We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refined elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bastide

Save Saved
You added La Bastide to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Bastide
avenue des Thermes, 32150 Barbotan-les-Thermes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Bordeaux
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Refined elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This beautiful spa hotel is nestled in the French country-side. If you are looking for discrete elegance, a relaxing spa and delicious food, this is your spot. From the moment you drive up to the hotel, you feel welcome. The staff are attentive and friendly without being overwhelming. The hotel and its gardens are perfectly maintained. The rooms are spacious, well equiped and the bathrooms huge with amazing walk-in showers. The beds are king sized and very comfortable with top quality linens.
We reserved half-board and were not disappointed. The food and service will all 5 star. The unseasonally cool weather wasn't a problem as they had fires lit throughout the property to keep us warm and cozy.
We will return with great pleasure. Definitely worth driving a few extra miles!

Room Tip: Regular rooms are good sized. Choose a junior suite if you want lots of space. Hotel is only two sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    18
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
90
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castres, France
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Have just returned from a week in Barbatan les Thermes having stayed at La Bastide. It's not often that I make a return reservation before leaving a hotel but we were enchanted by it and want to return. I was there for my birthday and when the staff found out they were charm itself so we will be returning for my daughters birthday. The thermal town itself is very small but has a wonderful air of relaxation, which if you need peace and quiet is ideal.
The decor is clean and almost 'virginal' being light and bright, the beds were extremely comfortable our room was double aspect so we had the benefit of the afternoon sun. A lovely experience, if I was being ultra picky I would suggest a little more attention to the cuisine, personally I think it could do with a little more care in preparation. This is, of course, my impression and one where I'm trying to find something that could be criticized. Overall smashing!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

this hotel (a member of the Relais & Chateaux group) is relatively new and owned and run by Leonore Guerard, one of the two daughters of Michel & Christine Guerard who run probably the best hotel and restaurant in France Le Pre D'Eugenie about 25 KM away.
La Bastide is not as sumptuous as Le Pre D'eugenie, but oozes charm and good taste. It is better than most 5 star hotels but less than half their price. The restaurant is also outstanding, and doubtless will soon collect its first Michelin star.
We want to return before its reputation becomes too well known and both the hotel and the restaurant become too expensive. Like Eugenie Les Bains, Barbotan, where the hotel is located, is a pictoresque spa town where a variety of luxurious treatments are available. It is in the heart of the Armagnac region as well, so there are plenty of domaines and chateaux nearby to taste this delicious digestive.

Room Tip: It is worthwhile going for the superior rooms or junior suites since even in the high season at €180...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eauze
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We have waited for over a decade for La Bastide to re-open and so we looked forward to having lunch there and although the overall experience was very pleasant the food was a little disappointing.
The building has been beautifully restored with comfy lounges and an elegant dining room, the gardens are also very pleasant . However, as locals we had not come to stay but to try out the restaurant and we were expecting great things beause of La Bastide's links with Michel Guerard. On arrival we were shown to our table but not once was the word aperitif mentioned we were presented with the menu and left to make a choice. La Bastide offers a special healthy menu at 29euros (approx) and a 48euro menu (3 courses, 4 or 5 choices in each course). We were only offered the 48euro menu and when we asked to see the healthy option we were told it was only available if you had requested it when making your reservation. Something we were not told when we made our reservation. This was not a problem for us as we had already decided to eat from the 48euro but could be a problem for other potential customers.
All of the food was well cooked, (although my main course fish was warm rather than hot ) it was just not very exciting, maybe we expected too much. In this area all restaurants tend to focus on duck, foie gras and armagnac and La Bastide is no exception. They just did it better and at a greater cost. I suspect they are just aiming at the tourist who come to Barbotan for the the thermal spa but if they want to build up a following of local diners who will come again nd again to eat at la Bastide they need to devise a more interesting, innovative menu.
La Bastide is clearly head and shoulders above the other restaurants in the immediate vicinity but with a michelin starred restaurant only 30 minutes drive away (charging approximately the same for three courses) I would still opt for the drive and the more interesting menu. To pay 180 euros for lunch for three you expect an exceptional meal not just a 'nice 'meal.
One other moan, I ordered mint tea after lunch and although the request was accepted when the waiter arrived with the tea I was told they did not have mint tea and would I like to pick something else.
On the plus side the staff were all very pleasant and helpful and when I asked about Le Five O'Clock (as advertised on the website) although they did not know anything about it they were quick to find out and comeback and give me the details.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Wow, what a great hotel. When you enter the lobby you are greeted by light, white freshness, wooden floors and really welcoming and friendly staff. The rooms are lovely: big, fresh and airy. The linen and towels are high quality the bathrooms extremely spacious and the atmosphere calm. 
There is a little platter of cakes to greet you in the room and at 6:30 PM aperitifs (champagne) are served in the lobby in front of a fireplace (on the arrival day only I think) and the staff circulate as hosts.
The dinner in the restaurant was excellent. I had foie GRAS folioed by coquelet and then a
Delicious apricot flan.
The village just down the road is beautiful as is the surrounding countryside. Our only regret is that we didn't use the spa and didn't stay longer. Next time!
Breakfast was the usual basket of bread and croissants and carton juice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Bastide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide

Address: avenue des Thermes, 32150 Barbotan-les-Thermes, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Gers > Barbotan-les-Thermes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Barbotan-les-Thermes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Bastide features contemporary rooms situated in 18th century Stone House. It offers 4-star accommodation, and a Wellness center with jacuzzi.The spacious rooms and suites at La Bastide offer views over the well-established gardens. Decorated in soft tones, the rooms are light and airy. Each is equipped with a flat-screen TV and has free Wi-Fi.The light-filled dining room serves healthy, balanced meals designed by chef, Michel Guérard. Guests can also enjoy a Ggourmet menu on the terrace in warmer months.La Bastide provides additional guest lounges and a bar with a fireplace. Outdoor furniture is also provided on the terraces and around the garden. La Bastide is opposite the Barbotan-les-Thermes thermal baths. Free parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your La Bastide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bastide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;