We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great collection of art brut” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Musee d'Art Moderne

Musee d'Art Moderne
1 Allee du Musee, 59650 Villeneuve d'Ascq, Lille, France
+33 3 20 19 68 68
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$31*
and up
Lille City Pass
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Just 20 minutes away from the city centre of Lille, experience one of the largest museums in northern EuropeLocated in the heart of a leafy sculpture park, the LaM holds over 4 500 exceptional works of art from the 20th and 21st centuries, in addition to many temporary exhibitions.From room to room, the museum offers its visitorsan unprecedented itinerary from modern art throughto contemporary art, via the biggest collection of art brut in France.Take time out to enjoy the serenity of the site, and let yourself be surprised by the works of Pablo Picasso, Amedeo Modigliani, Paul Klee, Aloïse Corbaz, Augustin Lesage, Richard Deacon, Barry Flanagan...
curacao
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great collection of art brut”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Was there on a sunny day with my kids.a large part of the collection is nice and very classic,well for modern art. But they had a collection of art brut that was really nice,we spend about 2 hours just on that. There is not much for children ,no interaction on hand on experience . The concrete cut out walls are really nice too.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    54
    15
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing collection of modern art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The Musee d'Art Moderne is someway from Lille's City Centre and so it's only on my third visit I've made the trip to visit; it was well worth it.
Getting to the Musee is a two leg trip on public transport taking the metro line 1 from the City Centre to 'Pont de Bois' and changing to a L4 Green Line bus to the stop for the Musee, 'LAM'. The transport system is integrated so a single ticket or pass can be used for the whole trip. We purchased 24hr passes from the automatic machines at Gare Lille Flandres which have an English language option.
In my opinion the visit to the Musee is worth while simply for the Picasso and Braque cubist work and the Derain and Mondraines. The Contemporary and Brut collections are interesting, particularly the Brut in questioning what is art? In February 2014 we paid E10pp incuding access to the temporary exhibition.
The Musee itself is set in a sculpture park which I didn't explore but looked interesting.
The cafe at the Musee was excellnt and we had a delicious lunch there(cE20pp, 3 courses).

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Love love love!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

An amazing discovery! Sculptures, paintings and great temporary exhibits. At the time they had a muralist exhibition from south america - simply splendid!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Too much Art Brut”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Free access offered to diabled visitor and a companion. The metro journey was part of the experience and bus drivers very helpful.

The building seemed to be mixture of British Elizabeth II defense establishment brickwork and some kind of organic concrete structure with sculptures effectively displayed in the grounds.

Fine collection of Picasso and others including a fine Modigliani. The large Art Brut bequest displayed in the new part of the building could have done with judicious pruning.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“To complement a trip to Lille”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We drove about 20 minutes out of Lille ( watch out for the rush hour traffic!) and visited this Modern Art Museum. It's an interesting modern building, set in some greenery dotted with some huge sculptures ( I liked the one by Calder). The Museum is not too big, so you can see every room, without getting an overload of art...I especially liked the Art Brut section, which I was not too familiar with.
For the moment there is a good exhibition on - you have to pay 10 euros for this - about Picasso, Leger and some other artists that were shown in those days by some French art galleries.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee d'Art Moderne also viewed

 
Villeneuve d'Ascq, Lille
 

Been to Musee d'Art Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musee d'Art Moderne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.