We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great french auberge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pierre Chaude

Pierre Chaude
19 Rue de Lille, Boulogne-sur-Mer, France
0321803032
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
hungerford
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“great french auberge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Its difficult to choose in old Boulogne as all the restaurants look similarly enticing. If you want post do l'ilot vert which I have also rated. But if you want just great home cooking go here. There isn't much we hasn't had in France but my husband tried a Boulogne Sausage, which was a new one on us. It was a huge, really tasty pork sausage. I had the best frogs legs starter I've ever had, done in masses of cream and garlic..... yum!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    37
    7
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worst French Onion Soup ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

I can't describe in enough detail just how bad this meal was. From the French onion soup that tasted canned to the fish that had no flavour to the patates 'dauphinois' that was a mash of cream and old potatoes - nothing was worthy of my time. Don't go here even if everything else is booked up.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Thoroughly mediocre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The best thing was the wine, the thing they didn't make. The rest of the food was mostly just tasteless. Friendly service and atmosphere. Kids menu if you need it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Really bad food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Went for the menu de jour at €15.90 - onion soup was unrecognisable as such, and completely tasteless. Moules smothered in mustard. Steak was stewed & covered in what they described as bernaise - awful. Potato dauphinese - awful - tasteless. How hard can it be???

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hornchurch
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Wholesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Went to this restaurant for Valentines Lunch yesterday.

Food was excellent and so was the house wine. .We had a set 3 courses and the food came up well presented and we didn't have to wait long.Will always go there when we are next in Boulogne.
Very friendly staff..Also nice atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pierre Chaude also viewed

Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
Boulogne-sur-Mer, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Pierre Chaude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pierre Chaude, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.