We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing and freindly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Cottage to your Saves list
Hotel Le Cottage
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Rue Arthur Rimbaud | 21 Rue Arthur Rimbaud, 66 700 Argeles-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Argeles-sur-Mer
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very relaxing and freindly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

A hotel doesn't have to be perfect to be excellent. This hotel has a few imperfections, but it is excellent and those imperfections shouldn't prevent one staying here. The pool is smaller than one expects from the website, but still lovely. The perimeter barrier around it - mandated by law in France - should be widened to take in the whole garden behind the pool. And the silly mini golf facility - which no one uses - should be replaced with more garden. But these issues aside, our stay in Le Cottage - two weeks in all - was great. And cost effective. THe hotel doesn't have a restaurant but we were allowed use teh mini bar fridge to stock up on food. We dined on roasted chickens at 7 euro each from the local fast food bar, salad and cheap but drinkable wine from the Lidl bottles of wine from the Lidl shop across the road. The view from our balcony (number 32) was lovely - the pool & gardens and mountains in the background. The beach is a pleasant 10 minute walk away with a 1 km strip of restaurants, shops and bars - a bit touristy but not excessively so. Some people have objected to children playing around the pool in the hotel. We thought they added colour and life to the pool and on the odd occassion when one got a little too loud, a quiet word with reception led to the matter being resolved with French diplomacy and courtesy and no one losing face. 3 minutes walk from the hotel in the opposite direction from the beach is a nice village with a market and more restaurants. Tourist attractions like Coullioure, Elna and Perpignan are all within quick train distance (or couple of hours healthy cycle through lovely countryside - bikes can be rented on the beach). The beach strip is touristy but not tacky, with nice markets. The mood is pleasant and easy going and not raucous and some of the bars have free music. The beach itself is great - a long lovely stretch of golden sand with a nice scenic backdrop of the Pyrenees. The staff at the hotel couldn't have been more helpful and the breakfasts and lunch are served in a nice patio area with a view over the pool. The whole location is peaceful and relaxing. Some have mentioned the small size of the toilets and this is definitely a major issue but one which affects many hotels in France and this hotel shouldn't be singled out for this problem. If you go to this hotel - and I would recommend it - try to get rooms 31, 32, 33, 34 or 35.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    85
    18
    4
    9
See reviews for
56
114
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

We were really looking forward to our 3 night stay here based on the hotels own website. We thought we got a good deal when the price was reduced on the booking website by almost half of the original price. However, it was very disappointing for the following reasons.
The pool and pool area was not clean. The showers available to rinse by the pool were unusable as the drain was full of dirty stagnant water. They were the same for 3 days. On the first day we used the pool to cool down after arrival and you could see the dirt and grime in the tiles and around the pool. We did not use it again.
We had a bad odour in the shower of our room and when i reported this to reception I was told it happens sometimes depending on which way the wind is blowing.
The toilet and shower are in seperate rooms and the toilet room was extremely awkward to use due to very little space - we are both very slim and not tall. My partner bruised her knee badly on exiting the toilet. I think it would be unusable for a larger person.
The room was ok but not very spacious even though we went for a room with a terrace.
The location was a long walk to the beach - 15-20 mins at a quick pace along a very dull residential route. The town is closer.
While there was free parking available, it was awkward to park or exit when full.
Overall we were disappointed and if we had paid full price it would have been extremely poor value.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

This hotel is supposed to be a Relais du Silence - BUT IT IS NOT!!!! There were kids screaming everywhere! I have stayed at 3 Relais du Silence Hotels before and they were all wonderful, great service, quiet hotels, just what you would expect.....THIS HOTEL IS NOT HOWEVER!!!!

The restaurant is right below the bedrooms, and all you can hear from your balcony is kitchen staff shouting and people scrapping chairs on the ground.

The staff on reception are VERY RUDE - when we arrived the receptionist saw we were waiting to check in but ignored us, we were told to wait around the corner until someone could check us in....20 minutes later...

The rooms were tiny, in extreme need of updating....

For the amount it costs here I WOULD NOT STAY HERE....EVER.

I would probably class it a 1/2 star....no way near a 3 star!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

This hotel is set between the beach and the village/town so has easy access to both. It is an oasis of well kept grounds with a central swimming pool which is gorgeous and warm with a variety of areas inc jacuzzi bubbles. We had the ground floor apartment and it was lovely - cool and well appointed. We had one well behaved child with us and were conscious of the peaceful atmosphere of the hotel - and hope that this was not broken. It felt like a good mix of young and older couples and a scattering of families with children. The breakfast was lovely and well worth the 13 Euros - and we enjoyed the restaurants that were nearby. Collioure was lovely and Argeles a bit too tourist tacky . Overall a lovely spot

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

Had a great long weekend at Le Cottage - enjoyed the gardens and the pool very much, and the staff are extremely helpful. Nice breakfast. The only other comment is that because the hotel is small and safe and the pool shallow at one end, it can get rather noisy around the pool area in the middle of the day and through the afternoon - it is perhaps too child friendly for those of us looking for a bit of piece and quiet. I don't mean to sound too negative, but I can't help thinking that the hotel would be absolutely perfect if it were child-free. If you've got young children however, you will love it!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Although this is a comfortable hotel, it is let down by a poor restaurant. Buffet breakfast was included in our room package and was pretty good but it only serves snacks at lunchtime and no evening dinner menu. The hotel is in a quiet location and a short walk from Argeles village which has some restaurants and shops and a market on Saturdays. Our room was pleasant, good quality towels and bed linen, decent mattress, good air conditioning and small but shady balcony with view over the swimming pool. Bathroom reasonable but there was a separate toilet which was a triumph of style over commonsense. No room in it at all (husband described it as microscopic), very very hot and no extractor fan. The best points of the hotel are the room air conditioning, the swimming pool and the small, pretty garden.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

Thank you Travel Advisor!! I am so glad we read reviews before our trip. We followed recommendations by Travel Advisor and were so happy we did! Hotel le Cottage was great! Its location was perfect - in town but a short/easy walk to the beach (even our cab drivers commented on its perfect location). Rooms were (very!) clean and comfortable. The staff absolutely bent over backwards for us. Service here was outstanding. Yummy breakfast in the AM (for an extra charge but worth it). The grounds are gorgeous. Huge (heated!) pool which was super clean and never crowded. Nice hot tub (one part of the pool and another inside). Mini golf and table tennis outside. We will be coming back - this hotel was amazing - and it is very reasonable price-wise too.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cottage

Address: 21 Rue Arthur Rimbaud | 21 Rue Arthur Rimbaud, 66 700 Argeles-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Pyrenees-Orientales > Argeles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Argeles-sur-Mer
#3 Family Hotel in Argeles-sur-Mer
#3 Romantic Hotel in Argeles-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Cottage is a charming and quiet hotel between the village of Argeles and its wide sandy beach. Ideally situated for touring, close to Collioure and 28 km from the spanish border. This hotel is nicely decorated in a beautiful and large exotic park with a heated pool view on the Pyrenees... "Spa de Beaute" proposes many services such as body and face cares, steam room, sauna, hydrotherapy pool, chromotherapy shower, fitness area, relaxation room, solarium and private garden with whirlpool. Free private car park, games and leisure in the garden, breakfast at the buffet, bar, snack service at lunch time in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Le Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cottage Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.