We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“laughable room and breakfast. location and free parking the only positives!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Pont Roupt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Pont Roupt to your Saves list
Hotel du Pont Roupt
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Avenue du 11 Novembre, 48000 Mende, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mende
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“laughable room and breakfast. location and free parking the only positives!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

desperate to stay somewhere nicer at this point of our trip, the tourist office said there were only three stars hotels in town- nothing better - so tried here.

I don't know how anyone other than the budget conscious traveller stays here.

staff were nice and location good. free parking on-site.

but... rooms were smaller than a dorm / student room with worse furniture. the toilet Smell was there from the start to the end, permeating the whole room. did I say the room was small??


trying to keep our spirits high, we failed by breakfasttime. it still makes me angry thinking about how cheap they were for a breakfast we paid EUR12 each for. the bread was stale, the fruit was old and inedible, the variety of food was poor (mostly aimed at the french only I think), coffee was bad and even the cereal was a knock-off brand (checked at the supermarket and it was only 30 cents extra for the branded cereal).


travelling for a while, and on our honeymoon, you just want something edible to start your day especiall after roughing it for the night!

ps tourist officealso said no hotels face a/c as its not needed. it was october and was still needed so maybe hunt a bit harder for a better hotel with air conditioning ...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    17
    10
    6
See reviews for
8
31
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We used the hotel as a base for travelling around the region for three days. I was a bit concerned when we arrived they did not have our internet booking, however they very quickly organised rooms for our group, and although the hotel is a bit tired, it had everything we needed. The Hotel offers two different areas and menus for dinner. We decided to try the more expensive memniu restaurant, and it was worth every euro. Staff we friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This was quite a pleasing provincial French Hotel . As others have said the room are a little worn at the edges but I would regard this as quite a positive part of it's character . I don't really want to go in an endless string of perfect and equally bland rooms in unmemorable hotels .The rooms and bathrooms were clean and comfortable . Staff were pleasant . All of us enjoyed the evening meal . I seem to remember the breakfast room being a little chaotic because all the guests descended on it at the same time but everybody got their food .
I had a room with a view over the river towards the town , so again there was some character and a sense of place .

Room Tip: Rooms with a view over the town were rather nice .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Stayed here for one night on our way to southern Spain. The room was clean but in need of modernisation and not big for a family of four. The children had to sleep on a sofa bed which we had to make up ourselves and the room itself was poor for 120.00 euros for one night (without breakfast) felt like I was ripped off, very disappointed the photos shown are very clever the room we were in looked very different and so did the pool and outside area which is effectively an extension of a tiny car park with room for about 6 cars. Plus points the bed was comfortable and the towels/bathroom were clean. We didn't eat in the restuarant at all as we felt it was too expensive and Mende itself is a little odd, very few places speak any English, restuarants do not open until 7.00pm (not great with small children) it was so bad our main evening meal was in a nearby McDonald's and myself and my children hate McDonalds!

Staff were friendly but literally hand you your room key and nothing else, no information on mealtimes, use of the pool etc. This place is fine if you literally are exhausted and want to go straight to sleep but it is definately a rip off for 120 euros for one night when the room was tiny and in need of redecoration. You get what you pay for - well not in this case!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manitoba
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

we stayed 1 night, rooms very clean, quiet . Had supper in the restaurant, good and well presented . very good service .

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

3 days. staff was pleasant and things were clean but the room was definitely too small for one guy. Imagine for a couple! Bar across the street and pizza trailer up the street were nice ;)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

We'd stayed at Hotel du Pont Roupt 2 years ago and planned our journey to the South of France this year with another stop over in this delightful hotel. The staff are all courteous and helpful and the facilities wonderful too (the pool was great for the kids after a hot days travelling!). We had a large family room on the top floor, with a large bathroom, and attention to detail to enable a restful stay was spot on, including the bathrobes in the room. The choice of breakfast was great too. We only stayed for one night, but would like to one day return for longer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Pont Roupt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Pont Roupt

Address: 2 Avenue du 11 Novembre, 48000 Mende, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Lozere > Mende
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mende
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Pont Roupt 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Pont Roupt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Pont Roupt Mende

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Pont Roupt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.