We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a very good restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel la Magnaneraie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel la Magnaneraie to your Saves list
Hotel la Magnaneraie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 Rue Camp de Bataille, FR-30400 Villeneuve-les-Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
La Motte Servolex, France
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with a very good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I had a room in the main building on the second floor. The room was ok. Sparsely furnished but the bed was comfortable which is the most important. The room itself seemed to have been renovated recently but the bathroom was a little older. We also had dinner in the restaurant which was good but the service could be better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAlexanderCampbell, Directeur général at Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated the peace and quiet of our hotel and gardens and the cuisine of our Chef Laurent Cros.

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul Alexander CAMPBELL
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    88
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
26
139
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had originally booked for five nights and, enjoying our stay so much, have tacked on an additional three! We highly recommend room 10 which has a huge terrace overlooking the extensive garden in the back of the hotel. The pool, in a separate courtyard, is large and heated, with ample perimeter and chaise lounges. The hotel has several lounge and dining areas, all tastefully decorated.

If you are looking for a tranquil, elegant and comfortable hotel, convenient to both Avignon and its surroundings (Arles, Les Baux, Nimes, Pont du Gard and Uzès), this is the place. We love it so much that we are reluctant to go to the next stage of our tour of southern France, fearing that we will not find something of equal quality.

Everything is extremely well-run, a tribute to the attentive nature of its manager, Paul, for whom no request was too minor. Thank you, Paul!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAlexanderCampbell, Directeur général at Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated the peace and quiet of our hotel and gardens and the outdoor heated pool.

It was a pleasure meeting you and your wife, and on behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in the south of France and i look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul Alexander CAMPBELL
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We booked the hotel after reading a superlative presentation, with the excellent Provence menu, and specifically the unique flower stuffed zucchini. The hotel is on a lovely, quiet street in Villeneuve-les-Avignon, at a short pleasant walking distance to a bus stop, to take the bus into Avignon proper, to the grand cathedral. For all our four days of our stay, we parked the car in the hotel front yard, though they also have a garae, but both spaces are completely secured, so we left most of our luggage in the vehicle. All the spaces in this hotel are extremely attractive, with the most elegant, yet simple French taste and flare for littlest detail. Our room was large enough, modern furniture, with an excellent bed and finery, well appointed bathroom and a balcony surrounded by greenery, overlooking the gardens and the fabulous swimming pool. The almost vast dining room opens into the opulent gardens and breakfast is a delightful affair, where everything that makes French cuisine famous is available, so people tend to stay longer at their tables, just for the sensuous pleasures of looking, eating, chatting as the sun bathes all in more beauty. At dinner time, we could have had anything, except the much talked about zucchini, as it was too early in the season. We were so charmed by the prettiness and comfort we found here, that we decided to spend an entire day just by the heated superb swimming pool, walking back and forth through the gardens, just relaxing and taking in all that beauty.
The service is impeccable, with professional people who will respond to any need, starting info for local transportation, sites, hours, you name it. We do not know anything about their fitness facilities as we did not inquire, but for swimmers and outdoor passionate, "la piscine" is perfect. All prices were reasonable and we will definitely love to repeat the stay at this jewel of Provence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAlexanderCampbell, Directeur général at Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated the peace and quiet of our hotel and gardens and the outdoor heated swimming pool, as well as the restaurant terrace and the Cuisine of our Chef Laurent CROS.

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul Alexander CAMPBELL
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We booked the Hotel La Magnaneraie at the last minute. Although it is a bit out of the main hub of Avignon, the hotel is wonderful with amazing grounds, a great restaurant, and a staff willing to go the extra mile to make your stay perfect. Our room was clean, spacious and had a large deck with lounge chairs overlooking the beautiful property. Although it was raining when we arrived, the swimming pool area looked inviting and we could easily picture how nice it would be to come back to this hotel after a day of site seeing in Provence. We were here for a short over night stay, but will plan to use this location as our hub when we visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAlexanderCampbell, Directeur général at Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated the comfort of your room, the peace and quiet of the hotel gardens and the cuisine of our Chef Laurent Cros.

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul Alexander Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely two night stay at this hotel. It is located a bit farther away from the main downtown of Villeneuve-les- Avignon, which is across the river from Avignon. The room was clean, spacious and overlooked the beautiful courtyard, which was very well designed. We stayed in October so it was a bit too cool to swim but in warmer months the pool would have been lovely to use. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There were plenty of places to sit outside and enjoy a drink. We did have a traditional french bathroom so showering was a bit tricky but the bathroom was also large and spacious and had two sinks.

It is a medium walk to the center of town, so for those who mind walking more than 10 min to dinner, this may not be the ideal location, unless you are planning on eating at the hotel. However, my mom and I enjoy walking and found this hotel to be perfect for our needs. Fort Andre is probably closer to 20-30 min walk and the Tour Philippe Le Bel is about 15-20 minutes. When walking, we felt safe but the sidewalks had a tendency of suddenly stopping and starting up on the other side of the road. During the day, we also walked into Avignon, which was only about 30 minutes to the city’s gates. There is also a bus that is conveniently located. I enjoyed staying in Villeneuve Les Avignon rather than Avignon because it was quieter and less congested.

For those who enjoy walking, it is a great location with a beautiful premise and quieter than other options in the area.

Room Tip: You may want to ask if there are room that have showers with curtains (or glass barriers). I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAlexanderCampbell, Directeur général at Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated the peace and quiet of our hotel and gardens and the fact that our hotel is ideally situated for exploring Villeneuve lez Avignon and Avignon .

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul CAMPBELL
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I were spending a week in Provence and did not want to keep moving hotels. This was the perfect spot to spend 5 nights. Villeneuve is a lovely village across the river from Avignon. We rented a small car and did day trips to all the cities/villages we wanted to visit. Our room was lovely (#27 I think) with a lovely balcony we could enjoy at the end of our day with a glass of local wine.
One problem there was only a small closet, no drawer space and if you are staying more than a night or two you want to unpack.
The breakfasts were good, we tried the restaurant one night it was okay but there are other restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAlexanderCampbell, Directeur général at Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated your room with its balcony over looking the peace and quiet of the hotel gardens, as well as the fact that the hotel is situated in Villeneuve lez Avignon just across the river from Avignon and ideally situated for visiting the surrounding areas.

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul Alexander CAMPBELL
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here recently as part of a tour and we had a lovely stay. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. Amazing bathroom with separate shower, bath and double vanity. Bathrobes and slippers also provided. We had a balcony overlooking the very pretty garden.We were on the same level as the pool which was very nice. Only wish we could have had a kettle in the room to make a cup of tea at the end of our busy day.
We got to use the pool a couple of times as the weather was gorgeous.Pool was slightly heated, plenty of sun loungers and big towels provided. A bar was nearby for anyone who wanted a drink.
Breakfast was usually served out in the lovely garden. Breakfast was quite good, although I found the scrambled eggs very runny and everyone who tried to boil an egg had trouble as the staff always put too much water in the pot. Staff at the desk were always very friendly but must say the staff at breakfast were not very friendly or helpful, which was only a minor annoyance as the hotel was so lovely.We stayed 4 nights and were sad to leave.
The hotel is situated in a very pretty town, easy to walk down into the town to some really nice restaurants and an amazing patisserie, Yum!
Laundrette also in the town which is also handy when travelling for long periods.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAlexanderCampbell, Directeur général at Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated the size and comfort of your room with its balcony overlooking the hotel gardens,as well as the local surroundings of Villeneuve lez Avignon.

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul Alexander Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel la Magnaneraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Magnaneraie

Address: 37 Rue Camp de Bataille, FR-30400 Villeneuve-les-Avignon, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Gard > Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel la Magnaneraie 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel la Magnaneraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Magnaneraie Hotel Villeneuve-Les-Avignon
Best Western Hotel Avignon
Best Western Avignon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel la Magnaneraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.