We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non existent service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Village d'Oc

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Village d'Oc to your Saves list
Residence Village d'Oc
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Golf de Saint Thomas Route de Bessan D28, 34500 Beziers, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Non existent service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Booked via Expedia as a one-night stopover on the way to spain. After 12 hours of driving managed to find the location (not easy) only to be greeted by a closed gate and a sign on the door notifying us that reception is only open between 16:30 and 19:00 (we arrived at 20:00).
How did we not know about this?!!! Surely we must have missed the information from our booking confirmation. Checked and double checked and there is not a word about latest check in times! I guess it was not deemed important enough!!!

Not to worry though, I said to my partner, surely there is an emergency out of hours number that we could call. Sure enough a helpful resident noted exactly that from the wall outside reception and brought it to us (we are still waiting outside the gate). I'm sure you have guessed it already… no answer on the emergency number! After several tries and 2 voice mails, we gave up and went to the local Ibis for the night.

As we settled into Ibis, we got a helpful text back from the emergency number at around 22:00 advising us that in the future we should call ahead if we need to check in after 19:00 :). Great!

The residence looks nice and peaceful and it's likely that we would have enjoyed our stay but our experience could only be described as "terrible".

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Had communications with Myraim the receptionist (but also so much more) before we arrived as we were arriving outside the reception opening times. Wasn't a problem as she gave clear instruction how to get in to the secure village, where our villa was and where our keys were (in a digital safe outside reception).
The place was aesthetically pleasing, very clean and tidy. Everyone who stayed there were very friendly (multi national).
We had the whole pool to ourselves most of the week, it was so relaxing and tranquil.
Myriam was so helpful and friendly. She really can't do enough for you and is a foundation of knowledge on where to go and things to do.
Down side - next time (this was our first time here) we will hire a car as it's a good 20 min away from Beziers and taxis aren't cheap / as frequent as they are in the uk. Average price from city centre to the village was €35 and if you are getting picked up they charge you a pick up charge. And we didn't have an oven (but all villas are different), so be carefully on what you buy at the 'supermachê' but again Myriam asked if we'd like to borrow a plug in one.
There is a club house (as the actual village is located right next to a very nice golf course) a 10 minute walk away and the food there is amazing.
The TV is obviously all French channels but we did have a USB port if you wanted to watch any films etc.
Overall / Summary - fantastic little place, bit remote but the most relaxing holiday I have ever had. Would recommend it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhineland-Palatinate
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The place is hard to find! However, if you want to get away from it all, I would give this place in the boondocks two thumbs up. The apartment we rented was clean, the furniture and the appliances a bit scruffy but still acceptable. The reason why I would still recommend it is that at night it was very, very, very quiet. Early in the morning,if you can get up early enough, this place is pure serenity, truly idyllic. Idyllic!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Couple weeks ago i enjoyed a stay at this park with my family. I think i can say it's a really great and quiet place to stay at. A place where people really can enjoy a peaceful vacation. Something one another really needs from time to time. The park itself looks really picturesque and is surround by some great views. Lots of green and a really nice golf course just outside the park.
It's true when people say you have to drive a couple of miles to get to the nearest town and that there are no restaurant or grocery stores nearby. But why would that matter? People, it's a vacation! You should have no worries once so ever. I think it's great to get back to the park after a nice and long day of beaching, sight-seeing and culture-sniffing and you can just enjoy the quietness. The apartment itself was really nice. I nice little place to stay at. It actually got everything you need, besides an oven. But i got all the necessary equipment, so no complains. It got some nice rooms, nice views and it's great to just sit outside and enjoy the sun, quietness and views. Last but not least, what a wonderful service. The park manager, Myriam, and her partner Johan are really great people and are really caring towards all the people. Once you're there you'll understand. It's almost like they see you as family. They are really friendly and wonderful. I would definitely visit again!

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the gold course, it's quiet and it get's the most sunhours during t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Good accommodation in remote location near a Golf Club, furnished to a reasonable standard in a private two-bedroom apartment with balcony.

Well equipped kitchen although there is no oven (other than microwave), and good but basic furnishings.

Small outdoor pool is available, and there is a small fitness centre (no running machine).

Quiet location - unless the quarry is working nights (work is associated with major local roadworks).

Location is remote so the nearest shops are 4.5 miles away (Bessan) - although there is an opportunity to order bread most days (not Wednesday).

Fitness Centre only opens when concierge is on site - which is about 21/2 hours each morning and evening - but not at all on Wednesday.

Be very aware of arrival times given on booking. If you arrive outwith these there will be no concierge and no keys! I am I sure whether other arrangements are possible but arriving after 6:30pm might pose problems.

Our apartment had no aircon and temperatures were in the high nineties so we suffered at nights trying to sleep - particularly when we couldn't open windows because of quarry noise.

Play facilities (other than the pool) are limited so families with children should be aware.

Travel time to beach was not excessive but it is a good 25 minute drive.

We would stay again but this site would not suit everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you're looking for a rural retreat with a swimming pool, this is perfect. If you're idea of a perfect location includes a bar or restaurant or other facilites, then look elsewhere. The Village d'Oc is miles from the nearest village, which means that if you need to buy anything or want to go out for a meal or drink, then you have to drive - the development is roughly halfway between Beziers and Bessan (both c. 10 mins away). Pezenas, a little longer drive, has picturesque streets and a choice of restaurants.

However, the two-bedroom apartment we had was really nice - cool, clean and spacious (no air-conditioning, but a ceiling fan helped move air around), with an outside balcony where we could sit and eat. The kitchen was well equipped and more than adequate for our needs for a week (and we shopped at supermarkets on the edges of the nearby towns - there's a Lidl at St Thibery, Intermarche at Bessan, a Casino on the eastern edge of Beziers, etc).

Swimming pool area is nice, though a bit lacking in shelter in the middle of the day (no umbrellas). Wifi worked in the reception area, but was sometimes slow to non-existent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Village D’Oc Beziers is a small private gated residential estate overlooking a golf course. It is situated about 15 minutes’ drive from Beziers. It is out in the countryside and there are no restaurants, bars or shops nearby. You obviously need to have a car if you are staying here. It is a peaceful, tranquil, relaxing and safe environment with great views of the golf course and countryside. It’s a place where you can really chill out and unwind. Probably not suitable for older children as they could be bored.

Would recommend Portiragnes beach which is about 15 mins drive away. Its a beautiful deserted sandy beach.

It can be a little hard to find the fVillage D'Oc the first time you travel to it. Follow the signs for ‘Golf de Beziers’ on the directions provided and coming from Beziers. After driving for about 10 mins you need to keep your eyes peeled for an almost hidden left turn which comes directly after a bend. There is a sign but one that is not easily seen. This turn comes just before the D28 Route de Bessan passes under the A9. You will turn into a narrow winding laneway which you follow until you see the signs for Village D'Oc on the right.

The apartment is spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Free Wi Fi available at reception. The only downside was there were no English channels on the TV. Small but perfectly adequate pool and sun area. The staff here are wonderful, welcoming, friendly and helpful always.

If you are happy relaxing in a rural, quiet environment then Residence Village D’Oc is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Village d'Oc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Village d'Oc

Address: Golf de Saint Thomas Route de Bessan D28, 34500 Beziers, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Beziers
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Beziers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Village d'Oc 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence Village d'Oc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Village d'Oc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.