We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families but 4 star it is not” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome to your Saves list
Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Michel d'Ornano, 14390 Cabourg, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Cabourg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for families but 4 star it is not”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A nice little hotel but certainly not 4 star as they suggest - more like a decent 3 star which is a little underwhelming considering it's a Mercure

We had a duplex room which is very useful if there are more than 2 of you, but rooms were quite small with a lack of plug points (none) in the upstairs sleeping area.

We were on the 1st floor but the hotel doesn't have a lift. We were asked if we wanted help getting our cases upstairs which we politely declined as we hadn't bought much luggage with but, to be honest, we would have expected a 4 star hotel to have a lift.

Given that Mercure rate this as a four star hotel we were surprised to find no room safe, no individual toiletries in the bathroom, no drawers for storage and, given that the room is designed to sleep 5, a better quantity of teas and coffees. Breakfast was also expensive at €16 per person but probably in line with most French hotels!!!

Wi-fi internet was free and adequate for most purposes which was certainly one advantage over some other hotels.

On the first night my wife had a shower and couldn't work out the controls, setting off the wrong control. Water flooded out of the bathroom into the room and also seeped under the wall into the bedroom as well. We cleared it up with little damage but it showed that the walls were a bit flimsy and cheap. I wouldn't like to have been there with noisy neighbours!

Bathroom is adequate - or compact as we would say - don't bring the cat with as there really isn't going to be room to swing it. Bath towels are small (very) and it had my (current) favourite pet hate - plastic tooth mugs (actually cheap plastic drinking cups) that are so feeble that you can't stand your toothbrush in it without the cup falling over. I can understand the logic of not putting glass cups in the bathroom but why, oh why, can't hotels put a more substantial plastic beaker in the bathroom? it's what I would expect in a 2 star hotel.

If you a largish person you are also going to have some problems in the toilet. This is separate to the bathroom (good) but small (bad) and you have to manoeuvre your way in, through the door and round the badly positioned toilet paper dispenser to get the door closed again. A toilet roll holder by the toilet would have looked better and solved these problems as well.

But, as I said, it's a pleasant little hotel, clean and tidy and the staff were all helpful. Cabourg is a pleasant little town to stay in for visiting the area and certainly cheaper than its up market, in your face neighbour, Deauville. If you're here to do the "beaches, then it's closer to the main British and Canadian sites as well.

The duplex rooms are perfect for families but luxury or 4 star it is not.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    213
    80
    25
    7
See reviews for
125
200
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotels location and parking are excellent and we have stayed here many times because of this. Since our last stay the hotel has been refurbished both public areas & rooms. The reception/bar area are now much brighter & welcoming and also benefits from a small terrace area where you can sit with a drink and in season - which our visit was - watch the trotting races literally across the road.
The bedrooms are also brighter with flat screen TV's and usual mod cons. Be aware that in the trotting racing season there is a surcharge for balcony rooms overlooking the race course.
Breakfasts are excellent choice of continental or cooked options.
There is also a separate restaurant which we have used in the past but did not this visit.

Room Tip: Front balcony rooms or quieter at the back away from car park and the evening races. Brittany Ferrie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Michel L, Directeur général at Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Following to your stay in our Hotel, you have published your comments & we thank you very much. Your advice is very important for us, my staff & I are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Mercure.
We hope to welcome you for a next stay.

With Best Regards,

Jean-Michel LIETTA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hotel was rated as a four star, but was definitely a solid three star hotel. Rooms were very average, but clean. Towels were quite thin and the cups were cheap plastic, ones people use for outdoor tasting parties!
Good for families as there is a pool that is covered and can be opened up in good weather. The hippodrome (horse race track) is literally across the street and the hotel provides free entrance fee. There is a nice breakfast room, but there is an additional cost. The bar has a pretty indoor space and there is a small patio. First time in France where a bartender actually used a tiny pourer to exactly measure out a drink. Staff was nice. Overall, a nice place, but certainly not a four star accommodation.
Within walking distance to the town, which is very pretty, with a lovely seaside boardwalk and long beach. Great for kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room; they have small balconies; the first floor rooms do not and our room lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

Stayed here for 7 nights as part of a group of 21 friends in our classic MG sports cars.
The rooms were excellent - we had a first floor balcony room with a view of the Hippodrome. It was cleaned daily to a high standard. We made use of the fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning which was efficient.
Breakfast was superb, with a fantastic choice every morning including cheeses, cold meat, pastries, various breads, fruit, yogurt, scrambled eggs bacon sausage etc...
The hotel had excellent packing facilities both at the front of the hotel and a secure parking area to the side of the hotel.
We also made good use of the swimming pool, bar and on site restaurant for two evening meals.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, even providing breakfast at 6.00am on our last morning
The group explored the WW2 Dday landing beaches, Honfleur, Bayeux etc, the hotel is ideally located for this area.
It is a 10 minute walk to the centre of Cabourg where there is a fantastic choice of restaurants, cafes etc.

Room Tip: 1st floor balcony rooms 40 - 48 have a good view of the Hippodrome
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Michel L, Directeur général at Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

You have made your comments on this website following to your stay in Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome, Thank you very much.
Your very nice remarks have been communictaed to all the staff. We are so pleased that you had a pleasant week in our Hotel.

We hope to see you soon.

With Best Regards,

Jean-Michel LIETTA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

We stayed here for just one night but would definitely return for a longer stay. Our family grouped stopped here overnight during our Normandy stay and it was a great stay.

The rooms were large compared to our other rooms during the trip. We had doubles, triples and family room. Each was comfortable and clean. The bathrooms were a little outdated but still clean. The breakfast buffet in the morning was convenient.

The only downside was no onsite restaurant for dinner but we walked into town (it's truly a five minute easy walk) for a great dinner.

We could not have asked for friendlier staff. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Michel L, Directeur général at Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome, responded to this review, July 6, 2015
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your feedback relating to your recent night in our Hotel.
My staff & I are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay in our Establishment.
We hope to welcome you soon.

Best Regards,

Jean-Michel LIETTA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We stayed at the Mecure Hippodrome in Cabourg for 2 nights, we were part of a group and were looked after very well. The hotel is modern and very clean.
Check in was very simple, it includes a bar with an outside area and comfy seating inside. Staff were very friendly and always saying 'Bonjour!' but had very good English. The rooms had tasteful decor and we had twin beds pushed together to make a double, including separate duvets. The beds were comfortable, the curtains were great at shutting out the light. The hotel was quiet, set a 10 mins away from the town there's no outside noise and the hotel spreads out into different wings which means that inside noise is kept to a minimum.
Toiletries include a large container of shampoo and body wash (combined and locked down) so there's no conditioner or body lotion. Hairdryer isn't very powerful so takes a while to dry if you have long hair like mine!
Hotel has free, fast and reliable internet throughout and air conditioning.
The food in the adjacent building (across car park) was amazing! Our group used a set menu and even things I would say I don't usually like I devoured! Absolutely stunning.
Bar staff is the same as the reception staff so sometimes there's a wait if they are busy, there's a drinks menu with good selections.
The location is great for seeing the WW2 sites, all very close and such history on every corner.
Cabourg itself is about 10-15min walk, maybe longer if you are taking it leisurely. Lots of pretty shops and the sandy beach is easy to find.
Would happily return.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Michel L, Directeur général at Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome, responded to this review, May 28, 2015
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comments following to your last stay in our Hotel.
We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed our Mercure.

We hope to welcome you soon.

Jean-Michel LIETTA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabourg
0.7 mi away
Hotel les bains de Cabourg
0.9 mi away
Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
0.8 mi away
La Closerie Cabourg
La Closerie Cabourg
#5 of 15 in Cabourg
3.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sweet Home
Sweet Home
#6 of 15 in Cabourg
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
6.4 mi away
Riva Bella Hotel
Riva Bella Hotel
#2 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Les Mots Passants
Villa Les Mots Passants
#2 of 15 in Cabourg
4.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome

Address: Avenue Michel d'Ornano, 14390 Cabourg, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Cabourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Cabourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offering 77 rooms and situated near the city centre and leisure centres. The Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome is a modern, comfortable and quiet hotel with rooms refurbished in a warm and welcoming style. The hotel features a restaurant, a bar and 6 modular meeting rooms. Rooms for persons with limited mobility, a indoor heated pool, a hamman, sauna and fitness area are also available for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.