We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome to your Saves list
Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Michel d'Ornano, 14390 Cabourg, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Cabourg
West Midlands
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Another great visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotels location and parking are excellent and we have stayed here many times because of this. Since our last stay the hotel has been refurbished both public areas & rooms. The reception/bar area are now much brighter & welcoming and also benefits from a small terrace area where you can sit with a drink and in season - which our visit was - watch the trotting races literally across the road.
The bedrooms are also brighter with flat screen TV's and usual mod cons. Be aware that in the trotting racing season there is a surcharge for balcony rooms overlooking the race course.
Breakfasts are excellent choice of continental or cooked options.
There is also a separate restaurant which we have used in the past but did not this visit.

Room Tip: Front balcony rooms or quieter at the back away from car park and the evening races. Brittany Ferrie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    207
    77
    24
    7
See reviews for
121
196
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was rated as a four star, but was definitely a solid three star hotel. Rooms were very average, but clean. Towels were quite thin and the cups were cheap plastic, ones people use for outdoor tasting parties!
Good for families as there is a pool that is covered and can be opened up in good weather. The hippodrome (horse race track) is literally across the street and the hotel provides free entrance fee. There is a nice breakfast room, but there is an additional cost. The bar has a pretty indoor space and there is a small patio. First time in France where a bartender actually used a tiny pourer to exactly measure out a drink. Staff was nice. Overall, a nice place, but certainly not a four star accommodation.
Within walking distance to the town, which is very pretty, with a lovely seaside boardwalk and long beach. Great for kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room; they have small balconies; the first floor rooms do not and our room lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 7 nights as part of a group of 21 friends in our classic MG sports cars.
The rooms were excellent - we had a first floor balcony room with a view of the Hippodrome. It was cleaned daily to a high standard. We made use of the fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning which was efficient.
Breakfast was superb, with a fantastic choice every morning including cheeses, cold meat, pastries, various breads, fruit, yogurt, scrambled eggs bacon sausage etc...
The hotel had excellent packing facilities both at the front of the hotel and a secure parking area to the side of the hotel.
We also made good use of the swimming pool, bar and on site restaurant for two evening meals.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, even providing breakfast at 6.00am on our last morning
The group explored the WW2 Dday landing beaches, Honfleur, Bayeux etc, the hotel is ideally located for this area.
It is a 10 minute walk to the centre of Cabourg where there is a fantastic choice of restaurants, cafes etc.

Room Tip: 1st floor balcony rooms 40 - 48 have a good view of the Hippodrome
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Michel L, Directeur général at Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

You have made your comments on this website following to your stay in Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome, Thank you very much.
Your very nice remarks have been communictaed to all the staff. We are so pleased that you had a pleasant week in our Hotel.

We hope to see you soon.

With Best Regards,

Jean-Michel LIETTA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for just one night but would definitely return for a longer stay. Our family grouped stopped here overnight during our Normandy stay and it was a great stay.

The rooms were large compared to our other rooms during the trip. We had doubles, triples and family room. Each was comfortable and clean. The bathrooms were a little outdated but still clean. The breakfast buffet in the morning was convenient.

The only downside was no onsite restaurant for dinner but we walked into town (it's truly a five minute easy walk) for a great dinner.

We could not have asked for friendlier staff. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Michel L, Directeur général at Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your feedback relating to your recent night in our Hotel.
My staff & I are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay in our Establishment.
We hope to welcome you soon.

Best Regards,

Jean-Michel LIETTA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We stayed at the Mecure Hippodrome in Cabourg for 2 nights, we were part of a group and were looked after very well. The hotel is modern and very clean.
Check in was very simple, it includes a bar with an outside area and comfy seating inside. Staff were very friendly and always saying 'Bonjour!' but had very good English. The rooms had tasteful decor and we had twin beds pushed together to make a double, including separate duvets. The beds were comfortable, the curtains were great at shutting out the light. The hotel was quiet, set a 10 mins away from the town there's no outside noise and the hotel spreads out into different wings which means that inside noise is kept to a minimum.
Toiletries include a large container of shampoo and body wash (combined and locked down) so there's no conditioner or body lotion. Hairdryer isn't very powerful so takes a while to dry if you have long hair like mine!
Hotel has free, fast and reliable internet throughout and air conditioning.
The food in the adjacent building (across car park) was amazing! Our group used a set menu and even things I would say I don't usually like I devoured! Absolutely stunning.
Bar staff is the same as the reception staff so sometimes there's a wait if they are busy, there's a drinks menu with good selections.
The location is great for seeing the WW2 sites, all very close and such history on every corner.
Cabourg itself is about 10-15min walk, maybe longer if you are taking it leisurely. Lots of pretty shops and the sandy beach is easy to find.
Would happily return.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Michel L, Directeur général at Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome, responded to this review, May 28, 2015
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comments following to your last stay in our Hotel.
We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed our Mercure.

We hope to welcome you soon.

Jean-Michel LIETTA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Stayed at the Mercure whilst visiting Pegasus Bridge, Ranville, Merville and lots more iconic World War 2 historical sites. The hotel is located just off the motorway and is ideally situated for exploring the area. The rooms are in very good condition and have everything needed for a short stay. The staff are very helpful and keen to help. A short walk into Cabourg presents you with lots of shops and eateries as the independent restaurant next to the hotel provides lovely food but expensive. The Hippodrome did not have any events during my stay but I assume the area could be very busy if trot racing is on.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Michel L, Directeur général at Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome, responded to this review, May 28, 2015
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

You have given your remarks following to your stay in our Mercure, Thank you very much.
You have enjoyed the location of the read & we are pleased to read it.

Waiting for welcoming you for a next stay.

Jean-Michel LIETTA
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabourg
0.7 mi away
Hotel les bains de Cabourg
0.9 mi away
Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
0.8 mi away
La Closerie Cabourg
La Closerie Cabourg
#6 of 15 in Cabourg
3.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sweet Home
Sweet Home
#5 of 15 in Cabourg
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#7 of 15 in Cabourg
3.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
6.4 mi away
Riva Bella Hotel
Riva Bella Hotel
#2 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome

Address: Avenue Michel d'Ornano, 14390 Cabourg, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Cabourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Cabourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offering 77 rooms and situated near the city centre and leisure centres. The Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome is a modern, comfortable and quiet hotel with rooms refurbished in a warm and welcoming style. The hotel features a restaurant, a bar and 6 modular meeting rooms. Rooms for persons with limited mobility, a indoor heated pool, a hamman, sauna and fitness area are also available for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.