We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel la Magnaneraie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel la Magnaneraie to your Saves list
Hotel la Magnaneraie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 Rue Camp de Bataille, FR-30400 Villeneuve-les-Avignon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
perth,wa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We spent 4 nights at this wonderful old hotel whilst on our tour. Our room was a good size overlooking the lovely gardens. A nice touch was the free bottles of water left each day. The staff were helpful and the food in the restaurant is to die for! Absolutely delicious (great chef). The hotel is a short walk into the village which is a delightful place to explore. Well recommended.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Alexander C, Directeur général at Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated the peace and quiet of our hotel and gardens and the Cuisine of our Chef Laurent CROS.

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul CAMPBELL
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    91
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
26
141
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

we spent 6 nights at the ' Magnanerai ' in a suite ( lounge , large bedroom, King size bed, large bathroom and large private patio ) . we had booked a superior room , but were offered the suite on arrival, as the hotel had a large party staying and it was considered that we might like the more peaceful side of the hotel . But we heard no noise whatever from Guests or traffic. Large well kept grounds and a swimming pool, complemented this stylish hotel. Lots of parking on site or on road. I can't comment on the food as we chose to eat out ( even Breakfast ) , Although the menu looked expensive , as we found too many good local eateries to choose from in Villeneuve Les Avignon , only 12 minutes walk away downhill. The incline on the return is only slight, even on a full stomach !. We walked into town and back twice each day. One can walk into the Centre of Avignon City in 35 minutes ( 4.5 Kilometres ) across the Rhone, giving a great view, on the way , of the other bridge in the famous ballad. Overall a very enjoyable stay and very pleasant / helpful staff ( the site manager is from Yorkshire !). I would stay again but only if I could afford the same suite ( room 20 ) as I felt the other rooms may have been too small.

Room Tip: The suite ( Room 20 ) one of only 4 suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Alexander C, Directeur général at Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated your upgrade to room 20, as well as the hotel gardens with the outdoor heated swimming pool, and that you enjoyed your visits to Villeneuve and Avignon.

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul Campbell
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wartling, Eat Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a great hotel with lots of attention to detail and set in the most beautiful idyllic surroundings. The staff are helpful and friendly and even when their English struggles a bit they do the very best for you. It helps to be able to speak a bit of French purely to help them help you! The reception staff all speak perfect english, however.
The hotel has a luscious garden which our room overlooked and is in an upmarket residential environment - very quiet and select. All you can hear at night are the bullfrogs! There is air con but we don't like the noise so it was lovely to have the window open and to have the choice to have the air con off.Car parking is freely available either in the hotels car parks or on the street - no restrictions. Villeneuve in general is pretty with many ancient sites to see and easy to walk around, with lots of different restaurants to choose from. The hotel is non smoking which is essential for us. Sadly a couple of people still smoked around the pool but it is pretty difficult for the staff to do much about that.
Breakfasts are buffet style with plenty of choices and the restaurant was a high standard too.
All in all a very peaceful relaxing place to be and a great base to go off exploring the beautiful Provencal countryside.

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden was great. We had a deluxe room which was quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Alexander C, Directeur général at Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated the Luxe room overlooking the peace and quiet of our gardens, the relaxation around our outdoor heated swimming pool, as well as Villeneuve and its surroundings.

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Villeneuve lez Avignon.

Paul CAMPBELL
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at The Magnaneraie a few years ago when it was a Best Western and were satisfied, so we were happy to find this hotel again in our search. We like that it is in a quiet neighborhood, has parking, and is entirely non-smoking which was impossible to find in nearby, downtown Avignon. We were within walking distance to the quaint little downtown village of Villeneuve-les-Avignon where we could walk to the neighborhood restaurants for dinner as well as a few of the historic sites. We were in a great location to drive to the local wineries and other villages, and go into downtown Avignon. The staff was very helpful to us. The hotel is in a home that is hundreds of years old, so keep that in mind when you see creaks and cracks. Overall, they have kept the place in great condition but it could use some maintenance. For example, one night we had a torrential downpour and the window started leaking all over the floor. The staff was quick to react and helped us change rooms without question. Also, some of the shower tile in the bathroom had some yucky stuff in the grout, but not enough to gross me out, and I get grossed out quite easily.

The back-yard grounds of the hotel are beautiful and quiet, and we were able to enjoy a complimentary plate of dips and while drinking our own wine. The staff brought us glasses and didn't at all give us a hard time for wanting to enjoy our own wine that we purchased at the vineyards (we did buy glasses of wine from them later; we aren't that tacky!!) They do have a full service restaurant and stocked bar if you wish to eat and drink there.

We are modern, full-service four-star hotel type of people and shy away from B&Bs and Inns, This Inn had everything we needed, was large enough for us not to feel like we were staying in someone's house, and had all the amenities we needed for the peaceful, quiet leg of our trip. We will return to this hotel if we are back in the area.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Alexander C, Directeur général at Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your second stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated the peace and quiet of our hotel and gardens and your visit to Villeneuve lez Avignon with its historic sites.

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Avignon.

Paul CAMPBELL
Directeur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Our room was by the pool (in the new section of hotel)– had a porch overlooking gardens. Rooms in old part of hotel were beautiful, too. Dining room was excellent, too. We were there with a biking group and we all loved it. Great hotel!

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with rooms there. The ones in the old part of the hotel are char...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Alexander C, Directeur général at Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated your room and the peace and quiet of the hotel gardens.

On behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you again on your next bicycling tour to Avignon.

Paul Campbell
Directeur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonding, Austria
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I agree with most other guests, it is definetly charming but it will need a little restauration not too far into the future. we got offered an upgrade to a deluxe romm (nr.7) which was very! nice but not luxurious. We loved the stone wall and provence charm, good mattress and bedding, all clean, large bathroom with extra shower. w-lan works perfect and free. Super-size large terrace with view and lounges. Great garden, must be nice in summer! Had to carry my suitcase up to the first floor myself (....!), but later they brought us a ice-bucket and wine glasses up to the room without problem. very good towels. didn't eat at the restaurant but it looked very nice as did breakfast. Great thing: protected parking but only for about 6 cars - in summer you need to reserve a spot for sure. - one thing, it was way too hot in the room but changed the next day.

Room Tip: I loved room Nr. 7 with the view and terrace and would book it again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Alexander C, Directeur général at Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated the peace and quiet of the hotel and its surroundings.

As with all hotels the restoration is a permanent ongoing job to maintain the quality of our rooms while at the same time preserving the authenticity and charm of the historic building.

I am sorry you had to carry your own bags as there is a permanent baggage service at the reception, and for information the hotel has three car parks one for six cars in front of the hotel and two closed parkings for six and ten cars.

On behalf of all the staff I would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, the feedback from our clients is very important as it enables us to maintain and improve our services to meet with their expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Avignon.

Paul CAMPBELL
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Friends recommended this hotel for a few reasons and we were very glad we took their suggestion. It's right outside of Avignon and much less expensive than the hotels in the city. Also we were able to park our car at no charge right in front of the hotel within their locked parking lot. We used this as a base to travel through Provence and it was perfect. The town is charming and quiet, we could walk to some nice restaurants on the few evenings we were back in time for dinner. Our room on the 2nd floor had a very large patio which was relaxing after a day of traveling around. The room was large and comfortable with a beautiful bathroom. This was the best value during our stay in France. The Best Western chain in the U.S. isn't a really good one so I wasn't thrilled about making reservations here but our friends assured us that this isn't the case in Europe and that is spot on.The buffet breakfast was lovely, we ate at the hotel every morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul Alexander C, Directeur général at Hotel la Magnaneraie, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at La Magnaneraie and that you appreciated the charm and peace and quiet of Villeneuve lez Avignon, on behalf of all the staff i would like to thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write about our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Avignon.

Paul Campbell
Directeur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel la Magnaneraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Magnaneraie

Address: 37 Rue Camp de Bataille, FR-30400 Villeneuve-les-Avignon, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Gard > Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Villeneuve-les-Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel la Magnaneraie 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel la Magnaneraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western La Magnaneraie Hotel Villeneuve-Les-Avignon
Best Western Hotel Avignon
Best Western Avignon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel la Magnaneraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.