We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Deborah!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Gens de Mer

Save Saved
You added Les Gens de Mer to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Les Gens de Mer
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quai Chanzy, 62200 Boulogne-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Cheam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thank you Deborah!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The room was clean and tidy and exactly what we expected for the price and 2 star rating. Good central location and easy parking. Breakfast was varied and ample, with a variety of breads, meat, cheese and yoghurts.
For us the best feature was the staff. Sadly our (too old for European recovery) car broke down and everyone did everything they could to help us. Thanks to the family connections of one member of staff we found a solution, which was great; however even if it had not been successful the genuine offers of assistance were fantastic and gave us comfort in a difficult situation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    17
    11
    11
See reviews for
16
30
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Yes, the hotel is in need of some refurbishment, but its location is great - just over the bridge from the centre of town and right next to the marina - and it's cheap. Our room had a good ensuite shower/toilet, an OK bed, free wifi and TV. The hotel was warm throughout despite the chilly conditions outside and we had decent night's sleep every night.
We didn't try the breakfast - at €8.50 it seemed a bit pricey, plus there were plenty of cafes and shops nearby to buy a little something for a fraction of the price. Likewise, we didn't sample the restaurant as there were some cheaper restaurants in the town centre, particularly in the old part of town, with wider choices on the menu.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a simple yet well run, well organised and solidly good budget hotel. It is not 5* but nor does it pretend to be. The facade is a little dated - looks more like something from Marineville! - and the design of the public areas reflects this. However... The rooms are a reasonable size, the bathroom a little small but clean, well presented, and a super hot shower. I found the bed a bit uncomfortable but the mattresses are of the 'proper' sprung variety, and I don't have that sort at home so it was different rather than bad quality. My sisterwas happy with hers in her room. Breakfast was standard fare - no coplaints there either. This hotel does not pretend to offer anything beyond a 2* budget stay. And they deliver with alacrity.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front look over the Marina and look up the town. There is a main road in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Facilities and everything in the hotel are basic, it's value for money and located at the marine area, which is a walking distance to the centre. There is free Wifi and it's not bad, got a free parking area too. The only funny thing was...we put the 'do not disturb' sign outside the door but the maid still knocked on the door and opened the door, we told them 'no thanks'. I bet she didn't understand english well, and came back again in half an hour/an hour, I dont know cos I was sleeping. So we needed to tell her again, we dont need her to make the room. Overall, the hotel was ok and clean, considering it's very cheap.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Doesn't look much from the outside, but this is a very nice, if basic, hotel. We stayed in a double room, which was quite small, but absolutely fine for a short break (we stayed one night). Bathroom was very small with no bath, but shower was very good. Bed was not the best I've ever slept in, but certainly not uncomfortable.

Staff were helpful and friendly, and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painswick, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

I chose this Hotel due to its proximity to the Marina, where our friends' yachts were moored. We received a warm welcome upon arrival, and allocated a room overlooking the front and the road. The noise of the road kept my wife awake the first night, and her bed was uncomfortable, so we requested and were allocated a room at the back. This was much quieter, until the wind got-up; not the Hotel's fault. The facilities in both rooms were adequate, and the free WiFi most welcome. Breakfast was good. At all times,mthe staff were bery friendly, and a number spoke English. All in all, a good basic hotel, which we would chose again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

POSITIVE

The location was probably the best quality. Room 112 had a view to the road and the marina, (better than looking at the back of the building). They had a restaurant if you didn't want to go out. Staff were friendly. WiFi was good and free. There was free parking on site.

NEGATIVE
Lack of a lift is a bit hard with heavy suitcases. English is not spoken by many staff. Breakfast was available for €8.50 per person but I wouldn't recommend it for the value or freshness - go into town. Our bed wasn't that comfortable. We stayed 2 nights but the morning after the first night the cleaner knocked on our door to change towels at about 9:00 am! Unbelievable! Lucky we were awake to say go away. The neighbor wasn't so lucky as I heard the maid say sorry, so she must have walked in. The maids are in the hallway a fair part of the day, quite a nuisance trying to get past.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Les Gens de Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Gens de Mer

Address: Quai Chanzy, 62200 Boulogne-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Boulogne-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Les Gens de Mer 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Les Gens de Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Gens De Mer Hotel Boulogne-Sur-Mer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Gens de Mer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.