We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbaye du Mont-Saint-Michel

Abbaye du Mont-Saint-Michel
BP 22, 50170 Mont-St-Michel, France
02 33 89 80 00
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Abbaye du Mont-Saint-Michel like an insider
Top Rated
$477*
and up
2-Day Mont St-Michel and Loire Valley Castles...
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Benedictine Abbey of Mont-Saint-Michel is one of the most remarkable examples of mediaeval religious and military architecture and was one of Christianity's most important pilgrimage sites from the 8th to the 18th century.The Abbey comprises a superb ensemble of clerical buildings including the abbey church, the cloister, the refectory, the monks' ambulatory and the gardens of what has been known as the ""Merveille"" (Marvel) since the 12th century. In summer, the Abbaye du Mont-Saint-Michel is best seen in all its splendour after sunset during the special “sons et lumières"" shows. Designated world heritage site by UNESCO. Open:> 2nd May to 31st August: from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.> 1st September to 30th April: from 9.30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Last admission 1 hr before closing time. Closed:> 1st January, 1st May and 25 December. Admission fees: Adults : 9€; Concessions (18 to 25) = 5,50 €; Free admission: minors under 18*; Free admission: 18-25 years old* (citizens of one of the 27 countries of the EU or are non-European permanent residents of France) * excluding school groups
Cairns
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

What an amazing place. Just breathtaking at the top of the hill. The abbaye was a step back in history.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,670
    965
    310
    126
    86
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My husband and I went early in the morning, took the bus from the parking lot because it was cold and misting out, it is a free ride but you do pay for parking. We also did the couples headset audio tour which I recommend, I think it was 6 euro. It gave us a great background on the history as we walked through each room. You can take pictures. Go early there is a lot to see and the crowds really started showing up around lunch time. We did eat at one of the local restaurants on site and it was pretty good.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Mont Saint Michel is an amazing place, with an interesting history. In order to enjoy the superb views, the best is to visit this place in a sunny day, on incoming tide when the bay is covered by the ocean. Avoid the weekend, because it is more crowded as usually. In order to understand what you see, take a guide, I strongly recommend this, otherwise you will see just some empty rooms.
Even the place is not big at all, I suggest to take at least half a day for this amazing place. Don't forget to take a walk in the village, around the walls, in the gardens, among the houses and on the beach. However don't go too far around the rock, watch out not get stuck in the mud (people died in this way).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A unique Abbey. A must for any bucket list.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The architecture and location are unique. We had a tour of the Abbey from an English speaking guide who was very knowledgeable. We were there in the off season so and got there in the morning so the crowds were small. The pictures don't began to capture the experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A vision of heaven on the horizon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

October 2013 - My wife and I toured Normandy and on the horizon, miles away, we could see what looked like a huge building or even a mountain. As we got closer it became clear that it was in fact a steep mountain like island in the tidal flats which held a majestic church/abbey/town. It was a clear day and the experience was indescribable. Atop this mount is an ancient structure built in apx. 460 AD, which is also on the UNESCO world heritage site list, and is in great shape and continues to be rehabilitated. Although visiting the abbey is difficult for those who have trouble climbing stairs (more than 300), it is certainly well worth the time and trouble to visit. We visited on a day trip from Paris but noted that there are a number of hotels at the base of the mount. The mount is surrounded by a tidal flat which, during high tide makes it an island, there is a new causeway being built which gives 24/7 access. I recommend this site 10 stars on the to-do list for France.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbaye du Mont-Saint-Michel also viewed

 

Been to Abbaye du Mont-Saint-Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbaye du Mont-Saint-Michel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.