We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tommy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de l'Univers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de l'Univers to your Saves list
Hotel de l'Univers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-5 Place de la Croix Rouge, 62000 Arras, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Arras
kent
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tommy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The last time I stayed at this hotel was 10 years ago. On this occasion The lady on the reception desk was far from welcoming and was more intent on getting my brother in law to move his car, as we had not reserved parking in their courtyard (recommended). We did get parking but at a cost of I believe 14 euros per day. The hotel itself has plenty of character and whilst my room smelt of cigarette smoke (I think you have to request a non smoking room), I spent a comfortable night. Arras is a great place to visit and this hotel is ideally situated. We did not eat in the hotel as there are plenty of good restaurants within easy walking distance. I would certainly stay here again despite the unfriendly lady behind the reception desk! Breakfast was worth having.

Room Tip: Non smoking if you do not partake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    80
    52
    13
    10
See reviews for
19
112
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed 1 night before Calais-Dover crossing. The reception was cool to say the least. We were told we had to eat in the restaurant even though there was no vegetarian food on the menu, so having left our rather shabby room with gurgling pipes we went into Arras. What a lovely town, we found a lovely Italian restaurant (quite expensive) and enjoyed a good meal. The buildings of the hotel are delightful and I wanted to get hold of it and have someone return it to it's former glory. In Spain it would be a wonderful Parador. However tired as it was inside if the reception and staff (1 member) had been friendly this would have been a kinder review. You must book parking if you don't want to leave your car on the street.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We booked a two night stay here at the last minute and were extremely pleased with our decision. The courtyard and the building itself are beautiful and typically French in style. The staff were very friendly and helpful and were eager to offer advice and information on the local area. The location of the hotel is convenient in a side street only 5 minutes walk to the main squares where you can find many charming restaurants. The room itself was a good size, immaculately clean and the beds were very comfortable with high quality sheets. The decor was simple but tasteful and fitted well with the old world charm of the hotel. The bathroom was modern and well appointed with a wonderfully powerful shower and hair dryer. We were a little surprised that there was no mini bar but the hotel offers room service in case you want a night cap in the room. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the breakfast buffet looked very inviting.
If you're driving it is worth noting that you need to reserve a place in the car park when you make your reservation (€9 a day), however it is also easy to park nearby on the main street. All in all a great stay in a lovely hotel. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the car park so perhaps ask if they have rooms with alternative views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Nice hotel in a quiet street near the city centre. Old looking but well equiped. Room (209) was very small and we found a couple of botlles of liquor (not cleaned well!). The view was not very interesting and Wifi did not work properly. Everything else was very good, nice breakfast, nice staff, ...

A little too expensive for what it was, same for the breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenty
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

A good trip in a well equipped hotel. The staff were attentive and polite. The rooms are very traditional, clean and sharp. The food is very good with a local twist, exactly what you would expect for this level of hotel.

Room Tip: I was in room 109, this was just right for my stay !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has old world charm, but some rooms are not reachable with the elevator. I had to haul my luggage up. Apart from that the hotel was perfect. The room was clean and the bathroom modern and comfy. The best part was the excellent restaurant. Very surprising for a Best Western.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Spent just one night in this very centrally located hotel which was very comfortable, room not large but adaquate, only gripe is that the sound insulation was not that great as I could easily hear the shower in the next room. Breakfast buffet was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de l'Univers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Univers

Address: 3-5 Place de la Croix Rouge, 62000 Arras, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Arras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Arras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Univers 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de l'Univers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western l Univers
Best Western Arras
Arras Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de l'Univers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.