We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Etap Hotel Brive, France.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brive-la-Gaillarde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ibis Budget
Save
You added Ibis Budget to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Armand Sourie, 19100 Brive-la-Gaillarde, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Brive-la-Gaillarde
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Etap Hotel Brive, France.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This Hotel is 2 Star (so very basic), so no resturant, but next door to this hotel is the Ibis Hotel that you can get food and drink, we checked in before 9pm and had a good welcome by reception (it closes just after 9pm), were given our key and room number, the room was clean, the next morning we had a french breakfast that you could go up and get as much as you like, we were not sure if we had booked the best thing but glad now that we did as the price was good and so was the serivce.
It is very good if you are thinking of an overnight stay then travelling on to your destination the next day and i would stay with this chain again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    100
    79
    34
    27
See reviews for
86
108
29
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I choose this hotel because it was near the motorway on my way going on holiday.
I booked and paid for a triple room. The bed for the third person was not made. I had to do this myself and there were only towels for 2 but as the reception was already closed I could not get any more. The shower was so old and dirty that we did not use it and the sink was more a handwash bassin for a toilet. Furthermore the room smelled horrible . So we were glad when it was 6 am and we were to leave. Nearby is a Campanile hotel and I will definitly go there next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brive-la-Gaillarde hotels

Besancon, France
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

standard Etap hotel, in a god position for visiting Perigord-Limousin, good air conditioning, free internet connection and car parking for the clients of the hotel. Full bathrooms are in the room but the toilet is very small and unconfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We chose this hotel due to its convenient location just off the motorway (we were on route from Carcassone to Paris). We have stayed in a number of budget hotels recently but this was definitely the worst by some margin. The hotel is based in the middle of a large industrial estate and shares a free car park with another hotel, All Seasons. Our room and the public spaces were very poor, the carpet in the room was disgustingly dirty and the bedding was equally poor. The shower cubicle and toilet were acceptable - as with all Etap hotels shower gel is not provided. The air con was efficient. There is no lift and the rooms are located in a rabbit warren of corridors, on different levels.We did not stop for breakfast so can't comment.
The whole hotel is in desperate need of refurbishment - it is cheap build, pebble dashed inside and out! For an extra €15 euros we could have stayed at the adjacent All Seasons hotel which was far more pleasant (modern, clean public areas and what looked to be a good restaurant and bar).
On the one possitive note, the reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We'd advise you to book another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Overall the hotel is reasonable value, but does not match UK standards in price or quality. There has been a problem checking in using the card check-in machine when using a Santander Mastercard after the reception has closed. This problem has occurs on every visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here just for a stopover on the drive from Rouen to Toulouse. The hotel is situated amongst industrial buildings. The car park is shared with other hotels and was almost full at 11pm, we got one of the last spaces.

While I understand the concept at this price, I would definitely pay another 15 euro or so to stay at an Ibis or similar. It's not the size or style of the room, that was fine for the purpose. However the hotel in general was in a very shabby state and there was a pallet loaded with a huge cardboard box filling the lobby.

The room was not clean - I have photos of cobwebs, the dirty carpet, and a stain on the bedspread which also had a cigarette burn in it. The bed is a sheet of MDF with a piece of foam on top and the pillows are barely better than a folded T-shirt. I really like the idea of being able to stop overnight for about £35 but when the whole place makes your skin crawl it's just not worth it! At the end of a long drive, we didn't need this!

We have just cancelled another Etap booking for later this trip on the basis of our experience here, that says it all I think!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget

Address: Rue Armand Sourie, 19100 Brive-la-Gaillarde, France
Location: France > Limousin > Correze > Brive-la-Gaillarde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Brive-la-Gaillarde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern room with a 51cm screen TV, private shower and toilet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ibis Budget France/Brive-La-Gaillarde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.