We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best we stay we had in France” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bononia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Bononia
Save
You added La Bononia to your Saves list
1 rue Jean Zay, 62200 Boulogne-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Àlicante
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Best we stay we had in France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This guest house was so GOOD we went back, the hospitality was beyond excellent, Nothing was to much for our hosts even pointing out the best restaurants in the area, breakfast is so friendly you don't want to leave

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We are just back from a short trip to Boulogne and were delighted with our lucky choice of accommodation. The house is so beautiful and the rooms well appointed and clean. You can save money by coming here; you get so much food for breakfast you don't need lunch! Cereal, two types of beautiful fresh bread, croissants, pain au chocolat, three tasty jams,fresh fruit, yoghurt, fresh orange juice and the best coffee! This place is perfect for English people who listen to the rubbish that the French don't like the English; The hosts are the most delightful family, within a short time you feel more like a family member than a paying guest. I can't praise this place enough and, more importantly, I feel like I have new French friends. Boulogne itself is a surprise for those who don't know it. A delightful old town, fabulous seafood, wonderful beach and, of course, Nausicaa! All in all a must visit place and a must use B&B.

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and lovely. family rooms are fantastic value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Another stop on my cycle tour to Portugal, and another good find!

I booked through the Office de Tourisme, and then made my way to the B&B.

A great clean and tidy room and bathroom, secure storage for my cycle, and a lovely breakfast, but most importantly a lovely family as hosts.

Thank you very much, I wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We had a one night stay in this lovely B&B. Although seemingly on a main road, it was amazingly quite and when the windows were open the loudest noise was the birds from the large garden across the road. We had the large front room which was very good value. At least one of the rear rooms has a sea view. It is a short walk in to the old town but a bit of a trek down to the new part and then back up again. The hosts Martial and Caroline were lovely: welcoming and friendly and encouraging conversation at breakfast, translating where necessary. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

This B&B is only a short walk away from the old town in a quiet residential area. The landlord (Marial) and landlady (Caroline) are very nice and knowledgeable.

They treated us with respect and we had some lengthy chats over the breakfasts during our two-night stay. They told us that they actually tried to stay in the rooms for a few nights to make sure that their guests will find the rooms ok when they were delivering their big project.

The room (Gris Nez) was clean and airy, with a power shower in the bathroom. We've given them some feedbacks on the facilities in the room and I am sure they will make some changes to the room in the near future.

The breakfast was traditional French breakfast at a large table where you have the opportunity to mingle with other guests (unlike those B&B that you find in England).

On-street parking is free outside / near the B&B.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Why stayed for two nights in this friendly bed and breakfast near to Boulogne's old town. Martial and Caroline are really lovely people who made us feel welcome and well looked after. We stayed in the 3 bed family room and its vast en suite bathroom. Both were clean and comfortable although the bathroom was a bit dated. The breakfast was delicious with a good choice of cereals, breads, croissants and really good coffee. Much more fun than staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed here on a short trip to Pas-de-Calais. It's located within walking distance from the historic center. The building is from the 40's, apparently from a wealthy family. The current owners are very friendly people that know the city very well. They have useful information about restaurants etc. We had a very spacious room (with seaview) with a huge bath room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Bononia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bononia

Address: 1 rue Jean Zay, 62200 Boulogne-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Boulogne-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Boulogne-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA BONONIA is a B&B Our two rooms are located in a nice house near the old town of Boulogne-sur-Mer. We are on the Opal Coast. , 500m from the old town and its ramparts, 5 min from the beach, 5 minutes from Nausicaa, 5 min of Wimereux, 15 minutes from Cap Gris Nez and Cap Blanc Nez. And 15 min of Eurotunnel It is a habitat for tourism, Gîte-de-France "city break Premium" ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bononia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.