouton Blanc

Address: Grande Rue | BP 18, 50170 Mont-St-Michel, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Mont-St-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Mont-St-Michel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Mouton Blanc 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hôtel de 19 chambres tout confort dans des demeures historiques du XIVème siècle au coeur du Mont-Saint-Michel, Merveille de l’Occident.Restaurant de tradition dans l’auberge historique du Mouton Blanc avec sa cuisine authentique et savoureuse.L’hôtel historique Au pied de l’Abbaye, l’hôtel du Mouton Blanc de renommée centenaire vous accueille dans sa demeure historique du XIVème siècle et dans seschambres calmes, pleines de charme et d’un très grand confort.L’Auberge normandeDans ses salles à manger traditionnelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Mouton Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mouton Blanc Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Mouton Blanc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.