We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Cub Hotel

Save Saved
You added O'Cub Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
O'Cub Hotel
10 Impasse du Rhone, 30400 Villeneuve-les-Avignon, France (Formerly Cube Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A room with a view....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We also walked from the railway station and got lost, but it was a beautiful day and a lovely city so it wasn't too much of a hardship with just a carry on bag. The Cube is over the river from the city and about 15 minutes' walk. However, our room had a view of the papal palace across the Rhone from our balcony. The room was adequate in size but spotless, with a very nice en suite. The air conditioning could do with a service. The staff are very helpful and speak excellent English. It is becoming difficult to practise French in France these days! We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel because just up the road is a fantastic cafe and bakery. Great coffee and croissants right out of the oven. There are 3 pizza places within 50 metres. We are so glad we stayed at the Cube or we would have not visited the abbey and fort at Villeneuve, or the amazing open air market below the fort. We thought they were at least as interesting as the palace. The Cube also has car parking, which is at a premium in Avignon.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room overlooking the river and Avignon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    87
    30
    5
    4
See reviews for
14
88
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for one night as a stop over in Avignon. We decided to walk from the Train station to the hotel - which proved further than we thought. We wished we had known about the bus service that stops about 50m from the hotel. We probably walked about 2 miles by the time we got our bearings. Ask the hotel for bus number and details if you book.

Having spent a wonderful few days in a luxurious villa this hotel did seem basic. But it was clean and comfortable enough. The room wasn't spacious, but with Avignon being such a pretty place, we didn't spend much time there. The bathroom was compact but clean and had nice little toiletires! We had a little balcony, but the view wasn't great! If you intend on staying any length of time, paying the extra to stay in a room with a view might be worth it.

The staff were very friendly and gave us advice on where to go, how to get there and helped us with any queries we had., booked taxis etc.

We didn't pay for breakfast when we booked as I wanted to see what our options were first. If the weather is nice, there is a balcony with nice views over the river where you can have breakfast - approx 8-9 euros. I did have a quick look at what was out but it appeared to be the usual continental offering. After we dropped our bags off, we found lots of places that served breakfast including in the square at the foot of the Pope's palace (Palais des Papes). This is what we decided to do and I have to say this was wonderful and would highly recommend it.

Overall, although it was fine, there are alot of other hotels that are more central. If we had considered the distance from the centre of Avignon and the taxis costs, we probably could have paid more to stay in the centre, especially as our trip was so short. I called into the local tourist office - where they were really helpful and gave me lots of info on places to stay. We did fall in love with Avignon and hope to go back next year and although this hotel wasn't bad for the money, I think we'll stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

I loved the Cube Hotel for many reasons. Firstly, the rooms were very pristine clean and modern. The bathrooms especially looked brand new! My friend and i shared a queen sized bed and were more than happy with the size of the room. There was a reasonable sized balcony which overlooked the front of the hotel. Sitting out on the balcony, we could just make out the palace of the popes, which was exciting! The staff were very friendly when we arrived, except their English was not that fluent. Being Australian, checking in took a little longer because of difficulty understanding each other. Breakfast on the top floor is stunning. A wide selection of french breakfast foods are available and the breakfast room itself is also very clean and set up well. Overall i was very, very happy with the rooms, service and location. If i go back to Avignon i will stay at the Cube Hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Convenient location if you are visiting Avignon with a car because parking is including and you are well situated between Avignon and Villeneuve. Happy with the price for what you get. Helpful staff, English spoken. Good view from the terrace. 24-hour access. Map available of the town. A train goes by the hotel, but it didn't keep us awake.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The price of this hotel was hard to pass up when compared to nearby options but it didn't match up to expectations. On the map it looked like an easy walk to Avignon's old city, but we timed our brisk walk at 25 minutes from the Pope's palace. Over the course of a few days the walk got old and we resorted to an over-priced taxi to go to dinner. We also walked to Fort Saint-Andre in Villeneuve-les-Avignon and it was about the same distance. We were aware of the train but our room was on the river side and it didn't bother us. We were on the second floor but that low our view was blocked; the higher rooms may be worth the price if you want a view. The room was basic and more rundown than the online photos show. The small balcony was a nice feature and we enjoyed sitting there but neither of the two doors to it had a lock; they seem to have little regard for security. The front desk staff were very nice and spoke enough English to answer basic questions. We needed to do some laundry and the staff took care of it, washed and folded, for 20 euro (a reasonable price considering we later did it ourselves at a laverie for more than 10 euro). The highlight of the hotel is breakfast on the roof. The views are fabulous and the food included more than the typical bread and jam. On our last day we had a car; parking was easy. If you're on a walking vacation you should be able to find better hotel options, but with a car most of our concerns were reduced.

Room Tip: Choose a higher room if you want the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in July when the festival was on as there wasn't anywhere closer to stay without costing a fortune! We had a room on the 3rd floor and as there is no lift, Olivier kindly helped us carry our suitcases. The room was a bit on the small side, as was the bed and shower, but perfectly OK for 3 nights. The balcony was lovely with a table and 2 chairs, and with an amazing view of the river and the Palace.

The huge terrace on the top floor has a wonderful view overlooking the Rhone river and the Palace. We didn't have breakfast there, but every morning I went up just for coffee (there is no jug or coffee in the room).

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Olivier!

The downside to this hotel is the location, as it's a good 20-25 minute walk to Avignon itself.
A bit of a hike when it's 37 degrees! Also, there are only a couple of restaurants or shops in the area if you didn't feel like going into town. Having a rental car would have been easier to get around, although there are buses close to the hotel.

Tip: Get a taxi to the hotel if you arrive at the TGV station with heavy suitcases, as it saves getting on and off 2 buses and time. Cost us 20-25 euros 1 way and worth it.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and go for a Rhone room overlooking the river. The rooms at the back of the hotel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valby, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

A dull 15 minutes walk from Avignon city center and with a noisy train line behind the hotel, but in general a nice place with low prices, delicious breakfast buffet, good parking and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to O'Cub Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Cub Hotel

Address: 10 Impasse du Rhone, 30400 Villeneuve-les-Avignon, France (Formerly Cube Hotel)
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Gard > Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel, decorated with a colored style between the 70's and contemporain, is located on the Rhône River overlooking Avignon and the Pope's Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your O'Cub Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cube Hotel Villeneuve Les Avignon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Cub Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.