We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pointless” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of History

Museum of History
Mont-St-Michel, France
Improve this listing
Type: History Museums
Attraction Details
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pointless”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

No translation into English, lots of model boats in 4 rooms so nothing special. Save your money for the Abbey. This museum is offered as a package (4 museums for €18, each museum is supposedly €9 each). DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY HERE!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    5
    11
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Could easily be improved”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

So this was the museum we expected to see suits of armour and dungeons in, after visiting the others in the combo ticket and being singularly unimpressed by all of them...

No sign of any suits of armour and a pretty poor dungeon. We would have been better spending our time queuing for the Abbey which we gave up with in the heat.

They let us in because we were English, rather than waiting for the next French tour, so we expected there to be a tour in English. When the French group before us had moved on, we were ushered into a room and advised that the tour was only in French and we'd just have to read our leaflets. Nice. How difficult would it be to provide a headset with the translated information? It includes a "sound and light spectacular" which would have been very interesting if we could have understood it.

I wouldn't bother with any of the museums on Mont St Michel unless your French is pretty good. They are not interested in catering for anyone who doesn't speak French.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Please save your money and don't bother, a total waste of 38 euros! Free for kids but a total rip off otherwise, I speak some French but couldn't work out what any of this had to do with the Mont. Go straight to the Abbey and don't waste your time here.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a somewhat disparate collection of unrelated items grouped together with little relevance to the island or the monastery.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springwood, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“An exciting time was had by all”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Imagine the thrill of viewing scores of watch cogs in a dusty cabinet! How about a stone bath used by monks? I won't spoil the visit by telling you of the other great attractions here.... yes I will, how about a pair of boots hanging on the wall that the postman used to wear? Got your attention now, haven't I? The best item is a plaster of a man drowning in quicksand! How did we survive the excitement? Well, we did.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of History also viewed

 

Been to Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Museum of History to your Saves list