We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bags of character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Bon Fermier

Save Saved
You added Auberge du Bon Fermier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auberge du Bon Fermier
64 rue de Famars, 59300 Valenciennes, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Valenciennes
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bags of character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a charming old inn which is lovingly maintained. (Consistent with description in various guides). If you require modern facilities avoid! Rooms to a high standard, with decent bathrooms.very friendly service. Happy to stay on return trip.
Niggles- stairs are awkward if you frail, parking on the street -free 6pm 9am, breakfast basic. Restaurant: food rustic - basic even though fellow travellers thought it OK. Wine list basic, with some of interest.
On edge of interesting town square. In summary, merits a stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    11
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
22
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel on the way to the south of France. We were hungry and tired and could not find anywhere else to stay. The price of 140 Euro was more than we usually pay but we felt we deserved a treat. We had our dog with us and he cost an extra 10 Euro (this wasn't mentioned when we checked in). He thought he was worth it! Our room was on the ground floor and it was huge and very comfortable. I do not like having to sit down in a bath to shower though - I am sure there are other rooms with proper showers. Breakfast was an extra 10 Euro per person. It consisted of croissants, jam, coffee and juice. I know this is a typical French breakfast but it wasn't really worth what we paid. We ate at dinner at the restaurant in the in the evening and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The service was great, albeit a bit impersonal. The owner spoke good English and he took the time to explain the specials to us. All in all - I would stay at great places like this every night, if I could afford it. (Who wouldn't?) I loved the fact that this hotel was very old with a history and that it had been restored maintaining many of the original features. Can also add that the holder for shower creme and shampoo was empty in our bathroom and this meant my husband had to go to the car to get shampoo for me. Of course I didn't find this out until I was in the shower. I don't expcet things like this to happen in a top quality hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was right on the street on the ground floor. We could hear the people on the street right o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

None of the floors are flat, neither do the doors fit well in their holes, but this place oozes charm. Don't expect a modern luxury chain hotel, but go expecting quality touches in huge rooms with all necessary amenities. The staff were very friendly, efficient and accomodating. Park outside the front door and the staff will take the car to their reserved garaged parking area.
Surprisingly quiet given it is in the centre of town.
Dinner was devine; we only ate for one of our two evenings there, I now wish it had been both. Classic French with some modern interpretations.
The pillows are an interesting concoction, but as we didn't ask for alternatives the we can hardly complain.
Would definately stay here again should there be a need in the same area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

Saw this hotel on the Alastair Sawday Special Places for stay. I agree it was a very nice beautiful hotel. Staff very friendly and polite (not much english with the exception of the owner). Weren't offered the chance of a full breakfast until the morning we left. Went to stay with friends there room was infested with ants. All rooms and the place was very clean and tidy. Restaurant was very very expense although found the whole town very expensive to eat out in. Would agree probably only stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2007

Very sweet but old hotel in France. Very nice staff. Excellent restaurant (though quite pricey). Not-so-nice town but good stopover place. Overall very good experience and would go back to this hotel again for either stopover or meal.

  • Liked — The food and wine
  • Disliked — The price and the town
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge du Bon Fermier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Bon Fermier

Address: 64 rue de Famars, 59300 Valenciennes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Nord > Valenciennes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Valenciennes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortably established after four hundred years of existence.All spruced up, it offers its Henry IV style, interpreted with regional inspiration in its proportions, harmoniously decorated in total respect for the region and its history.When Louis XIV made his “joyful return” to Valenciennes in August 1680, the Auberge was called “A la Ville de Troyes”. A souvenir of the great fairs of Champagne, with the travellers, salesmen and drapers stopping in our town to rest and restore their strength.in the hearth, there would be capons and haunches of meat roasting with a stew bubbling in fat jugs, swaying with the bawdy songs which barely covered the sounds of horses and their hooves on the round paving stones in the courtyard.The inn had a great reputation; Jacques Fontaine managed the establishment until 1701 and its successors’ were still roasting in the fireplace in 1789. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Auberge du Bon Fermier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Bon Fermier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.