We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True hospitality and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A la Maison du Heron

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added A la Maison du Heron to your Saves list
A la Maison du Heron
90 d'Hem, 59650 Villeneuve d'Ascq, Lille, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“True hospitality and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have stayed in several B&B's but this one is one of the most outstanding. We were picked up from the metro station, and dropped off there as well, which is very good if you are carrying luggage. We had breakfast there 3 mornings. Every morning there was a different kind of home baked bread, a new beautifully designed set of cups and plates, a new tasty home made sweet pastry and jams. The effort this must take, makes you feel really appreciated as a guest.

The whole house, including the rooms, is spotless. I had my own bathroom in the room opposite my bedroom, including a nice and clean shower, facilities to make your own tea or coffee, a fresh bottle of water and enough space to move around comfortably. Eveything looks brand new.
The beds are very comfy, the room bright and airy, with in its window day fresh flowers from the beautiful garden surrounding the house.

The hostess, Isabelle, is really painstakingly taking care of the house. This is why it is so immaculate.

The Lille metro system is brilliant, just be aware that the last bus to La Maison du Héron is leaving somewhere between 20 en 21 hours. The walk from metro station Jean Jaurès, however, takes you only about 15 minutes. If you do catch the bus, the stop is practically at the front door. Isabelle must have almost more information than the Tourist Office. She knows all about public transport, has all kinds of maps of the town and region, gives you tips on what to go see and can answer any question.

Because of its location and service, La Maison de Héron is a great escape from the lively centre of Lille and a nice and quiet safe haven. Truely, I am not exaggerating. Go there and see for yourself.

Room Tip: Rooms are all excellent. Just tell Isabelle if you are friends, a couple, of family or whatever, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isa59491, Propriétaire at A la Maison du Heron, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Google Translation
dank u wel, Edisa e Ineke, tot ziens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
36
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Had a great time there, nothing was too much trouble, excellent breakfast, owner delightful and extremely helpful. House and rooms spotleesly clean. Left a piece of clothing behind, posted to us along with a Christmas card. Will definitely stay again when in the area,

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We stayed at La Maison Du Heron for two nights last week. We picked this B&B because it offered us easy access to Lille via the Metro system. It was an excellent choice, the house was lovely, spotlessly clean with a delightful owner who provided us with an appertising breakfast including bread and home made jams, cheese, yoghurt and a different home made tart each morning, we had the chocolate and the toffee. We stayed in the double room with a shower, iIt was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Reading some of the other reviews I must agree about the access. There is a sign on the road but it is not really obvious where to go when you approach it in the dark, you need to aim for the big concrete flower pot and it's down the drive behind that. There are a number of metro stations within minutes drive of the house and it is easy to park at the larger ones. We went to Lille Christmas Market which was really a waste of time, the Manchster one is about 5 times larger, but Lille itself is a great place to wander around. All in all a great break and we would recommend this Chambres d'Hotes to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

The B&B was easy to drive to - great since it was two little kids and a mom driving. We came from Bruges and our satnav took us directly to the home. The driveway can be hard to see though, especially at night, since it's between two houses. I missed it the first time around. If you do a Google Street view you'll see what I mean and will watch out for it when you drive there. Our bedroom, one of the doubles, was very comfortable. The bathroom wasn't inside our room, it's across the hall (bedroom and bathroom doors facing each other) which was no problem for us. We've been in places where the bathroom was doors down. Isabelle provided me with a robe, which was very nice. The host also provided each guest with a kettle and supplies to make hot drinks with. Our room faced the garden and very quiet. The only fault I found was that there were no curtains for one of the window and during the summer, when the sun comes out at 5 a.m. and doesn't get dark until later, this might be a little bothersome. There is free wifi but like many b&b in France they weren't offered up front. I had to ask for the code which was happily given. We didn't eat in the area so no comment on that although I didn't see anything near by. The B&B's in a neighborhood. Breakfast was a simple French one. Tea/coffee/juice/milk/chocolate and bread +cheese+jams. The jams were delicious! After breakfast the girls played in the garden and Isabelle, spoke better English than my 2yrs of college French, even entertained the oldest one a bit too. A very pleasant stay on our way to Dijon.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Riding of Yorkshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Isabelle was so welcoming and helpful. The B&B was easy to drive to, about 5 miles from Lille - our satnav took us directly to the street, although the driveway is between two houses and made noticeable by a large concrete flower pot, it can be missed. The whole house was spotless. Our bedroom, with a large double bed, was very comfortable, lots of wardrobe space, a TV, a kettle and supplies to make hot drinks with. Our room faced the garden and was very quiet, and with the shutters very dark so a good nights sleep was ensured. The bathroom was en suite with spacious shower (take your own large towel if you like to feel swathed after showering), mirror etc, the toilet is possibly chemical so is noisy with flushing restrictions, but no problem. There is free wifi. Breakfast, in the dining room overlooking the garden, was a simple French one, everything was home made, wonderful bread, delicious jams & cake, but there was no protein. Isabelle was a mine of information, with maps, suggestions of routes, transport, parking, dining, you could ask anything, her English is very good. There is a cat, but well behaved and stayed away from us, we're not cat lovers. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

From the moment we arrived, Isabelle could not have been more helpful & charming. Home comforts abound, even to the roaring fire made for us in the lounge.,
The rooms were clean & bright, with everything you could want. Tea / Coffee, toilettries , towels etc.
Breakfast was fantastic,with home-made bread, cakes & jams a speciality. We also paid for an evening meal where Isabelle took the time to ask if we had dietary requests & again it was faultless.
When next in Northern France we know where will stay again.
Isabelle et Phillipe, Milles Mercis.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

What a delightful place! I think it's got pretty much everything we were looking for. It's nice,quiet and very clean. There's everything you need in the bedroom. Beds are comfy and if you look out the window there's a lovely view on the garden. The breakfast was also fantastic. All that for a more than reasonable price. But let's not forget the most important thing: the hosts are simply wonderful. Mme Debeauvais was very frendly, very helpful, she's obviously a good cook and you can feel she loves her region and she's happy to share about it. All in all the best B&B experience we've had in years. The location is also very practical as it's not far from the tube station which is 15 minutes from Lille city center.
Next time I go back to Lille, I know exactly where I'm staying!
Merci!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A la Maison du Heron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A la Maison du Heron

Address: 90 d'Hem, 59650 Villeneuve d'Ascq, Lille, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Nord > Lille > Villeneuve d'Ascq
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Villeneuve d'Ascq
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our "bed and breakfast" a quiet verdant spot in the heart of lille'metropole. easy to find, near the lille'subway, tram and the motorwaylille : 9 km, roubaix : 6 km, tourcoing : 15 km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your A la Maison du Heron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A la Maison du Heron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.