We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Showing the others how it should be done.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa De Mazamet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Villa De Mazamet to your Saves list
La Villa De Mazamet
4 Rue Pasteur, 81200 Mazamet, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 10 Mazamet B&B and Inns
Tarn, SW France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Showing the others how it should be done.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

If you are a student of marketing or hospitality, or indeed a professor thereof, you could do a lot worse then a stay here to see how the theory can really work in practice. It must take an enormous amount of hard work to make it appear so seamless and relaxed, while maintaining the highest of standards.
If you don't have a professional interest, you can just enjoy the experience of staying here. A rare treat indeed, from the rooms, to the food, to the spa and massage. Everything was first class.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
351
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Despite countless hours on TA, and great stays in lots of excellent hotels/B&Bs, I have never previously written a review.

I think the difference this time is that Villa de Mazamet, in addition to meeting the high expectations in terms of accommodation and service, has also, looking back now 2 months since our visit, simply left a stronger positive impression on us than any other establishment, and provided such great memories.

From the warmth of the welcome and the glass of wine in the garden, right up to the moment of our departure, it was an absolute pleasure staying in VdM.

I agree with everything that has been said about the perfect hospitality of Peter and Mark, which is of course the magic ingredient at VdM, and the daily banter and travel planning added so much to our trip. However I think another positive aspect is the fact that, given the small number of rooms, in what is a large house, there is a feeling of space, and it was not uncommon to have a whole lounge or the garden or pool area to ourselves. This means that you can very much have the best of worlds, engaging with Peter & Mark and other guests, or having a quiet escape.

Dinners were very enjoyable, not just for the excellent food and the interesting mostly regional wine list, but for the whole experience. From hearing Peter prepping in the kitchen in the late afternoon whilst we enjoyed the early evening sun on the terrace, to the choice of lounges for pre dinner drinks, to the beautifully presented dining room and Mark's friendly and knowledgeable service, it was a real highlight of the day. VdM wasn't full when we stayed, but I imagine the atmosphere many evenings would often add another positive dimension, as the ambience does encourage guests to relax and interact.

We had plans to travel much further afield from Mazamet but discovered that the surrounding area had plenty to keep us occupied, with many beautiful sights and scenic drives within 60 - 90 minutes. I needn't offer suggestions, as Peter and Mark have all the necessary advice, but Albi was certainly beautiful, and the drive to the lake that they recommend for a walk perfectly encapsulated this area, with tranquil tree lined roads alongside the canal and idyllic medieval villages, that in many countries would be of national renown, yet which here often had no tourists in sight. I'd also highly recommend the great value Michelin starred lunch on offer in Castres, at Le Bistrot des Saveurs.

To be rated top in the whole of France on TA is a real achievement, and I think definitely deserved.

I'm sure next year we will break out other habit, of not returning to places that we have vowed to revisit. We look forward to returning to such a special place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

The Villa and its hosts deserve every positive word that has been written about them. We had a wonderful two night stay and couldn't fault the decor, food, ambiance or facilities. It would be the perfect place to celebrate a birthday, anniversary, other special occasion or just to get away from it all for a few days. The owners, Mark and Peter, are on hand to make your stay as pleasant as possible and to help you make the most of exploring the surrounding areas. Not even the rainy November weather could spoil it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights during a business trip to France. Very convenient for all the companies we visited. We ate here twice and the food was amazing! Nothing was too much trouble for Mark & Peter who were excellent hosts and made us feel very welcome. Made use of the English freeview, DVD player and iPod speakers in the room. Would definitely stay here again when visiting the area in future for business or leisure! Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Mark & Peter are the perfect hosts &the accomodation was 5 star.large rooms with that luxury touch .we will definitely return

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Fabulous few nights stay in this B&B, just goes to show how it should be done, Peter & Mark are very professional but make you feel like it is a home from home, a rear gift. Wonderfully restored to a very high standard, I could not fault our Deluxe room in any way, make sure you dine in one of the nights as Peter's cooking it is excellent, there knowledge of the surrounding area makes for some great days out. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

The Villa has been restored beautifully and our deluxe bedroom was luxurious and full of character. We were made to feel so welcome from the moment we arrived and Mark and Peter could not have been more attentive throughout our very short but extremely relaxing stay. A wonderful way to celebrate our anniversary. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villa De Mazamet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa De Mazamet

Address: 4 Rue Pasteur, 81200 Mazamet, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Tarn > Mazamet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mazamet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa de Mazamet is a stunning 1930’s property located in the Tarn department of SW France providing the highest quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation.Overlooking the Montagne Noire (Black Mountains), La Villa provides five sumptuous guest rooms all with ensuite facilities and amenities normally only found in high standard hotels.Other guest facilities include a table d'hôtes restaurant, TV lounge, small library, private walled garden with swimming pool and sun terrace. Le Petit Spa at La Villa provides a sauna, jacuzzi and a choice of massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Villa De Mazamet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa De Mazamet Hotel Mazamet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa De Mazamet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.