We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Arras Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pourquoi Pas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arras
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Pourquoi Pas
Save
You added Le Pourquoi Pas to your Saves list
9 rue Charcot, 6200 Arras, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Arras B&B and Inns
farnham common
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
140 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“An Arras Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

How lucky we were to find this incredibly nice couple and their house in Arras. Very warmly welcomed by Luc to their beautiful house, tucked away only 10 minutes walk from Arras' magnificent central Place we were given a suite of rooms to enjoy our one night stay. Immaculate and prestine in every way, with breakfast beautifully served in a very fine dining room, we especially recommend the Pourquoi Pas as 'one in a million'. Congratulations to Danielle and Luc.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms off a sitting area one is larger in bedroom and bathroom size but both are very ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
74
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were so lucky to stay with Dany and Luc at their lovely B&B in Arras.
They have a beautiful home.
The rooms were large, modern, clean, very comfortable and nicely decorated.
We shared the common living space with our traveling companions and felt as if we had our own private apt. Dany baked a delicious nectarine loaf one day and a decadent chocolate loaf another day to serve along with the fresh croissants, pain au chocolate, whole grain baguette and yummy jams. Great way to start the day.
We look forward to going back to Arras and would definitely be staying at Le Pourquois Pas again and seeing Dany & Luc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

A warm welcome to this peaceful home from home, a delightful blend of old and modern France. A spacious and comfortable room with the welcome addition of a tea/coffee tray.Adjoining our room was a large bathroom with big shower. The first floor seems to have two rooms plus the large sitting/eating area for guest use. Our hosts gave us plenty of information about where to eat, how to get there etc and as it was just a 10 minute walk was welcome after our long drive. Breakfast was familiar tasty French fare with the addition of home made brioche, all lovely. even though we only stayed one night our hosts were friendly and wished to ensure we had all we needed and enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: cant help as we only saw the room we were in above the hosts lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our Danish friends joined us here in June( We are Canadian) It couldn't have been a better experience- two beautiful bedrooms with an adjoining sitting area. Breakfast was outstanding in a magnificent dining room. The hosts were charming and most helpful. A great place to stay to stay if one is visiting Vimy and other WW1 sites.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

WantIng to avoid the nasty chain hotels, we found this gorgeous place searching for B&Bs in Arras. And how fortunate we were... You're not buying a night in an anonymous room - Le Pourquoi Pas is a suite of rooms within a friendly French household. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we loved this place - gorgeous and chic room, more visitor info than the local tourist office, lovely breakfast - and all within 10 minutes Of the lovely town centre. We walked smugly past the generic hotels in town each day, ecstatic that we had done something different and had he hottest room in town! Thank you for the hospitality - we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in early July 2012. There were 4 of us - 2 couples - and the rooms were ideal. I won't go into details, since the previous reviewer has already described it so well - but would say that the Taupe Room is worth the slightly higher rate if you're just wanting one room. Very comfortable beds, quiet street, no problems with (free) parking outside the door.
Do ask Dany for some milk if you need it - she will be pleased to help. Dany is a delight (and I enjoyed practising my French against her very good English - hope the lessons are still going well!)
...and my brother and sister-in-law, who don't speak any French, were made welcome, and relaxed instantly. Having the sitting/eating area outside our rooms was ideal - for having tea and making plans. We didn't cook, but you could easily do so.
We happily walked the short distance to get to the centre of town - and had a great meal one night at Le Petit Rat Porteur in one of the squares - Dany booked a table for us, which was a good idea.
We're looking forward to our next visit, to explore the area more.
Thank you Dany and Luc, for your hospitality and friendship!

Room Tip: The Taupe Room is larger, and has a larger shower room - and 'his and her' basins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed 1 night in, taking up both rooms, in Aug 2012 en route back to Calais. This b&b looks nothing special from the outside - an unpresupposing bungalow in an ordinary street. Its delights are revealed only on entry. The guest area is in an enormous attic conversion in the upstairs of the bungalow. The head height, however, is as high, if not higher, than in a normal house, and is very light and airy, despite mainly having only skylights. The two double rooms (one larger than the other, with room for a single bed as well) are absolutely beautiful. The en suite bathrooms are top notch - really luxurious fittings. As far as I can tell it has all been designed by Danielle (she is one half of the couple who run this b&b). There is also a georgeous sitting room/reading room area, which even has a little kitchenette and two small tables & chairs. This area is shared by the two bedrooms, although each bedroom can be locked separately. The kitchen has a fridge, 2 hobs and a microwave, plus utensils and crockery (as well as the usual kettle, tea/coffee) so you could easily heat up a pre-prepared meal for example. It is luxurious and romantic-looking enough to be the type of place that would pass as honeymoon suite (if you had it all to yourself) were it not for the fact that Arras is not really known as a honeymoon destination!

On a practical level, you can easily park outside, as it is a residential area with plenty of on-road parking. It is about a 5 minute walk from the railway station. Note that you can't check in on arrival until 4pm at the earliest. Breakfast is from 8am, but I suspect you could arrange to have it earlier if you needed to. Breakfast included and is either downstairs in Danielle & Luc's dining area, or you can have it up in the reading room if you want. It was the usual French fare of baguette, jam, cereal (if you wish), tea/coffee, fruit and yoghurt, all beautifully presented.

Danielle and Luc are a charming couple, very welcoming and friendly. They were very tolerant of our appauling French.

I don't know how much the chain hotels near the station are, but I would say that this b&b is worth splashing out on.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Pourquoi Pas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pourquoi Pas

Address: 9 rue Charcot, 6200 Arras, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Arras
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Arras
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Pourquoi Pas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.