We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous location and ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel de Cabourg

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel de Cabourg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel de Cabourg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Les Jardins du Casino, 14390 Cabourg, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Cabourg
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“fabulous location and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We loved our weekend away. Almost everything was pefect. The drinks in the bar were not too badly priced when you consider that there were olives and other nibbles provided - as well as the splendour of the room and the theatrical performance behind the bar when cocktails were ordered. Sitting watching the sea was great, the jousting festival was watchable entertainment and the staff were helpful and polite. would go again. .

The bathroom and bedroom were fine but the separet toilet was minute - but not the end of the world

Room Tip: have one overlookng the sea and not the car park to the front of the building. Car parking spaces c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    332
    209
    52
    21
    9
See reviews for
107
428
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

An old world hotel that still lives up to its name. The location and splendour of the building cannot be beat, but rather than allow the property to fade, the Sofitel chain has modernized every part. The dining room menu is limited but excellent. The breakfast buffet is generous and of high quality. Service is professional and friendly. The lack of a spa is a mystery, and the only (small) critique one might make. Ocean-facing rooms are only slightly more expensive than those overlooking the park (actually parking lot) and worth the small premium. Marcel Proust, a regular guest, would have appreciated the free and reliable wi-fi now available to lesser writers who stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol,eng.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were with Shearings travel company and our party were treated as 2nd class guests as in the dining area we were all shoved in a corner and they even closed the doors on us to keep us separated from other guests. The hotel was right on the seafront in a perfect location with lovely gardens at the back, also surrounded by very impressive houses leading to the main high street with plenty of restaurants. The beds were large and very comfortable and there was no noise at night even though there is a casino next door. Getting back to the dining, the food was very fancy but it would have been better if they had cooked it (it all seemed cold and under cooked). Call me a philistine but i was gagging for a carvery. I can guarantee there wont be any drunken behavior in the hotel as you would need to be a banker to afford more than one drink.

Room Tip: There is a very good view from both sides of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Travelled to the not-so Grand Hotel with Shearings. I know the euro is in a bad way, but I didn't want to sort it out by buying a couple of drinks at the bar. It was 8€ for a small glass of red, pretty average as well!!!
Our evening meal on the second night was a cross between Fawlty Towers and Acorn Antiques. We sat down for the meal at 1930 and our order was taken eventually by 1950. The starter arrived twenty minutes later, the couple next to us ordered fizzy water and are still waiting for it.
By 2030 I had been offered the wrong main course, not once but twice. By 2045 I still hadn't been served, I contacted the restaurant manager and she told me it would be 2 minutes, it took over five minutes for it to arrive. I spoke to the hotel manager the following day and it transpired that the order from the restaurant was miscounted. What a faux pas!!
The following morning they ran out of orange juice, organisational skills course at Carlsberg, failed.
The final insult came, when a member of staff broke the handle on my suitcase without telling me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great view and access to the beach but as a former 22 year resort general and regional manager for the largest hotel company in the world, this was another experience all together. Don't look for a pool, spa or workout room...you won't find it here. We were just touring the Normandy and surrounding area not needing these amenities but those that should be a minimum part of a hotel of this level. Now living in Europe and clearly understanding worldwide service and accomodation standards of most brands, this hotel misses at every point of comfort except for great staff friendliness which somewhat makes up for the majority of shortfalls. The dinner dining experience which was well executed was well worth the time if you have the chance. The guest room has no functional space for anything . The toilet literally moved off of the floor..the bathroom door could not be opened completely and the door handle was falling off of the mount. You needed a ladder to get into the tub to take a shower. Good luck to anybody of age trying to navigate taking a refreshing bath or shower in a black tiled underlit bathroom. No iron or ironing board availble in the room or by request. Armoire door of the bedroom could not be fully opened without hitting the bed. Nightstands had no drawers nor was there any optional storage space for just your basic business collateral. No desk exists. All lamp and room lighting wattages were timid. Nice T.V., but good luck getting anything other than French channels..( one English, two German and no movies ) certainly not geared to the world traveler or those with children. Restaurant hours were not convenient and room service offerings were poor and extremely limited. One would do better on an American regional airline with 30 seats. Beach restaurant was not open during the holiday bridge days while other sister properties were packed. Morning breakfast items were often out of stock. Ironically, this is because the staff was over taxed and out of breath. Bring this to the attention of a hostess and "it was the task of someone else." And ask for the General Manager or manager on duty and you can guess what the answer was we received during a peak holliday weekend. Great people but clearly a lack of leadership and customer focus on standards of performance. The staff worked their little hearts out and many we saw each day of our seven day stay, but oh so sadly, this is not the story of "The Little Train that Could". This hotel is on Auto pilot and the General Manager is not in touch with, in my opinion, the basics and" price of entry" at this purported level of hotel stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

What a nice stay at this historical hotel. When you arrive by car you can see it already from far. A very impressive historical hotel branded with the M Gallery brand from Accor. A young and dynamic team, very friendly and natural, a long time I did not experience this in a hotel. We also had dinner at the restaurant, nice setting with sea view and a great taste. Dishes might be a little bit too modern for some guests, but I loved it. Breakfast service was a little slow but friendly. The rooms are very calm and spacious, beds are super comfortable. I really can recommend this hotel. Thanks for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

we stayed very recently at this hotel for four nights. it has been beautifully restored and the rooms have been brought up to very modern standards. we had two rooms with balcony overlooking the sea. the hotel is situated just at the back of the beach with a pedestrian road between the back entrance and the beach. When the sea is out the sandy beach is exposed for a vasy distance and yet with the tide is the sea comes quite close. it is a pleasure to sleep at night with the French windows open and to listen to the incoming tide. most soothing. the rooms are large, the beds very comfortable, the bathroom a good size with showers in the bath but with an overhead outlet too.
breakfast is self service and extremely good with the hotel baking its own very tasty bread and croissants. plenty of choice and very filling. not much need for a lunch afterwards.
The first night I had booked into the restaurant and though there were not that many tables it was a very slow job to get the attention of the restaurant managers or waiters, they were often in discussion in an inner room. it really let the restaurant down. Also though I had warned the hotel several months earlier that my wife was a vegetarian they made no effort to offer her anything but steamed vegetables. I do not believe they even spoke to the chef as the dish was offered by the manager who said that that was all that could be done. however the Dover sole came with white asparagus done in a beautiful sauce. why was this not offered? laziness by the restaurant staff let the hotel down very badly, the other nights that we ate there was much better in so far as my wife was prepared to put up with the lack of choice and the service was better though the restaurant only had a handful of table. i would strongly recommend that the hotel does a proper study of its training in the restaurant as this was the only negative about the hotel. we drank in the bar which offered great cocktails and other drinks in good company.
i would 100 per cent stay here again as this was our second trip to the hotel in eight years the last prior to restoration. The ghost of Marcel proust is still there.

Room Tip: overlooking the sea with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel de Cabourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de Cabourg

Address: Les Jardins du Casino, 14390 Cabourg, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Cabourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Cabourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel de Cabourg 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be captivated by the timeless charm of the Grand Hôtel Cabourg, immortalized by Marcel Proust. Its spacious rooms have sea views or overlook the gardens & flowers. The restaurant faces the promenade & offers exquisite Normandy cuisine & memorable snacks. Come for a family vacation or a weekend away with your partner; the Grand Hôtel Cabourg offers you undivided attention for an unforgettable stay, whatever the time of year. (MGallery collection). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel de Cabourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel de Cabourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.