We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a beautiful village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Lion d'Or

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel du Lion d'Or to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cauterets
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a beautiful village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Staying in this hotel, in this town was one of the highlights of a six week driving trip in France. Run by the same family for 100 years, the hotel shows the loving attention they lavish upon it, and their guests. As soon as we saw the room we asked to stay another night. The very effective heating was welcome during a late spring cold snap. We dined in the hotel both evenings. The meals were reasonably priced and excellent. Breakfast was good too. Unusually, the free wifi worked very well throughout the hotel, with two separate upstairs and downstairs networks.
The hotel is close to the centre, there's a courtyard, free parking behind the hotel, and a laundrette 20 metres away. It's perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
69
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our visit here on 9/19/2012 could not have been better. The hotel is located in the middle of town (surrounded by mountains) with adequate parking nearby. Our room was spacious and nicely furnished and our host, Thomas, was Great! Thomas spoke english and was wonderful with advice about the town and things to do in the area. We had dinner at the Hotel . . . and breakfast (an incredible array of things to eat!) and the meals were both reasonable and memorable. We loved the copper pots that decorated the large, friendly dining room. THe Hotel du Lion d'Or earned its strong Michelin rating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Three of us stayed in two rooms at the Hotel Lion d'Or. Both rooms were spacious, with excellent beds, showers, wifi, flat screen TV's (that we never used) set among antique furniture and art. Members of the same family has run the hotel for 100 years and they clearly love the hotel and it's guests. Breakfasts and dinners were ample with excellent home cooking. Pates and jams were made by the hostess. The hotel is directly across from Thermal baths and is centrally located for day trips to walk the trails around Cauterets and Gavarne.

Room Tip: Both rooms were good and had small balconies to see the mountains. Our room was very large with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here with 22 other cyclists in Oct 2012. After climbing Tourmalet, we arrived in Cauterets tired and hungry. We were all warmly welcomed. Our rooms were spacious, immaculate and comfortable. The dinner and breakfast were excellent. Much credit goes to the family and staff who run the place. They took care of all our needs.

I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed here in July 2012 and had a great time walking in Pyrenees. Lion d'Or is an absolutely charming historical hotel right in the middle of Cauterets and right across the street to the Thermes, which you can reach in just a couple of minutes (in fact in just a minute :) ).
The hosts were very welcoming, we were given warmer blanket without even our asking when the night seemed colder and the bed linen to our suprise was changed every day! We didn't take any breakfasts or dinners, but courtesy tray in the room was very handy. The hotel is decorated in perfect rustic mountain style, even though the shower is quite modern, with some special features, and shower gels, shampoos, caps are provided.
Just one issue - if you've got the room facing rue de Richelieu (like we did), you get a lively pub at the end of the street till midnight and a garbage collecting auto at 6 am in the morning. Even with the windows closed it's quite noisy. Otherwise hotel is great, so try asking the room facing other side/s!

Room Tip: Windows to other side than rue de Richelieu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had a truly great time and wished we had stayed an extra few days. The welcome was so friendly and this set the tone for the rest of our stay. Nothing was too much for the family running the hotel. We had a beautiful huge room done in a traditional style. Everything worked well and the service was faultless. We eat at the hotel every night and the food was simple but very well executed. There was never any problem substituting any dishes if we didn't fancy one on the menu. But be warned about Thomas' (the son) selection of Armagnac at the bar. An Armagnac from every year from 1956! We tried a few too many on our first night and learned out lesson. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Felt at home with good rooms, good food, good welcome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lion d'Or

Address: 12, Rue Richelieu, 65110 Cauterets, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Hautes-Pyrenees > Cauterets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cauterets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Lion d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel with plenty of character, built in 19th century. The Lasserre family has been receiving guests for 4 generations and look forward to welcoming you. The carefully chosen decor adds a sense of romance to the atmosphere. The hotel has been completely refurbished and, although it has all modern comforts, its traditional charm and warmth have been preserved. Nearby: hiking/skiing in the Parc National des Pyrénées, Lourdes , Gavarnie, col du Tourmalet... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Lion d Or

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Lion d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.