We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do campers matter” 1 of 5 stars
Review of CHM Rene Oltra

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cap-d'Agde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
CHM Rene Oltra
Save Saved
You added CHM Rene Oltra to your Saves list
1, rue des Nereides, 34307 Cap-d'Agde, Agde, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“do campers matter”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

back again as this is the only campsite on the naturist village.
Things are going from bad to worse we arrived to find we were in the middle of a building site the new pearl cabins were being finished for the first guests. They have had all winter to do this why did we have to endure concrete mixers and all the other building and landscaping work. and we didn't know this would be going on. We had pitched on the saturday only to find on the monday morning we awoke to large vehicles driving by our pitch.
We will come back as our friends will be there in the village but will not stay as long as there are still dirty toilets unemptied rubbish bins wish there was another campsite so we didn't have to endure such poor conditions

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    10
    7
    13
See reviews for
2
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My second time this camping
Last time we were two couples in a large room.
This year I made a reservation for room call: Chalet Olympe 2 pers
The room itself with bathroom and shower [no door, only a curtain] but the bed is located on the second floor and rise to a very steep ladder.
We, at 52-56 age, it was very difficult to get up.
The bed was very uncomfortable with the socket in the middle.

Room Tip: only if you are Young or athletic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We have visited CHM Rene Oltra at Cap d’Agde three times now with our touring caravan. We have always really enjoyed staying there. The pitches are large and level. The staff are mostly very efficient and polite and speak many languages. There are many ground staff that use golfing buggies to get around, the grounds are well kept, with well watered nice trees and flowers. The many toilet blocks are modern and we found no issues with shower temperature. The toilets when cleaned are fine, and they only issue with cleanliness is some campers not being so clean themselves, and not leaving the toilets as they found them (ie they don’t even flush the toilet), the staff try hard to keep ahead of these issues, and if you don’t fine any of the many toilets in the nearest block clean enough, you can always find another block a short walk away. The beach area is flanked by two restaurants, which are excellent, not that expensive and a daily changing menu, it is also lovely to sit on a towel in the restaurants without clothes. There is also a café in the middle of the site, selling snacks, coffee, tea, beer, freshly baked bread and crossants. Security is good, getting into the site is via only three entrances, the main road route is manned 24/7, and you won’t get in without your wrist band or reservation. The other two entrances are from the beach and mostly have security staff present. The campers looks out for each other and we felt totally safe in the area. There are a few other shops on site, and entertainment for children and adults. I would recommend you take some anti mosquito spray and bite cream, as they can be a bit of a pain. It is a large campsite, be prepared to have a fair walk to get anywhere, bikes, that can be hired locally are useful. Would we go back again, absolutely tomorrow, we love it there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

the campsite has not improved for campers, the toilets are often unusable they can be very dirty and are not cleaned often enough, for the amount of use they get, don't know what we would do if we hadn't our own in the van. the showers cold or scalding, they are wasting a lot of water hot and cold while you try to regulate the temperature or run into the next one along to rinse off. some of the shower blocks are better than others you need to look around .some of the pitches can be quite uneven and some are prone to flooding when it rains heavily
if you stay in a chalet you would not have to worry about the facilities, but many people prefer there own home on wheels or under canvas and so endure the awful facilities to enjoy the good bits it is wonderful to just be able to walk from the site onto the beach without having to get dressed, there is no swimming pool, so not too many kids, so holidays can be quite peaceful on the site,but if you want to see life you can go into the town it is lively and bustling full of many different nationalities and lifestyles. then back to the site for peace and tranquillity.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I do read good reviews on Cap D'Adge, especially those who are here for an alternative holiday. You can basically fulfill most things here, however, many people are blinded by their excitement and especially new people to the area, who have never seen anything like it.
Whereas alternative lifestyle is acceptable here with most of the area dedicated to swingers and nudism the actual Rene Oltra camp site is very poor, with poor facilities and bad attitude from the staff.
The showers are over used and often cold, some have no lighting and others, despite being cleaned often remain dirty and smelly. Late at night they can be frequented by drunken campers and often are very poor and unclean.
The staff at reception are ok but not much more than that. The security staff are appalling. They are unhelpful, rude and arrogant. Often parts of the camp site are unmanned, so anyone can get on the camp site.
Overall, the experience is poor, the area is fun but very very dirty and dated. I am amazed at how many people speak well of the area, when clearly it would be shut down in the UK. Health and Safety does not exist here, with roads poorly repaired and buildings shabby and dated.
We will come back because we enjoy the lifestyle but we will not expect anything more than an expensive, poor camp site with poor facilities.

Room Tip: Book early in the year and try and get better spaces
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to CHM Rene Oltra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CHM Rene Oltra

Address: 1, rue des Nereides, 34307 Cap-d'Agde, Agde, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Agde > Cap-d'Agde
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Cap-d'Agde
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Chm Rene Oltra Hotel Cap-d`Agde
CHM Rene Oltra France/Herault

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CHM Rene Oltra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.