We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel la Magnaneraie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel la Magnaneraie to your Saves list
Hotel la Magnaneraie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 Rue Camp de Bataille, FR-30400 Villeneuve-les-Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Montana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Charming hotel in area perfect for excursions to surrounding points of interest. Our room was on 2nd floor overlooking gardens. Room was more of a suite: large sleeping area, great bath, and phenomenal porch. Breakfast excellent, staff friendly, area surrounding hotel quiet. If one suggestion, a small refrigerator in room would have been most welcomed. Our 3 night stay was exceptional.

Room Tip: We checked out other rooms since we were traveling with a group. All the rooms in the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAlexanderCampbell, Directeur général at Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated the peace and quiet of our hotel and gardens, the Cuisine of our Chef Laurent CROS, and the fact that La Magnaneraie is an ideal base for visiting Provence.

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul Alexander Campbell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    88
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
26
139
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Just returned from 5 nights at Hotel Magnaneraie . We used the hotel as our base for day trips in Provence and found it to be ideal. The hotel is in quiet, residential neighborhood which we enjoyed. Our room was # 33 and was lovely with a king bed , updated bathroom and lovely terrace with table and two chairs overlooking the garden.. Lovely . Staff was very nice and helpful. Lovely breakfast buffet included in our rate .. We ate a delicious dinner one night at the hotel restaurant . Service was excellent. Other nights we walked into town ( easy 10 minute walk ) where there are a number of restaurants . Would recommend this hotel if you want a charming , quiet hotel outside of Avignon and if you have a car . Felt more like a bed and breakfast .

Room Tip: Room 33 had a king bed , updated bathroom with stall shower and separate bathtub and lovely terrace...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAlexanderCampbell, Directeur général at Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated the peace and quiet of our hotel and gardens, as well as the fact that the hotel is well situated for visiting Avignon and the surrounding areas.

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul Alexander CAMPBELL
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamsville, RI
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed at this hotel in early May with a Bike Tour group. I really liked this hotel, but was very disappointed with our initially assigned room. The room was on the first floor and clearly designed for a handicapped person- the bathroom was nearly the size of the bedroom and had an unenclosed shower directly across from a toilet. The only closet was also located in the bathroom. There was a musty smell as well. Three walls appear to be foundation wall on this level and the only window cannot be opened- there is a large door with a shutter type cover you can deploy. After sort of settling in, I discussed my concerns with the hotel desk staff - immediately they assigned us a room on the upper floor that was most excellent- a small balcony with table and two chairs, a smallish but adequate bedroom and a nice shower with a separate bath tub and a sep0arater toilet area. The heated pool was just off this area. The grounds are quite nice and the hotel extremely quiet given its location just on the ring road that surrounds the older section of town. Breakfast was included and well more than adequate.Staff were all pleasant and I would recommend this hotel to friends- barring a first floor room assignment!

Room Tip: Second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAlexanderCampbell, Directeur général at Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated the comfort of your second room, just for you information it is an obligation for all hotels in France to have at least 2 rooms adapted for handicapped clients and as for the "ring road" Villeneuve lez Avignon is surrounded by a very small and narrow road limited at 20 KM/H.

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul Alexander Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Motte Servolex, France
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I had a room in the main building on the second floor. The room was ok. Sparsely furnished but the bed was comfortable which is the most important. The room itself seemed to have been renovated recently but the bathroom was a little older. We also had dinner in the restaurant which was good but the service could be better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAlexanderCampbell, Directeur général at Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated the peace and quiet of our hotel and gardens and the cuisine of our Chef Laurent Cros.

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul Alexander CAMPBELL
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had originally booked for five nights and, enjoying our stay so much, have tacked on an additional three! We highly recommend room 10 which has a huge terrace overlooking the extensive garden in the back of the hotel. The pool, in a separate courtyard, is large and heated, with ample perimeter and chaise lounges. The hotel has several lounge and dining areas, all tastefully decorated.

If you are looking for a tranquil, elegant and comfortable hotel, convenient to both Avignon and its surroundings (Arles, Les Baux, Nimes, Pont du Gard and Uzès), this is the place. We love it so much that we are reluctant to go to the next stage of our tour of southern France, fearing that we will not find something of equal quality.

Everything is extremely well-run, a tribute to the attentive nature of its manager, Paul, for whom no request was too minor. Thank you, Paul!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAlexanderCampbell, Directeur général at Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated the peace and quiet of our hotel and gardens and the outdoor heated pool.

It was a pleasure meeting you and your wife, and on behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in the south of France and i look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul Alexander CAMPBELL
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We booked the hotel after reading a superlative presentation, with the excellent Provence menu, and specifically the unique flower stuffed zucchini. The hotel is on a lovely, quiet street in Villeneuve-les-Avignon, at a short pleasant walking distance to a bus stop, to take the bus into Avignon proper, to the grand cathedral. For all our four days of our stay, we parked the car in the hotel front yard, though they also have a garae, but both spaces are completely secured, so we left most of our luggage in the vehicle. All the spaces in this hotel are extremely attractive, with the most elegant, yet simple French taste and flare for littlest detail. Our room was large enough, modern furniture, with an excellent bed and finery, well appointed bathroom and a balcony surrounded by greenery, overlooking the gardens and the fabulous swimming pool. The almost vast dining room opens into the opulent gardens and breakfast is a delightful affair, where everything that makes French cuisine famous is available, so people tend to stay longer at their tables, just for the sensuous pleasures of looking, eating, chatting as the sun bathes all in more beauty. At dinner time, we could have had anything, except the much talked about zucchini, as it was too early in the season. We were so charmed by the prettiness and comfort we found here, that we decided to spend an entire day just by the heated superb swimming pool, walking back and forth through the gardens, just relaxing and taking in all that beauty.
The service is impeccable, with professional people who will respond to any need, starting info for local transportation, sites, hours, you name it. We do not know anything about their fitness facilities as we did not inquire, but for swimmers and outdoor passionate, "la piscine" is perfect. All prices were reasonable and we will definitely love to repeat the stay at this jewel of Provence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAlexanderCampbell, Directeur général at Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated the peace and quiet of our hotel and gardens and the outdoor heated swimming pool, as well as the restaurant terrace and the Cuisine of our Chef Laurent CROS.

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul Alexander CAMPBELL
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We booked the Hotel La Magnaneraie at the last minute. Although it is a bit out of the main hub of Avignon, the hotel is wonderful with amazing grounds, a great restaurant, and a staff willing to go the extra mile to make your stay perfect. Our room was clean, spacious and had a large deck with lounge chairs overlooking the beautiful property. Although it was raining when we arrived, the swimming pool area looked inviting and we could easily picture how nice it would be to come back to this hotel after a day of site seeing in Provence. We were here for a short over night stay, but will plan to use this location as our hub when we visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAlexanderCampbell, Directeur général at Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated the comfort of your room, the peace and quiet of the hotel gardens and the cuisine of our Chef Laurent Cros.

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul Alexander Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel la Magnaneraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Magnaneraie

Address: 37 Rue Camp de Bataille, FR-30400 Villeneuve-les-Avignon, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Gard > Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel la Magnaneraie 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel la Magnaneraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Magnaneraie Hotel Villeneuve-Les-Avignon
Best Western Hotel Avignon
Best Western Avignon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel la Magnaneraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.