We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, great building and hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Logis des Penitents Blancs

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brive-la-Gaillarde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Logis des Penitents Blancs
4 place Latreille, 19100 Brive-la-Gaillarde, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Wargrave, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, great building and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night to break the drive to the South. What a lovely find and am so pleased we chose this. Gerard came out to guide us to the parking space and soon we were being led up a beautiful old stone staircase and into his apartment. The building is right in the heart of Brive, quiet and tucked away. Having unpacked we were asked where would we eat? Having no idea, Gerard took it in hand and booked us into a restaurant. A walk around Brive, a welcomed beer and onto supper at La Table d'Olivier which was delicious and just what we would have chosen if we knew it had been there!

Our room was large, clean and quiet. The shower area worked very well and was nicely thought out. The loo is outside the room but literally just outside the bedroom door. Breakfast is a feast of Gerard's home made yoghurt, jams, brioche, breads, pastries and coffee, all of which are delicious and eaten in the large comfortable room with numerous historical features. It makes a refreshing change from a hotel to stay somewhere like this, with the owner who cares about your comfort and takes pride in his home and hospitality. A short walk around the pretty town of Brive was enjoyed in the morning before getting back into the car. I can heartily recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly former banker receives in historic environment; private parking & excellent breakfast included, even sometimes a wonderfull Malt-whiskey arriving and a glass of Bas-Armagnac after dinner.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Couldn't have had a warmer welcome.

The B&B consists of one self-contained room (shower and washing area within room, toilet just next to the guest room) in a beautifully-designed apartment in a medieval building. The location is perfect - right in the centre of Brive's old town, next to the Collegial St. Martin and the main shopping area around rue Toulzac. Lots of good restaurants and cafes within a few minutes' walk.

The owner and his wife are excellent hosts, and really looked after me.

The proprietor offers to collect guests and drop them off at the railway station if they're not equipped with a car, and although I didn't make use of it, there are also possibilities to visit the surrounding area,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Les Logis des Penitents Blancs, offers a high value, elegantly refined and comfortable chamber d’hote (B&B) in a centuries old building in the very midst of medieval Brive-la-Gaillarde. The host offers complimentary pick-up service from the train station or airport.

Housed in a historic building with stone steps and carved stone doorways, the room was spotlessly clean, decorated with taste, homey and upscale at the same time. The bedroom was very roomy; the art deco brass bed was firm and comfortable, the linens new and first rate. The room included a deluxe private shower and sink; the toilet was just outside the bedroom door. Local jams, honey and homemade yogurt accompany your morning coffee and assorted baked goods.

I highly recommend hiring the genial host as a driving guide for some part of your visit. He is a very affable and charming gentleman, with extensive knowledge of regional history, and has special interests in photography and Romanesque architecture. I saw and enjoyed much more than I could have on my own, and I am a guidebook junkie.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Logis des Penitents Blancs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Logis des Penitents Blancs

Address: 4 place Latreille, 19100 Brive-la-Gaillarde, France
Location: France > Limousin > Correze > Brive-la-Gaillarde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Brive-la-Gaillarde
Also Known As:
Le Logis Des Penitents Blancs France/Brive-La-Gaillarde

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Logis des Penitents Blancs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Le Logis des Penitents Blancs to your Saves list