We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel la Magnaneraie

Save Saved
You added Hotel la Magnaneraie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel la Magnaneraie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 Rue Camp de Bataille, FR-30400 Villeneuve-les-Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
antwerpen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a delightful classy hotel situated nearby Avignon ( +- 20 minutes on bike).
Very neat large rooms with a terrace with a view on the garden with swimming pool. Excellent breakfast on the terrace and very friendly staff.

Firmly recommended!!

Frank Verdonck

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAlexanderCampbell, Directeur général at Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie, and that you appreciated your room with a view on the garden and the heated swimming pool.

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Avignon.

Paul Alexander Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    87
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
26
135
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks recently, and cannot speak more highly about the whole experience. The hotel is beautiful, the staff are helpful and friendly (the receptionists are brilliant and have excellent local knowledge), the room was very clean and comfortable and the food was fantastic. The breakfast choice is huge, and can be eaten outside on the terrace or inside if preferred. We had 2 evening meals at the hotel, which were both fabulous. The hotel is a 10 minute walk down to Villeneuve-les-Avignon, where there are several good eateries - La Salamandre and Aubergine are both highly recommended. Overall this hotel is one of the best I have ever stayed in, and I would not hesitate to return. All credit must go to Paul (the British manager) for heading up such a fantastic establishment and ensuring its smooth operation - we really didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens may be quieter than those overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Alexander C, Directeur général at Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
I am delighted that you had a "Magical" stay at La Magnaneraie, and that you appreciated the comfort of your room, the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff, the Cuisine of our Chef Laurent CROS, as well as Villeneuve lez Avignon and its surrounding areas.

On behalf of myself and of all the staff, I would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul Alexander CAMPBELL
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have mixed feelings about the hotel. We stayed in a suite and our room (no. 40) and terrace were very spacious and clean. We also appreciated the table, chairs, sunbeds and parasol on the terrace.The pool was a good size and the small garden pretty. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had 2 main reservations : 1) the decor was generally very bland creating a rather drab impression. A few splashes of colour in the soft furnishings and some finishing touches such as flowers in public areas and candles in the restaurant would have made us more inclined to linger in the hotel. Perhaps others would have too - the public areas were generally deserted and the restaurant very quiet in the 9 days we stayed. 2) food and bar service. We ate in the restaurant on one evening. The food was lovely but too rich for every day. We were asked to choose entree, main AND dessert at the beginning. The pool side snack bar operated only from 2-6 and the lunch menu in the restaurant appeared to be a three-course meal only. Perhaps there were other options but they weren't apparent from the information in our room. Neither was there information on the bar service - we arrived back one evening around 11:30 to find bar and lounge area in darkness and had no idea whether we could have ordered a nightcap. OK , we could have asked at Reception but it is off-putting to have to do that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Alexander C, Directeur général at Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated the comfort of your room, the gardens, the relaxed atmosphere by the swimming pool and the cuisine of our chef Laurent CROS.

I am sorry that you did not like the interior design of our hotel, but La Magnaneraie is a historical building much appreciated by our clients and to give it a more modern look would take away the charm and authenticity of the building, and the lack of atmosphere is probably due to the fact that during the summer the indoor restaurant and lounge area are only used in case of bad weather if not our clients spend their days outside on the terrace restaurant or by the swimming pool so even when the hotel is full it gives the interior an empty feeling.

On behalf of all the staff I would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul Alexander Campbell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Sodbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The whole experience from booking the hotel to check-out was first class. I never use booking agents as I prefer to contact hotels direct. The hotel was easy to contact, by phone and email, to make the booking. Staff were friendly and professional; that gave me a comfortable about the hotel long before arriving there.

On arrival at Avignon TGV no taxis were available so we took the navette to Avignon and walked to Avignon central station. Again no taxis. A quick phone call to the hotel resolved the problem. Excellent service.

Check-in was friendly and efficient. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean. It had a balcony overlooking the garden and the room door was close to the pool area. The much needed air-con worked perfectly, there was no noise from adjacent rooms and the housekeeping staff serviced the room to a high standard.

The gardens and pool were very well kept; finding a place to relax was very easy. There was a lounge to sit in, it had magazines and a chess set. We saw people playing chess in the gardens on one occasion!

We dined in the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The standard of service and quality of food were very good. Yes, you can walk into Villeneuve where there are plenty of places to eat for less money. We often did. However to compare the experiences is like comparing a Rolls Royce to a Mini. Breakfast and food at the pool bar were also very good. In fact, you were spoilt for choice at breakfast.

Reception provided any information we needed about the local area. Staff at the hotel, whatever area they worked in, were professional and friendly. The hotel felt very homely and the two weeks spent there will be fondly remembered.

We were genuinely sad to depart. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Alexander C, Directeur général at Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated the peace and quiet of our hotel and gardens, the Cuisine of our Chef Laurent CROS, and the friendliness and professionalism of the staff.

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul Alexander CAMPBELL
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This beautiful, small hotel has nice landscaping and large rooms. Very quiet. Great view of ancient fort on the hill. Nice dining room and good breakfast. Location within walking distance of many sites in town.

Room Tip: Enjoy walking the hotel grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Alexander C, Directeur général at Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated your room, the peace and quiet of the hotel gardens and the local surroundings

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul Alexander Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Nice Hotel in nice town, good breakfast which could be improved while keeping the breakfast area filled up with stuff and organized, nice rooms. Service was OK, not outstanding. The garden is beautiful with trees and flowers. Good hotel to visit Avignon and the area.

Room Tip: Rooms are nice and rooms in the main building are nicer than in the garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Alexander C, Directeur général at Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated the peace and quiet of our hotel and gardens, as well as the fact that the hotel is well situated for visiting Avignon and the surrounding areas.

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul Alexander CAMPBELL
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel is superb. It is tucked away in a residential area of Villeneuve - les - Avignon and so is a quiet location.In our case this was welcome, as we had spent the previous few days staying in Avignon in the midst of the hurly burly of the Avignon Festival (also immensely enjoyable). Although it is part of the Najeti group, this is very much an individual hotel. La Magnaneraie was originally built by a cardinal and the hotel has been sensitively developed to retain much of this historic character. Rooms vary but from what we saw are all of a very good standard with very comfortable beds, high quality bed linen and well equipped spacious bathrooms. The swimming pool is a new development since the cardinal's time, and is served by a separate bar and eating area.The pool itself is lovely with plenty of towels and comfortable loungers. The breakfast buffet is well worth the cost of €15 and dinner on the terrace, surrounded by the lovely gardens was delightful. We also had an excellent dinner in Villeneuve one evening - the hotel staff are happy to help with this, and the village is a short walk down the hill. Without exception the staff were polite, helpful, efficient and charming. We are looking forward to our return to this hotel which is well worth seeking out.

Room Tip: Rooms in the original building have great charm, whilst those near the pool are more modern and conv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Alexander C, Directeur général at Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated you room, the peace and quiet of our hotel, and the Cuisine of our Chef Laurent CROS in the relaxing atmosphere of our restaurant terrace in the gardens.

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul Alexander Campbell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel la Magnaneraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Magnaneraie

Address: 37 Rue Camp de Bataille, FR-30400 Villeneuve-les-Avignon, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Gard > Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel la Magnaneraie 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel la Magnaneraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Magnaneraie Hotel Villeneuve-Les-Avignon
Best Western Hotel Avignon
Best Western Avignon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel la Magnaneraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.