We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beatus

Save Saved
You added Hotel Beatus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Beatus
718 Avenue de Paris, Cambrai, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Cambrai
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Traveled with 2 kids, 6 and 9. Stayed in Room 27 en route to Paris and had to stop there again on the way back. The family room had a king bed and a double bed separated by the bathroom. Bathroom was nice and clean with separate shower and tub. Water pressure was very strong.

Breakfast was like a feast for us : bread, croissants, fancy jams, butter, hot chocolate for kids, cereal, poached eggs, ham, cheese, bacon -- all wonderful things that will fill you up till past lunchtime.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    51
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
80
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

We been going to Northern France every December and have stayed in a lot of good 'French' hotels but think this rates at the top of the list. A small hotel, nicely situated for a short walk into the centre of the nice town of Cambrai. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, going out of their way to ensure we had a good stay. The hotel is set in lovely grounds and must be ideal in the warmer months of the year. All the public areas are very pleasant and our large bedroom (we did upgrade for a small supplement) was well appointed, clean and warm, as was the bathroom.

We were there for three night and ate in the restaurant each night as the food was so good. Not cheap if you selected al a carte but there was Regional Menu also two other fixed price menus which were reasonable. The wine, quite pricy in bottles, was also available in pitchers and was very pleasant at a good price. There was one red by the bottle which was a normal 'hotel price'. One of the hotel employees found out that it was my birthday during our stay and i was presented with a beautiful cake with indoor fireworks at the end of our meal instead of the dessert we had ordered together with complimentary champagne. Boxes of chocolates on our pillows was the final thoughtful touch.

All in all, we can thoroughly recommend this hotel, something we don't do unless we are completely satisfied.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our stay at the Beatus was arranged by a company specialising in Battlefield tours. We were delighted by the standard of accommodation - even a hospitality tray in the room, not always found in France! The staff are most helpful, food good and location central.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I went on an organised group tour to WW1 battlefields and cemeteries around Cambrai and Arras. This hotel was an ideal place to stay for 3 nights. the room was large and the bed comfortable. The tv (not much spare time to watch it) had more English, German, Italian and French channels than anyone could cope with. Plenty of hot (and cold) water with smelly soap, shampoo and shower gel to pamper oneself. Don't forget the constant supply of clean towels. The buffet breakfasts and evening meals were high quality and plentiful. The wines were very good and the ambiance superb. The reception service was excellent and most spoke very good English. No bad points as far as I could tell - just the weather. I am sure that breakfast or an evening drink in the garden would be good in the summer. Although it is a fair walk into town from the hotel, there are some nice bars and restaurants to visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My second stay at this privately run hotel, it has a secure car park, it is situated a good distance from the main road into town and is walkable.The staff are charming and cheerful and highly efficient in whatever they do. Breakfast and dinner was brilliant and the bar had a great ambience. I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimaud
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We visited this hotel on way home, in South of France, from UK. It was ideally suited as a half way stop and, despite being situated near the centre of Cambrai, it was like being in the country with lovely garden and restaurant overlooking another small garden. the staff were very friendly and welcoming and the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alresford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Super, beautiful, chic Hotel very competitively priced. Attentive and welcoming staff. Lovely rooms. very nice Bar and Restaurant. I thoroughly recommend. My dogs loved it, too :-D I didn't use the Spa or Pool, the garden was beautiful...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beatus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beatus

Address: 718 Avenue de Paris, Cambrai, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Nord > Cambrai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Cambrai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Beatus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beatus Hotel Cambrai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beatus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;