We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poppys Chambres d'Hotes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ceret
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poppys Chambres d'Hotes
Save
You added Poppys Chambres d'Hotes to your Saves list
7 Place Pablo Picasso, 66400 Ceret, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Ceret B&B and Inns
Halstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A little gem in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Poppies for 5 nights and were lucky enough to stay in the apartment which was lovely. It had 2 double bedrooms , shower room and a living, kitchen and dining area which was well equipped and very cosy. The window overlooked the square where you could watch the world go by and the setting up of the fantastic Saturday market. The restaurants and many cafés and shops are a stones throw away and the town of Ceret has lots to offer for shopping eating and the very popular Modern art museum.
The owners Paul and Catherine were very helpful with lots of invaluable advice and suggestions. T he breakfast was fantastic with lots of choice and they would happily cook you some eggs if requested. Unusual for a chambres d'hôtel in France we have found. !!! All in all I would thoroughly recommend this little gem in a beautiful town.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Poppy's apartment which is in the building next to the B&B. It has two bedrooms and a large living cooking area. The bathroom is spacious with a lovely shower. This is a very comfortable place to stay but the location is absolutely fabulous. It is central to everything and you can really get a feel for Ceret just by waking up every morning in this fabulous place. Fresh bread every morning? No problem just walk around the corner in any direction and you can have as much bread as you like. Fancy a nice lunch al fresco? No problem just head across the way and take your pick. Maybe a wee bit of people watching ? No problem just take a seat outside Poppy's order a coffee and the world is you oyster. The kids loved the freedom of this place and we felt it was a very safe place to stay and allow them the freedom of going for a bun and a hot chocolate if they wanted. Poppy's would be very hard to beat on any level of holiday wishes and Ceret is on their doorstep. Fab

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanark
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent three nights here having read all the positive TA reviews, and are pleased to concur with them all! The location was perfect, right in the centre of the town so that on Saturday market day we were right in the heart of things. Ceret's market is to be recommended for sure. Poppy's is run by a very obliging English couple who make it their goal to ensure all guests have a good stay. The continental breakfast was lovely although we were not offered a cooked breakfast option. The outdoor kitchen on the terrace is an added bonus and we made good use of the fridge facility there! The very comfortable lounge with British satellite channels was welcome too, and I was able to watch the first episode of Strictly........ sad, I know! We did the walk through the Gorge de la Fou, about 10 miles away, and it was amazing. Also recommended is the lake about 10 miles towards Le Boulou, - a lovely place to relax.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were booked in to Poppys for one night due to a double booking problem elsewhere. But we were delighted with the kindness and hospitality with which we were met. Our room was right next to the market place, but we slept soundly without being disturbed. The room was comfortable and clean, and the breakfast was delicious. The hosts were very generous with use of the lounge and other facilities, like the fridge on the terrace, and also with any advice or information we needed. Poppys couldn't be more convenient, right in the centre and at the heart of Ceret. So it was possible to be out and about in Ceret and use our room for pit-stops. Our hosts were very kind and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Poppy's lived up to its reputation. We received a warm welcome from Catherine, Paul, and mum Janice that made us feel completely at home. We had a small concern that our first floor room might be a bit noisy. That concern was unwarranted as Ceret is quiet and the windows muffle sound. The location is as central to old town Ceret as any location could be. The terrace is a beautiful location for cooking one's own meals, though we only used it to store things in the fridge there. The breakfast was ample and varied. Paul also was flexible about our need to make an early start. The thing that impressed us the most was that an older couple arrived at the same time on their honeymoon. Poppy's surprised them with a bottle of champagne, chocolates and roses in their room. I have to say, they really know how to do everything right. For sure, we'll be returning to Poppy's the next time we can get to Ceret.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinlochard, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just had 5 nights based in Ceret and stayed at Poppy's for the first time.This was our sixth visit to this area of France and we would certainly recommend Poppy's for service,friendliness and cleanliness.Breakfasts,whether cooked or continental, were very good and the hosts are a mine of local information. We would have no hesitation in recommending Poppy's and would hope to return there on a future trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Poppys is well positioned in the centre of Ceret. It was great on Saturday morning to walk out and straight into the superb market! Our room was very comfortable and clean with a spacious en suite bathroom. The huge English breakfasts were delicious and as we were there at Easter the children found some chocolate eggs on their pillows when we checked in. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poppys Chambres d'Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppys Chambres d'Hotes

Address: 7 Place Pablo Picasso, 66400 Ceret, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Pyrenees-Orientales > Ceret
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ceret
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bed and breakfast and ajoining self catering apartment are located within the owners grand town houses which overlook the beautiful village square and arched ramparts of Ceret old town (the centre of all the towns festivities). The property itself is within 1 to 2 minutes walk of all amenities, including shops, bars, night club, restaurants, cafes, supermarkets, banks, doctors, dentists, outdoor municiple swimming pool etc etc. In the summer we offer a lovely terrace kitchen, complete with cooker, barbecue, fridge etc which is completely at our guests disposal. We offer free WiFi access and use of all lounge facilities are included in the price. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poppys Chambres d'Hotes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.