We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Valenciennes

Save Saved
You added Mercure Valenciennes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Valenciennes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Rue du Saint Cordon, 59300 Valenciennes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Valenciennes
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed in several hotels in Valenciennes and this is by far the best. Very clean and tidy, our room had a nice spacious balcony and a huge bed.
Located just behind the main square in the heart of Valenciennes, you are not far away from everywhere you could possibly want.
Breakfast was OK. Continental style.
If you arrive on the train, take the tram 2 stops to the main square, the hotel is on the opposite side to the tram stop behind the shopping mall.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCURE V, Manager at Mercure Valenciennes, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Goog morning Sir ,

Thank you very much for your message .

Any team MERCURE Valenciennes is very pleased that your stay went smoothly,your recognition is our best reward.

Looking forward to welcome you again during your next trip to Valenciennes;

Sincerely ,

Monique DESSENIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    26
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
26
6
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zemst, Brabant, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Valenciennes may not be the most interesting place in the North of France. The city government has done a lot in the past few years to renovate the city center. With success. Wild parking has been banned, there is a large underground parking right in the center. It's also across the Mercure Hotel. There is comfort for you! New, well furbished rooms, friendly reception. Large beds! I felt at home after 5 minutes. Enquire for their special rates and pay no heed to their rack rates. i'm paying 95 € for a qcolfortable room.
There are a few good places to eat and drink within walking distance. My favourite is Vins sur Vins, 94 rue de Famars, 59000 Valenciennes (a stone throw away from the Mercure). An ample selection of (predominantly) French wines, at the glass, or bottles (bottles sold at 6x the price of a glass) They regularly organize tastings at democratic prices. Staff is very knowledgable and very friendly (knowing some French helps!). A large platter with cheese and bread (11€) will still your hunger. Having been there several times, alone and with colleagues, I'm safe with my recommendation.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCURE V, Directrice at Mercure Valenciennes, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Good Morning Mister ,

Thank you very much for your advice ,the staff friendly and helpfull will be very happy to see you again to MERCURE VALENCIENNES .

Best regards and welcome ,

Monique DESSENIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Perfect hotel for job travels, in city center but with good parking opportunities.

My room was extremely clean, well organised and in full silence.

Heating is properly working (outside it is snowing); restroom is clean and wirh modern design.

Plus: free internet.

Missing things: fitness room, slipperies.

Sure choice for future trips in Valenciennes.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCURE V, Directrice at Mercure Valenciennes, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Good Morning Mister ,

Thanks very much for your advice and you will be happy to welcome you to MERCURE VALENCIENNES ,

Best regards and see you again ,

Monique DESSENIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, and it was great. Location is perfect, and an added bonus with nearby car parking for free. The room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely. The staff were most helpful. Returning to Valenciennes later this week and will be staying at the Mercure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCURE V, Directrice at Mercure Valenciennes, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Sir,


Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.



My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.



Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.



Yours sincerely,


Monique DESSENIS

Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great hotel, excellent location in the heart of the town, very easy to get to from the A2 junction and only approx. an hour and a half from Calais.

We came to see the Stade Francais v London Welsh rugby match on the Saturday evening at Valenciennes FC stadium. The London Welsh team were even staying in the hotel!

The best Mercure we have stayed in, this one is better than most Novotels (although the bar closed a little too early!).

Staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. All great with the children, who ranged in age from 2 through to 16.

There is a little drop off area outside the hotel, then free parking is about 5 mins walk away although you can park on the road overnight. The hotel also has an arrangement with the shopping centre if you want to use their secure underground car park at a cheap rate but it seemed all a bit confusing so we parked for free.

Shops all nearby as are several bars and restaurants. Overall the town was a bit quiet but it was a family weekend! We loved the restaurant across the square.... Le Ch'ti Charivari (Savoyardes but northern France chain apparently...really excellent!).

Will definitely return to stay at this hotel in Valenciennes, probably just to go back to Le Ch'ti Charivari.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCURE V, Directrice at Mercure Valenciennes, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions pour votre reconnaissance , toute l'équipe du MERCURE VALENCIENNES a été très heureuse de vous accueillir et sachez que le plaisir a été partagé.

Dans l'attente de vous revoir lors d'un prochain passage ,

Cordialement,
Monique DESSENIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Checked into this centrally positioned hotel on a cold January Saturday afternoon; we were warmly greeted by the attentive front of hotel staff. The rooms are spacious, bathroom spotlessly clean and well equippted with the toiletry essentials.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERCURE V, Directrice at Mercure Valenciennes, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Google Translation
Nous sommes ravis que votre séjour se soit bien déroulé , toute l'équipe se joinbt à moi pour vous remercier et espère vous revoir très vite au MERCURE VALENCIENNES.

Cordialement,
Monique DESSENIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed overnight with my husband , we were very impressed with this hotel . Staff very helpful and pleasant. We know this is a new hotel but even accounting for this it was absolutely spotless,
our superior room very spacious comfortable and very quiet . We simply could not fault it in any way. Unfortunately we did not have time for breakfast so we cannot comment on food . Would definitely reccommend this hotel the only drawback would be lack of parking , but staff were very helpful in advising as to where the most convenient and cheapest parking was.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Valenciennes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Valenciennes

Address: 5 Rue du Saint Cordon, 59300 Valenciennes, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Nord > Valenciennes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Valenciennes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Valenciennes 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Valenciennes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Valenciennes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.