We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stylish and relaxing B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pourquoi Pas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arras
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Pourquoi Pas
Save
You added Le Pourquoi Pas to your Saves list
9 rue Charcot, 6200 Arras, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Arras B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A stylish and relaxing B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Le Pourquoi Pas is a real find. Beautifully furnished and decorated, the 2 rooms offer a relaxing and private place to spend a holiday break. It was perfect for us as 2 couples travelling together because the reading room between the 2 bedrooms provides a superb shared place to relax together. The owners Dany and Luc were excellent hosts, providing lovely breakfasts and lots of ideas of places to visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
76
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights over Easter in two of the three rooms available. The rooms are spotlessly clean and thoughtfully and carefully decorated. They were both very comfortable and the showers etc. were very good. Breakfast was more than plentiful with Dany's home made cakes a delight. Luc and Dany are delightful, extremely helpful and attentive without in any way being intrusive. The perfect hosts. It's easy to see why Le Pourquoi Pas is consistently rated so highly by so many people.

Room Tip: The Taupe room was our favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had read all of the positive reviews and so had high hopes for Le Pourquoi Pas in Arras. We were not disappointed! Our room was beautifully decorated. Every decoration or fixture had clearly been thought out with care and the result was a stunning room that somehow felt just like home! We stayed in the Grey room. The breakfast was typical French fare but kicked up a notch because the croissants and bread were all freshly made and delicious. Plus, when I mentioned that I don't eat yogurt, Dany went out of her way to find me a cup of fruit instead. Dany was a wonderful hostess who just wanted to help. She helped us plan our day in Arras and Vimy and figure out the taxis, and made sure we knew the proper rate so we wouldn't overpay. It is a very short walk to the train station and the town centre. The neighbourhood is extremely quiet and friendly. We didn't want to leave this amazing B&B!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

You would be hard pushed to find a better B&B than this one. Dani and Luc are superb hosts, the home is wonderful. Dani has such good taste in interior decoration. The breakfast's were copious with interesting home made goodies such as lovely jam's including courgette, and brioche plus a number of others. The bed was really comfortable, the ensuite enormous and the room tastefully furnished and decorated. You would miss a treat if you missed this one, so pourqui pas visit. There are plenty of leisure activities in the surrouding area. We visited some WW1 museums plus, Lille, Amiens, Bethune, Le Touquet, Perronne, and many others all within easy reach

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have just returned from 2 nights at Le Pourquoi Pas with Dani and Luc. We had a wonderful stay. We have two small children (aged 7 and 5) and Dani and Luc were so friendly towards them, even making my daughter her favourite chocolate cereal for breakfast! The breakfasts were delicious - home-made brioche, jams, croissants and a huge pot of tea and coffee. The house is not too far from the town centre and the walk into town was not too far for the children either. A wonderful gem of a B&B, highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We just got home from a quick break to France and stayed at this guest house. It was, as everyone here says a lovely experience, truly unique. Lovely fittings, decor and the space all make it seem very luxurious and yet the hosts make it home from home. They are welcoming, helpful and the ambience at the unique breakfast was very genial as guests sat together round a table heaving with pastries- some homemade, bread, jam cheese. Perfect and well worth the reasonable cost. MUCH nicer than a hotel!!!!
Thank you Dani and Luc

Room Tip: Make sure you check the address with Dani before you leave as we made a mistake using google maps -o...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is by far the best B & B that we have ever stayed at. It is very clean, beautifully decorated and the rooms were large with lovely private bathrooms. Dani and Luc couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The location is perfect...quiet but yet close enough to walk downtown. It is perfect to share with other friends or for families as there is a mutual common area between the 2 bedrooms. The breakfasts are great and once again Dani was very accomodating. Would definitely stay here if we were to visit Arras again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Pourquoi Pas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pourquoi Pas

Address: 9 rue Charcot, 6200 Arras, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Arras
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Arras
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Pourquoi Pas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.