We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arrieulat Hotel

Save Saved
You added Arrieulat Hotel to your Saves list
Arrieulat Hotel
Arrieulat Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arrieulat Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Avenue des Pyrenees, 65400 Argeles-Gazost, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Argeles-Gazost
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“All round excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was a gem of a place. The owner Stéphane was so friendly,kind and generous with his time, lending us equipment and heating baby food. The hotel is located a very short walk from Argeles-Gazost village centre where there are lots of places to eat but the hotel restaurant (he is the chef too) is excellent (more suited to grown ups for a treat.) We had the family suite which had 2 big bedrooms and two bathrooms and was very nicely furnished in dark wood and faux fur. It was a perfect space for us and two small children and they provided a cot and change mat. The family suite was good value for money and the public spaces in the hotel are really nice too, a cosy TV lounge, a billiard/piano room and a sauna/outdoor hot tub. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Family suite with 2 bedrooms great for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I am an avid cyclist and have been coming to France for the past consecutive 10 years to cycle the famous cols of the Pyrenees with various groups of friends. Since discovering the Arriuelat 6 years ago I will never stay anywhere else. Steohane and Cecile are the most wonderfull hosts and the hotel facilities have been improving each year since they took ownership. Stephane is an absolute wizard with the cuisine and it is sheer pleasure to watch him at work in the immaculately clean open kitchen. The ultimate pleasure though is when you get to taste his masterpieces.......Superbe ! Formidable ! Exquisite ! etc etc.
Cecile is also a fantastic host and is always happy to oblige in a most friendly manner ...Tres tres sympa !
Hotel facilities are great with lock up bike storage, spa and sauna and the rooms are a good size and well appointed.
I can confidently recommend this hotel to anyone contemplating a visit to the area and it's always a great feeling when my cycling buddies shower me with praise for having led them there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was my third stay at L'Arrieulat Hotel and I can only say that the experience is getting better and better. The hotel amentities have been improved greatly over the last few years and the rooms feel fresh and clean, the spa and sauna are great after tackling the cols and Stefan is a wonderful, inventive chef whose meals never cease to delight. Both he and Cecile go out of their way to provide a very special experience for all their guests. I will be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Early July 3 day cycling holiday with 3 other lads (tourmalet etc).

Arrived mid-Sunday and due to accidental damage in transit, 2 of the 4 bikes were unusable, and we couldn't find any hire or repair shops open on a Monday (common closed day). The owner turned out to be a lovely bloke and really showed a lot of sympathy, and he made a few phone calls and found us a hire shop run by ex-brits, so it was open Monday am. He basically saved the entire 3 day trip.

Excellent bike storage garage round the back. Lovely 'posh' food and wine, and they even managed to knock up 3 evening meals for a strict vegetarian - can't say fairer than that in France!

Room 17 was clean and functional and I liked the firmer bed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

From the moment we turned up we were greeted by the owner with a smile. There were eleven of us on a cycling holiday. The hotel is very personal with obvious pride taken in all the detail. The rooms are fine and clean. The breakfast was more than ample and delicious, fresh and well worth the money. We started off not having it as others have said it was expensive but I think it represents great value and would recommend it. We had dinner at the hotel one night and the chef/ownertook great pride in serving us a splendid meal. Great value too. We could not have found a more ideal place to use as our base and I hope they do well as they are putting in the effort. The hot tub and sauna were also excellent after our hillclimbs.
Fantastic. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We found this place through booking.com as it appeared to be well priced and feedback was generally positive. This was a 3 day cycling trip with a mate, so we were just looking for something basic, but clean.
We took a taxi from Lourdes airport (quite pricey at €55 for the two of us and bikes). He guessed where we were staying before we'd even mentioned it, so I take that to mean it is popular with cyclists!.
The public areas of the hotel are very nice, the rooms less so, but they are clean and for €60 probably what I would expect. Breakfast is €10. We only had it on the first day, but it wasn't that great so we just went to one of the patisseries or cafes in the town the other two days.
Our bikes were safely locked away in their garage each night, so no concerns there, and the hot tub in the garden is a welcome sight if youve been out walking or cycling all day. Argeles Gazost itself really is an excellent base to explore the mountains. If you cycle, then the Soulor/Aubisque begins from the town, Hautacam is a couple of km away, then the Tourmalet and Luz Ardiden another 15km or so. We've been here a few times, but this is the first time at the Arrieulat. We will stay here again next time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Nice hotel, very clean and great value. Eating at least one night in the restaurant is a most! This was the best meal we had our whole two week trip in Spain and France.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arrieulat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrieulat Hotel

Address: 28 Avenue des Pyrenees, 65400 Argeles-Gazost, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Hautes-Pyrenees > Argeles-Gazost
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Argeles-Gazost
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arrieulat Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Arrieulat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arrieulat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.