We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Millau

Save Saved
You added Mercure Millau to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Millau
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Place de la Tine, 12100 Millau, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 hotels in Millau
yorkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Fantastic view of the viaduct and the town and the room was spotless and the staff were very helpful, the only thing you couldnt get was a sandwich in the middle of the afternnon for instance if you were hungry the kitchen was firmly shut

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    64
    37
    14
    4
See reviews for
25
71
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I am going to try and be as forgiving as I can for the Mecure Millau.

The good thing about it is that, if you get the right room, you get a cracking view of the bridge (of course if you don’t, you don’t. Also, the room was quiet and it was clean.

So, that’s the good bits covered.

The hotel is decorated in a slightly esoteric style. Think: 8 year old girl with a set of wax crayons. The breakfast room is kitted out by someone that has a fetish for glass lampshades.
The air-conditioning didn’t really work in our room.

We only stayed on a Sunday night. It seems that most of Millau is closed on a Sunday - very much like the bar in the hotel. Just in case you forget you will be shouted at from a different room by someone informing you that it is shut (though the lights being off and there not being any staff about sort of hinted at it). So, no drinks in the bar on a Sunday night.

Breakfast: Very average, bread, croissant, jam, some dodgy looking meats and cheese. I know this is typical fare in France but there didn’t seem to be much effort put into the presentation.
For us Millau just happened to be on the way between one part of France we were travelling from to another part we were travelling to. If we were to base our entire experience on the one Sunday night (and I’m going to review the meal we had at the restaurant that is just outside separately) then I would suggest that building the bridge to bypass the town was a jolly good idea.

Perhaps, on a weekday it is better. However, I’m not sure the hotel would be. It certainly didn’t meet our expectations based on the star rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bridge - check the aircon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We booked and paid for 3 Nights in advance for a 4 Star Hotel. We Arrived at 5pm on 26th June. 35C Outside, and Room A/C not working! On requesting a change of room, the Receptionist who spoke good English on our check- in suddenly did not understand. Final we got a new room to find still No A/C, No Safe, No Fridge, and No apology ! Breakfast at 0855 was an unclean Buffet with dirty tables and no juice or coffee until we complained.
On Departure we were told they had a year from the French Tourist Board to get it right! Accor Hotels, Never Again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash Vale
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Although this hotel indicates that it is 4 star, this is definately not the case - no fridge or safes in the room. Air conditioning did not work in any rooms that we or our friends used. We had booked for three nights and had to make several changes of rooms before we had one that was only just acceptable. The first room we were given was right over the air conditioning external outlet fans which were VERY NOISEY , the second room was on a corner facing the full sun, and as the room air conditioning did not work the heat in the room became intolerable - given that the outside temperature was well in excess of 35 degrees C! The room we finally ended up in was just acceptable if you slept with the balcony door open as again the air conditioning was useless!

The breakfasts were another saga! On the first morning, tables had not been cleared and the Restaurant was a real mess and this was still an hour before breakfast was due to close. There was no Orange Juice, no scrambled egg, no coffee, etc, and although there were several members of staff, none appeared to take responsibility for clearing tables, or ensuring that missing items of food were replenished. We had to request everything before it appeared! When the scrambled egg finally appeared it had been burnt and was NOT good! Whilst the other two mornings were not as bad as the first, the standard of Service and replenishment of food was VERY poor - NOT 4 * standard, IMHO not even 2*.

This Hotels only saving grace is that it is in a good central location, with good views of the surrounding countryside, and has secure Car Parking at a cost.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed for one night at the start of a walking holiday and were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. Although first impressions were of a typical,impersonal city hotel, the room was very comfortable and well equipped. The room was on the top floor and had a balcony with great views over Millau to the spectacular viaduct.
Although we did not have dinner in the hotel, breakfast was good.
The hotel is well situated for walking the 'historic tour' of Millau and there are some interesting restaurants in the old town.

Room Tip: Club Rooms on the top floor have excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed for 1 night and were upgraded to a club room. This hotel is good value for money. There is a decent bar downstairs and the room had tea and coffee making facilities.
Good sized rooms with a comfortable bed. Friendly staff. Nice view of the viaduct. good neighbourhood for socialising.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of town and the viaduct
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Millau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Millau

Address: 1 Place de la Tine, 12100 Millau, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Aveyron > Millau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 hotels in Millau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Millau 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully refurbished, airconditioned hotel is located in the heart of Millau, looking onto the Viaduct, close to shopping and only 800m from the SNCF train station and bus terminal. This 3 star Mercure features rooms between the 5th and 9th floors withviews of the Viaduct or the limestone plateaus known as the Causses. Guests receive a warm, personal welcome at the Au Bouchon de la Fontaine restaurant and the Bar a vin de la Tine. Little ones are welcome in our Childrens Corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mercure Millau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Millau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.