We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Les Gens de Mer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Les Gens de Mer to your Saves list
Les Gens de Mer
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quai Chanzy, 62200 Boulogne-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Basic and great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Facilities and everything in the hotel are basic, it's value for money and located at the marine area, which is a walking distance to the centre. There is free Wifi and it's not bad, got a free parking area too. The only funny thing was...we put the 'do not disturb' sign outside the door but the maid still knocked on the door and opened the door, we told them 'no thanks'. I bet she didn't understand english well, and came back again in half an hour/an hour, I dont know cos I was sleeping. So we needed to tell her again, we dont need her to make the room. Overall, the hotel was ok and clean, considering it's very cheap.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    23
    21
    11
    11
See reviews for
18
39
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Doesn't look much from the outside, but this is a very nice, if basic, hotel. We stayed in a double room, which was quite small, but absolutely fine for a short break (we stayed one night). Bathroom was very small with no bath, but shower was very good. Bed was not the best I've ever slept in, but certainly not uncomfortable.

Staff were helpful and friendly, and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painswick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

I chose this Hotel due to its proximity to the Marina, where our friends' yachts were moored. We received a warm welcome upon arrival, and allocated a room overlooking the front and the road. The noise of the road kept my wife awake the first night, and her bed was uncomfortable, so we requested and were allocated a room at the back. This was much quieter, until the wind got-up; not the Hotel's fault. The facilities in both rooms were adequate, and the free WiFi most welcome. Breakfast was good. At all times,mthe staff were bery friendly, and a number spoke English. All in all, a good basic hotel, which we would chose again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

POSITIVE

The location was probably the best quality. Room 112 had a view to the road and the marina, (better than looking at the back of the building). They had a restaurant if you didn't want to go out. Staff were friendly. WiFi was good and free. There was free parking on site.

NEGATIVE
Lack of a lift is a bit hard with heavy suitcases. English is not spoken by many staff. Breakfast was available for €8.50 per person but I wouldn't recommend it for the value or freshness - go into town. Our bed wasn't that comfortable. We stayed 2 nights but the morning after the first night the cleaner knocked on our door to change towels at about 9:00 am! Unbelievable! Lucky we were awake to say go away. The neighbor wasn't so lucky as I heard the maid say sorry, so she must have walked in. The maids are in the hallway a fair part of the day, quite a nuisance trying to get past.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I booked this hotel twice by mistake and didn't realise until too late to cancel, however the manager (i think it was the manager) said he would sort this for me. I did pay a little extra but I definately did not pay for two rooms. Room was small but clean and it was for one night only. We picked this hotel as it had car parking and was in the harbour, but its not quaint harbour. It is in a great situation for walking into the town. Our room overlooked the road. Breakfast was a continental buffet, there was plenty of it and it was good. We will prob book it again when we go in two weeks

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Positives First - Location good for walking to centre of town and the hotel has off street parking, friendly staff, free wifi

Negatives - One of the worst hotels I have stayed in for a while - needs drastic refurbishment - yes maybe it’s at the cheaper end of the pricing scale but no excuse for stained carpets, curtains linen holes in walls, wall paper peeling off etc etc -- Disgusting smell in top corridor also fire exits and extinguishers blocked by old furniture and cleaning materials. We went into the centre for a meal and left as soon as we woke without visiting for breakfast – we could not wait to get out!!!

The other half of the hotel building is a derelict wreck with broken windows and litter about – not an appealing sight

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Gens de Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Gens de Mer

Address: Quai Chanzy, 62200 Boulogne-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Boulogne-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Les Gens de Mer 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Les Gens de Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Gens De Mer Hotel Boulogne-Sur-Mer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Gens de Mer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.