We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B in quiet setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Castel de la Pique

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Luchon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Castel de la Pique
Save
You added Hotel Castel de la Pique to your Saves list
31, Cours des Quinconces, 31110 Luchon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Luchon
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice B&B in quiet setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We spent two nights here on a recent driving holiday in the south of France and would thoroughly recommend it. The property is a charming old style house with lovely old furniture and decorations. The room was spacious, the bed was comfortable and the 'ambience' of the property was relaxing, set back off the road with fabulous views of the surrounding mountains, trees and a river running at the back of the house. The ensuite bathroom was large and although it was quite hot weather you could open the shutters and windows at night to get good cross ventilation. Alain -who speaks fluent English - and Solange were extremely good hosts, helping us with anything that we asked about. Breakfast is served in a large dining room with fresh bread, baguettes, jams , tea and coffee. We enjoyed buying our own baguette, cheese, terrine and wine from the local shops one evening and sitting out in the garden on one of the table and chairs spread around the property, This is an interesting old 'heritage' house within walking distance of Luchon's attractions and with free parking on the property. Very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor at the front of the house and was a little noisy at night with some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

What a great place. My wife and I stayed here for a week. I cycled the cols and my wife relaxed and read. The town is a 5 minute walk and the main spa is less than that. Fantastic views. The room was very clean and spacious. The bathroom was also large. Alain and his wife were awesome and always around to help as needed. I will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catonsville, MD
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

A gem! It’s our favorite hotel of our 6-week trip. (We liked it so much 3 years ago, we extended our trip this year to come here.) We’ll never forget the warm welcome, the beautiful rooms, the perfect service, and the delicious dinners in the dining room. This is a small hotel in an 1875 mansion, beautifully restored by Alain and Solange. The modest prices make it an excellent value, especially with the demi-pension option. Again this time we used it as a base for hiking in the high country nearby, and Alain gave us excellent suggestions about the trails.

Room Tip: We have stayed in Rooms 5 and 7 and we love their big windows looking out on a green mountainside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is our cycling group's 13th year bike touring, and we were very happy to stay at this beautiful old hotel in Luchon. Yes, the floors creak a little and it is not modern per se, but the charm of the hotel and warmth of the hosts more than make up for any short comings.

We stayed for two nights and our group had four rooms. Some of the rooms have modern bathrooms and are very spacious. The rooms on the second floor have a small balcony and large windows. Very comfortable.

The location is just a few blocks from downtown. Close enough to walk, but far enough away to be nice and quiet.

The cycling in this area is amazing. Nearby are the Col de Portillon which leads to Bossost, Spain. The Col de Peyresourde and the Port de Bales are close by as well.

If you want a sterile chain hotel, this is not for you. If you like classic old buildings, with a lot of charm and personalized service, then this is the place.

We will be back!

Merci Alain!


Perfect English

Room Tip: Large rooms on the second floor are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perpignan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights with my wife and 21-year old son as a base for cycling some of the big hills in the area. It was a wonderfully relaxed and easy place to stay and Alain could not have been more helpful (he also speaks excellent English). We were able to keep our bikes locked in his garage overnight, he had lots of useful advice about the area, and made us feel at home from the time we arrived. Definitely a place to go back to another time. We had two rooms (one at the front and one at the back), both with fantastic views and very comfortable. I have stayed in Bagneres de Luchon before (in a much larger and functional hotel) and can say that the Castel de la Pique was far better value and far more pleasant. It's a wonderful old house which gives you a sense of sharing in the elegant charm of the town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very nice place with very nice owners. I felt like home, but in France. The view from the windows and the atmosphere overall was genial. The last morning, even if I had to leave earlier that them (5 in the morning), they left me warm coffee in a thermos and bread for the breakfast on the table, so nice from them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruffec, France
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here at the end of 2012. The couple running it were charming. It is a big old house set back from the road. The rooms are warm. We had 3 different bedrooms and the owners were very accommodating. The rooms are very old fashioned, especially the bathrooms but that is part of the charm. The river was quite noisy and kept us awake a bit. Lunchon is a little run down with derelict hotels on the streets which is a real shame and why a place like this needs to stay open. The hotel is near the thermes but a fair way from the centre. Breakfast was lovely. Would recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms at front better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Castel de la Pique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castel de la Pique

Address: 31, Cours des Quinconces, 31110 Luchon, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Haute-Garonne > Luchon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Luchon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Castel de la Pique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.