We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic bike-centric hotel in perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Au Primerose Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Argeles-Gazost
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Au Primerose Hotel
Save
You added Au Primerose Hotel to your Saves list
23 rue de l'Yser, 65400 Argeles-Gazost, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Argeles-Gazost
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic bike-centric hotel in perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I would not hesitate to recommend the Au Primrose hotel as a perfect place to stay for anyone looking for a base to attack many of the classic Pyrenean climbs. We managed to cover the Hautacam, Gavarnie, Luz Ardiden, Soulor, Aubisque, Aspin, Spandelles and Tourmalet all from the Primrose during a 7 night stay. The quality of the food was fabulous with the chef producing a different 3 course menu every night. I would strongly recommend the additional pasta option for cyclists looking to take on extra carbohydrates each evening. The owner, Phillipe, and his wife could not have been more friendly and accommodating. The daily weather forecasts were extremely useful and usually spot on. I would also recommend a trip to the nearby Bath/Spa for a swim and some hydrotherapy but you will need to take swim trunks and not swim shorts.

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony facing the Hautacam are great for views and drying out clothes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
31
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

A fantastic hotel, with an incredible level of personal service. There's even a bike storage basement with everything a cyclist will need, from hooks to store your bike on, storage for bike boxes, clean cloths for bike cleaning, tools, etc.
A great place to stay. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driehuis, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

If you are a cyclist and looking for a great stay in the Pyrenees I can strongly recommend Au Primerose!Together with 11 friends I stayed in this hotel in June 2013 and it was really pleasant: good service, pasta meal at 16 o'clock and fine dinner in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This visit in July 2013 was our second stay at hotel Au Primerose, the last one being for 5 days in 2011. Although this was a shorter stay, it was just as good. Philipe is a wonderful host and very helpful. The hotel is in a great position and has everything you need or could want as a cyclist (but would also be great for non-cyclists). The hotel is great value and a good place to meet other cycling guests. If you are looking for a cycling base in this area of the Pyrenees, I doubt you can beat it and it certainly is a great area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

For a cycling holiday, location couldn't be better. No matter which road you choose from the hotel, you'll be going uphill soon. Big uphill. (Well, it's a matter of taste...).

Service is friendly and genuine, owners are very helpful. Food (breakfast & dinner) is tasty and excellent value for money. Rooms are a bit outdated, but clean and fittings in good condition.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel for a cycling trip. Phillipe and Valerie are great hosts who made me feel comfortable from the start. Both speak English if you struggle with French as i do. Food is excellent and extra pasta for cyclists. Cycle storage is great with a workshop too. Rooms clean and comfortable with free wifi. I unreservedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

It's easy to see why this friendly little hotel is so highly regarded by other reviewers. Our room was spacious, quiet, spotless, with a good bathroom and decent shower and a good bed. The hotel's owners are very friendly and did all they could to make our stay enjoyable. We were on a cycling holiday and appreciated all the facilities and the maps and other information they had available. The cyclist meal options were just what we needed to fuel our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Au Primerose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Primerose Hotel

Address: 23 rue de l'Yser, 65400 Argeles-Gazost, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Hautes-Pyrenees > Argeles-Gazost
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Argeles-Gazost
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open from May until October, Au Primerose is a family run comfortable 2 star hotel restaurant belonging to the Logis de France network. We are off the main street, in front of the Casino's big park and just down the road from the town centre. We have 26 sound proofed rooms all with en suite facilities, satellite TV, telephone, safe, alarm clock and hairdryer (on request from reception). Free access to Wireless Internet is available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Primerose Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.