We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Castlemead Restaurant with rooms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Castlemead Restaurant with rooms to your Saves list
Castlemead Restaurant with rooms
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Manorbier, Manorbier SA70 7TA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Manorbier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A disappointment.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here on two occasions. In 2012 the decor came as a bit of a shock - we considered moving on - old-fashioned damp wall-paper, grubby carpets, smell of stale food in the entrance hall. But the beautiful food and the views from the restaurant to the sea made up for it all. In 2013 same decor but the food very mediocre indeed - has to be a different chef. We don't expect haute cuisine, just well-prepared food. I'm afraid the waiting staff need a little bit of training. Our second course at breakfast was plonked on the table before we had finished the first. Where did the 4 stars come from?

Room Tip: Don't go in the annexe unless you have a dog. Try to get a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    31
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
48
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife and myself stayed here for two nights over new years eve
The room was very comfortable and the team at the hotel were very helpful and friendly we did not dine here in the evenings but the breakfasts were excellent and very filling
The hotel is situated in a fantastic position and the views from the dining room are superb
At night the log fires in the lounge were very nice despite the bad weather which was battering the coast
Thanks to all the staff at the Castlemead for a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We did not stay at hotel but at the owners cottage just up the road, this was our 2nd visit this year. The cottage was fab and we enjoyed our 2 week hol. We ate at the hotel twice during our stay the first on a Fri night. There was only another 2 guests in restaurant along with the 3 of us and we had a table in window. I cant agree with some comments about decor in bar and restaurant we love the quirkness of it and didnt think it looked like something out of 70's. The lady who served us was superb even getting some colouring pens and book for our 7 yr old son. The roasted veg soup was the best we have ever tasted and our main courses of lamb and turkey were mouthwatering. My son was not keen on kids menu as he prefers to eat lamb, steak etc instead of nuggets and pizza however on our second visit he ate from main menu and loved the lamb fillet. The second visit was a Wed 30 Oct for my husbands birthday, the restaurant was busier with residents 3 tables occupied. We were put on a table right at back near bar even though there was room near the window, but we prob would have been moved if we had asked. Again the food was superb although the service not quite as good as the previous Fri as the waitress on that night was first class. We shall be returning next year as we love the village, the cottage, the hotel and the people. Thank You. Ruth, Kev, Reuben and Dubby the dog.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We arrived on Friday to be greeted by very pleasant staff enquiring regards our trip and who then showed to our room, the décor was tired and dated but I wont make a bad review based on my preference of wallpaper lol wonderful views of the bay, shame the patio doors couldn't open onto a balcony of some form and were basically there for show only, bar area was very ermmm unusual, not to comfortable for a few hours drinking as seating not great so one drink only and then off for meal into restaurant, staff very attentive and food was superb as others have reflected in their reviews. Never really had chance to explore Manorbier itself as only there for a few days and went to Pendine (about 15miles), Laugharne and Tenby (about 5miles). Enjoyable as it was I think I would prefer a hotel in a town so at least if weather was against you as it was Saturday night you could always find a pub to go to etc with some atmosphere whereas here you are out in the sticks needing a car really to go somewhere, the weather would of made this much better as could taken more advantage of the castle, tea shop and the bay and its walks but overall the hotel did exactly what it said it would.

Room Tip: sea view is preferable and well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I did not stay at the hotel but ate in the restaurant with friends so my review is based on this experience only. It was like stepping back in time to the early 70's in respect of the decor, menu, service and table setting which was quite bizarre . The staff were very friendly and attentive but the food, sadly, was only average. the most amazing thing about this restaurant is the view. This potentially could be a fabulous restaurant if it could just step out of its time warp and take advantage of the gardens with the view.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I planned a 4 day break at The Castlemead as it seemed ideally located near a dog friendly beach and the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path, and indeed it was. The break could hardly have gone better (admittedly helped by the weather!) and it was all we expected. It was an added bonus to have some of the best scrambled eggs I've had anywhere for breakfast!

Room Tip: Dog friendly rooms in the old stable block provide a convenient location without disturbing other vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The food and reasturant were very good,the rooms were in dire need of decoration, some furniture needs replacing, baths need replacing (we tried two rooms) one of the baths was chipped , one toilet seat was broken,plug to bath broken , cistern handle broken, tap names missing(cold) table with tea/coffee was filthy, curtains were so thin they didn't stop the light getting through, drawers between bed were full of dirt, over all the place was dire, we checked out early just could not stay in a place so bad..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castlemead Restaurant with rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlemead Restaurant with rooms

Address: Manorbier, Manorbier SA70 7TA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Manorbier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Manorbier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castlemead Restaurant with rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castlemead is beautifully situated at the head of a small wooded valley, overlooking the sea, Norman church & castle.Set in half an acre of pleasant, mature grounds and lawns it offers a gloriously relaxing spot, in the heart of the village, yet only 500 yards from the beach. A small comfortable unpretentious 4 star restaurant with rooms, we have an excellent reputation for good food. out door dining in the summer months, and warm cosy meals by the fire come winter.We have nine bedrooms all en suite with beverage facilities/colour T.V. The restaurant, lounge bar all enjoy glorious views, giving direct access to the garden. Three of our rooms are situated in the Coach house set 20 yards from the main building across the car park, ideal for guests who have problems with stairs or wish to bring there dogs with them. Family rooms are available, central heating is throughout, with open fires to warm you when necessary. Castlemead offers an idyllic spot for walkers as the coastal path crosses the car park at the bottom of our garden, bird watchers and nature lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Castlemead Restaurant with rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlemead Restaurant With Rooms Manorbier, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castlemead Restaurant with rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.