We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bell and Cross” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bell & Cross

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bell & Cross
Holy Cross, Clent, Stourbridge, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 5 Restaurants in Clent
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: UK postcode DY9 9QL
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Bell and Cross”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

A very comfortable and welcoming place. Very oldie worldie feel. We have visited a few times now and will continue to do so. Nice cosy bar with good beers. We like the fact that there are seperate rooms for many diners. Good menu's, attentive staff and good service, what more could you want?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    48
    15
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Our favourite at the moment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Been here 6 times in the past year and we love it. Great food and great beers. The best was on a Saturday evening for my 30th birthday when we booked for 11 people. The menu seems to be different each time and have never had a bad course. I think the value is good... Especially when compared it to a few very over priced Birmingham restaurants. Relatively speaking - the food on the 2 Sunday dinners we ate there, haven't been as good as the evening meals, but still very good

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Sunday lunch here is simply fantastic. The real ale is spot on, and the food and service is of an extremely high quality. We will be going again - alot !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small Portions”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Bell & Cross

We had been had advised by a few friends that the portion size was quite small and this was confirmed when when our Malaysian Chicken Curry arrived.
It's was served in 6inch square tins which where half full off curry & rice with 4 small crackers in there for good measure (in my opinion 2 servings would have been adequate for one person). We arrived at the 6.00pm & there was a problem with our booking which they admitted was there fault & the chef was not ready until 6.30pm which I have to say the people on the table where less impressed than us. This is not a good value pub. We noted the next table had Fish & Chips which was a medium Fish and about 8 chips (literally ) for £11.00 and you had to pay £2.95 extra for small tub of minted mushy peas.I rest my case.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Now visited three times for business lunches and the food is fantastic -- liver and bacon is brilliant

Lunchtimes you will find a quiet corner to talk to people

service is good and not bothersome

Close to Motorway and easy to find

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bell & Cross also viewed

 
Clent, Stourbridge
Droitwich, Worcestershire
 

Been to Bell & Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bell & Cross, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.