We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect base to explore Normandy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence & Spa to your Saves list
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence & Spa
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   3 Rue Charles Sevestre, 14150 Houlgate, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“A perfect base to explore Normandy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at the Pierre et Vacances Prenium Residence and spa Houlgate for one week in April 2014. This is not our first stay in a P&V residence but it was our 1st stay in a Prenium residence.

The Residence is quite large and is made up of apartments and homes. We stayed in a 4 people house. It was very comfortable for 2 people and a family with kids would have no problem sharing the space but it would be a bit tight if it was for 4 adults. Its location, while difficult to find, is lovely. It is up the hill which means that there is a beautiful view of the town and sea from the residence. It is in a quiet area but yet only a 10min walk to Houlgate's beach and main street.

We really liked it but there are a few points I would like to point out as there is always room for improvement:

The pool: only open in summer so if you have children....no pool. We did get pay to get access to the spa (pool + hammam ....) but at 20 euro per person for a half day if you are a resident: it can become quite expensive if you would like to go for a swim every day.

The cleaning: you are asked to clean the kitchen area and remove the bedsheets from the bed.... not the end of the world but I would prefer to know that the kitchen and cutlery would be cleaned by someone working there rather than relying on the cleaning standards of the previous guests. I have also found a good few cobwebs and spiders behind furniture or curtains so cleaning could be improved. It simply seems that all visible areas are looked after as it is clean but any hidden away area seems to be forgotten about.

Otherwise, the personnel was friendly, although we only needed to see them when checking in and checking out, the grounds of the property are really well maintained. Also, we had brought our dog with us. France has a very laid back attitude when it comes to pets and it was great to see.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    188
    60
    23
    9
See reviews for
245
101
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is a lovely apart-hotel. A friend and I spent a long weekend there in September with our 4 kids while exploring Upper Nomandy. The views of the city below and the sea beyond that are really pretty.

We had a two bedroom apartment, with a pull-out sofa in the living room. Enough bedspace for all of us, but maybe a little bit crowded. I spent a couple of nights on the pull-out sofa, and I have to say that it was far more comfortable than the double bed in the bedroom upstairs, believe it or not.

It was very chilly while we were there! Even so, the kids insisted on swimming in the pool, and they had a great time.

From this location we visited both the fishing town of Honfleur (totally adorable) and the Cliffs of Etretat (amazing)! Houlgate was a cute little town, but I'm glad it was only a few days - the menus in the restaurants were very repetitive!

I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

It was so nice time i spent there with my family
Nice location
Clean place
Good people working there
Easy to find cofeshop around and malls are not far
Easy to reach sea easy to move to near city
So great place



Room Tip: Great so reasonable price for every thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Nice location, house had everything we needed. We booked the 6 person house for the 3 of us (couple with 1 year old), as we had read that the apartments in this park are very small. I am so glad we did, as the house was just about big enough for us. I can't imagine how you could fit 6 adults, or even 4 adults in! The spa is small but very nice, treatments very enjoyable but be prepared to pay the same sort of prizes as you would in a uk spa.

The market in Dives sur mer (next village) is excellent, beaches along this stretch of coast are lively.

Room Tip: The accommodation is very small, so book an extra bedroom if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

A lovely apartment and we had an excellent stay. Houlgate is a really pretty town and we were perfectly placed for walking into town and the beach. We didn't need the car at all. We loved the use of the board games and used the breakfast bakery service which was really nice. All in all it was good value for money and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greystones, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Can Recommend P&V Houlgate as a comfortable base to explore the Basse-Normandie region. The residence is set in lovely gardens with superb view of the town & sea. Service was friendly and ultra efficient.


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

just come back from a week in the p&v houlgate and spa.
i ve read fews articles before and i don t agree with some of them.the property have excellent amenities ,lovely heated pool and the appts style normandy house are to die for.
the staffs is very helpful if you need anything they always try to give you satisfaction.
if you don t have enough glasses,plates or pan they bring you more ..you can also order your bread and croissants from the desk .
the only negative point is missing a proper owen(i think of families)
the view is fantastic,i will come back

Room Tip: try to get a view and also if you have difficulties to walk and need to be close to the pool ask a a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence & Spa

Address: 3 Rue Charles Sevestre, 14150 Houlgate, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Houlgate
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Houlgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal combination of sea and countrysideA luxury residence facing the seaA 'luxury' spa, combining modernity and innovation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Pierre & Vacances, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre And Vacances Premium Residence & Spa
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Hotel Houlgate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.