We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Capao

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Capao to your Saves list
Hotel Capao
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 rue des Corsaires | Plage Richelieu Centre, 34300 Cap-d'Agde, Agde, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Cap-d'Agde
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beach Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Hotel Capao is the place to stay if you want to just walk out from your porch, and walk about two minutes to the sand dunes and the sandy beach. It is a great location. There is even a restaurant on the beach, along with other similar restaurant nearby. The hotel is very modern and in excellent condition. Everything was clean and well maintained. There are several restaurants across the street. There is a laundry and several shops for beach needs and hair styling. This is a destination hotel. The beach is great for kids with no waves and shallow water. There are occasional topless women but that is expected in this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    48
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Hotel is located just next to the beach in Cap D'Agde. Rooms are clean and spacious with terrasses and fridge (no kitchen facilities). Beach is wonderful (sand). Rooms have some parts which need a bit of renovation (abthroom tiles) but all is clean and working. I would recommand this hotel.

Room Tip: Take something with seaview ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel was clean and recently refurbished. We stayed in a family room that had a double bed downstairs and 2 single beds on a mezzanie floor, perfect for a couple with 2 small children. The room is equipped with a fridge and satellite TV. Clean and comfortable.

The toilet which is separate from the bathroom is interesting to say the least. If you are a size 6 or 8 you wont have a problem but otherwise it has to be one of the smallest toilets we've ever seen! The hotel says it has its own private beach and there is an area on the beach next to the hotel bar with sunloungers. You have to pay extra for the use of them and as a guest of the hotel with a tab already running at the bar and restuarant you shouldnt have to. But it was truly the man who runs this area of the hotel who spoilt our time there. He is the rudest unfriendliest jobsworth in the world. Whoever you are you are seriously in the wrong job and management should move you away from the public! I have lived in France for the past 10 years and you sadly are the reason the rest of the world think the French are arrogant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Capao for two nights in August 2012. Upon arrival, the staff were very welcoming and were more than happy to help break into my suitcase as I had locked the keys inside. (who does that!)

We were given a card with our room number and told to bring it to reception at any time for fresh towels.

The room was spacious and clean with twin beds (common problem for unmarried couple), a balcony facing the car park and shops and decent bathroom. We could have asked to change rooms but it wasn't really that important to us at the time.

There are several nice seating areas where you can have a relaxing drink and a snack.

Breakfast was great and included a huge selection of breads, fresh fruits, cooked meats and cheeses, cereals, cakes, croissant, boiled eggs, and as much juice/tea/coffee as you like. You may also ask for a cooked breakfast too if you prefer.

The hotel has a swimming pool and a lovely restaurant where we had an enormous lunch. It was a bit pricey but incredibly delicious. Internet access is available in the foyer

The beach area is enormous, I mean, if you want sand and a large area for your children to play, you got it! This is a great place for families.

The receptionist called us a taxi on checking out. They were all really lovely and very patient with our poor French.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We began our 3 week trip with this hotel and really it would be a 3 1/2 stars for me. It was quite clean and the bed comfortable, had a mini fridge and a close walk to the beach. My only regret is not going to the front desk and asking for a room on the other side overlooking the pool area. We had a deck but it overlooked a parking lot of the business next door and also the street. We saw very few guests during our stay and many of the rooms on the pool side looked closed up. The front desk staff was very helpful and welcoming. Parking for the car was in the public lot right next door and very safe. The pool area was nice as was the bar that overlooked it but no deck chairs around the pool. All in all, not a bad stay and very quiet for early September.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights recently and was very pleased. Our room was large and spacious with a balcony over looking the pool and sea. The balcony was wide enough to accommodate table and 2 chairs so that you could sit outside and enjoy the view. The beach was a short walk away on the other side of the carpark. You could park here for free. As it was low season, there was virtually no one around and there were very few people on the beach. The local shops were mostly closed and the hotel restaurant only opened for a couple of days and luckily were were there on the days they were opened.
The staff of the hotel are very friendly and helpful where possible.
This is a great place to relax

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

we stayed there for 4 nights in June. the room was very nice with 2 more beds in an upper space for the kids. free towels evryday for the pool. we went without breakfast but near we found a bakery , restaurants and minimarkets. very nice hot pool outside . the beach is fantastic and 2 min walk, clear water and with sand. and the city center was 4 min by car. nice beach club with restaurant

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Capao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capao

Address: 1 rue des Corsaires | Plage Richelieu Centre, 34300 Cap-d'Agde, Agde, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Agde > Cap-d'Agde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cap-d'Agde
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cap-d'Agde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Capao 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Capao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capao France/Herault

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Capao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.