We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern French experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison de Petit Pierre

La Maison de Petit Pierre
22 avenue Pierre Verdier, 34500 Beziers, France
+33 (0)467309185
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 176 Restaurants in Beziers
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dublin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Modern French experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Went there with family while staying in the South of France. The food was delicious in the main and the service excellent. Portions were on the small side- and not cheap. The wine as one would expect was superb. The food is presented in a creative way using local seasonal produce. The waitress could even speak English and helped us understand what we were eating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    100
    35
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Galway City
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Get someone to drive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were staying in the wonderful Le Presbytere in Thezan les Beziers. The was nowhere available to eat in that small village so we drove into Beziers. La Maison is good, in fact it's very good. My French is atrocious and I definitely lost out in understanding what was on the menu despite the efforts of some of the friendly staff. The menu is pricey and the portions are smallish but the taste and flavours were really good. I had a main course dish of braised and flambed lamb with the lamb flambed at the table. A tip would be to ask for extra sauce before your dish arrives as the portion was quite small. Desserts and especially cheese plates were good. Most of the diners seemed to be ordering the surprise menu and either €38 or €65....as I said, it's a little pricey. Everyone seemed dressed for the occasion and they have a great wine list. Unfortunately I was the designated driver on the night. Next time I'll persuade someone else to drive and I'll make a dent in the credit card by ordering a special wine from their list. Overall it was a very enjoyable night. A side order of dauphinois potatoes would have bulked the meal up and moved it up to 5 stars for me.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beziers, France
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Let down by poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

A restaurant with a nice ambiance. Lunch at 23€ was good but not excellent with portions on the small side. However the service badly let down the whole experience. It lacked organisation and attention to customers needs. I spent most of my time looking for service so that my guests could enjoy their lunch, which sadly meant they lacked my company during the meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have been three times now and I love it. I cannot wait until summer to sit in the terrace and to profit the friendly spirit of this restaurant.

The food is breathtaking and I love the creative of the Chef Pierre Augé, It's the most creative food ever with local seasonal product. Another think I liked was their flexibility to prepare some dishes with or without some ingredient, customizing the results per each of us.

It wine's range is just awesome, if you want to match a meat with a perfect red wine, i highly recommend "Château de la Négly, La Falaise.

The check will always under your expectation given the exceptional quality of the food. (lunch around 25€ per person and 35€ at diner for a complete meal with one glass of wine).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A small disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

There is a nice and relaxed atmosphere in this restautant and the staff is very friendly.Unfortunately the food was a litte disappointing . The starter was a crab salad served in a block of ice where the waiters wore big skin hats .It was a fun gimmick but unfortunately the sald did not have much taste .A beef came afterwards but he meat could have been more tender .The accompagnemnt was a bit unimaginative .Dessert was quite nice but all said and done the restaurant was a small disapointment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Maison de Petit Pierre also viewed

 

Been to La Maison de Petit Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison de Petit Pierre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.