We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like peace and quiet it's not the place for you” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diamant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Diamant to your Saves list
Hotel Diamant
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Place des Heros, 62000 Arras, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Arras
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If you like peace and quiet it's not the place for you”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We spent two nights in this hotel. It's definitely a two star hotel. In fairness everything was clean and tidy, and the breakfast was nice. The location and view of the Place are excellent. Our room was on the top floor. It was small, although not as small as many Paris hotels. The hotel has an amazing setting, and could be fantastic with some work. If you like the dated 70's look thid is the place for you! The owner himself seems to be around all the time, and expouses a certain 'business like' approach, which I found unsettling.

I was willing to give the place a chance as my wife wanted to stay there. I couldnt really have any major faults regarding the hotel itself. Everything was clean. And once you know you will be staying in a basic hotel you wont be disappointed, even if the prices charged are anything but 2 star rates. The one major fault I would have is noise. It's situated on the Place, which is unbearably noisey at night. The rooms are not air conditioned and since both nights were warm we had to open the windows. I must add that I knew it might be noisey, but I really hadnt thought it would be this bad. Two nights in Soho or Leicester Square would have allowed me to enjoy more sleep.

All in all I would'nt return. The hotel is fine, I could'nt fault its two star rating. Location is great on the one hand but an absolute nightmare for those of you attached to your sleep.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    57
    15
    12
    6
See reviews for
16
66
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

We called in whilst travelling through northern France one Saturday lunchtime and they only had one room left. The room we had was at the back with not a great view, but it was very nice and clean. The hotel does have rooms overlooking the town hall and Place des Heros
Service was excellent with friendly and helpful staff.
Hotel has a breakfast room which doubles as a lounge by day, with free tea, coffee and soft drinks/mineral water. Breakfast is paid for separately but is help yourself buffet style which was well presented and plenty of choice. You are served with tea, coffee, and juice, with as many refills as you like.
The hotel does not have any parking and daytime parking by the town hall is limited by time. Try the underground car park around the corner in the Grand Place.
The Place des Heros is great for a drink or a meal. Plenty going on with a typical French atmosphere. Plenty to do in Arras, with a trip to the top of the belfry a must for those not scared of heights.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

Have just had our second stay at the Diamant and was very pleased (the reason its not more is it has been full at other times we have tried to book) . The hotel is small but it's locaton on one of the main squares is ideal.
Hotel has no lift and so the stairs mean you get some exercise and the rooms are small (but no smaller than most city-centre holetls we have used in France over many years). The breakfast is an excellent value buffet (and cheap by french standards), and there is orange juice, coffee and tea available all day with no charge.
The owner speaks excellent english and the service he provides is the most attentive I've experienced anywhere in France.
I've stayed in other hotels in Arras but prefer the Diamant for the service and location.
I noticed a previous reviewer say ther were no good restaurants in Arras! They obviously never found Le Clef du Sens (despite it being on the same square as the hotel). Have eaten there 3 times and it's always been very good.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

I don't even really need to write because the previous review summed up the place exactly. I completely agree. Very hot musty small room. Kind of quaint but over priced.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

This hotel's location on the Place des Heros is very central, which is both good news (convenient) and bad news (noisy). Our room was incredibly tiny and thus uncomfortable. The building, including our room, had a musty smell. The breakfast was ample and the owner always offered us "tea or an infusion" when we returned to the hotel, but overall the place and the owner both seemed rather tired. Our overall experience wasn't helped by the fact that the plaza is being torn up and resurfaced--it isn't the hotel's fault, but it added to the grim feel of the place. On the plus side, the Saturday morning town market was the best one we saw in 4 weeks of traveling and was lots of fun.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

This hotel is right alongside a major groundcaping building site that starts work at 7.00 am. That being the hour the hotel owner feels everyone should be "up and about", and not "wasting their lives lying in bed". At least his English is good.

Whilst the rooms are well double glazed there is no ventilation so the window has to be open and wow can the French builders make a din, which I understand may go on for another year!

The real problem is however the wonderful old hotel building is not suitable for modern hotel operations. The stairs are steep and narrow, there is no lift and the rooms are tiny, with less than a foot between the end of the bed and the wall.

The owner seems however to have given up. The curtains are see-through. The beds are back breakers with plastic hospital undersheets and the Wi-Fi is nonexistent in the higher rooms.

Whatever you do however, do not complain, or you will suffer Basil's wrath, which included him following us into the next street still shouting his disapproval of people who complain!

For us one night was enough, we checked out and went to the Campanile, much cheaper, basic but clean, welcoming, no builders and best of all; no Basil.

Brian Carroll

PS Sybil and her excellent assistant who greeted us on arrival fooled us into thinking the Hotel had some merit. It was ever thus.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

We were really disappointed with this hotel on last night in France. The owner was cool and unfriendly as well. There was construction in plaza early in morning as they were laying all new cobbles (not owners fault). Even though it is old (historic) and small they could have done a lot to clean it up. Won't stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diamant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diamant

Address: 5 Place des Heros, 62000 Arras, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Arras
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Arras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Diamant 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Diamant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamant Hotel Arras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diamant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.