We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have stayed a month” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Roua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge du Roua to your Saves list
Auberge du Roua
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Chemin du Roua, 66700 Argeles-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Argeles-sur-Mer
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Could have stayed a month”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

A quiet, very elegantly equipped small hotel with a first class restaurant and an interesting wine list. The combination (and the pool) iare delightful. The staff were unobtrusive but professional - just right. Madame is a perfect host.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    49
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
24
95
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillerod, Denmark
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks in june and we really enjoyed every minutem of our stay. The hotel is cosy, clean and have a good location. The restaurant is really good and the prices are reasonable compared to the very high quality. There is a nice and quiet garden with a good swimming pool. You only have to be aware of it is not possible to buy anything at lunchtime but you can walk to the village within 10 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

A tastefully decorated hotel in a peaceful location, but not particularly easy to find - even for my satnav - or convenient for the town. This would be alright if the hotel offered a bar and reasonably priced meals but the restaurant was more for the special occasion - very good food - but expensive if using for 2 or 3 nights.
Owing to a change of dates there was only a suite available to us. Plenty of space but why no bath and so sparsely furnished? For example no dressing table. If you want a view of the mountains as mentioned elsewhere then the back of the hotel is not a good substitute. A small point perhaps, but given the number of British and other foreigners a TV channel in English could perhaps be provided.
The hotel is well placed for attractive places such as Ceret and Collioure but gives the impression once there of being a little isolated and perhaps taking advantage of no competition for eating and drinking in the immediate area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burry Port, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

My husband and I live in Barcelona and fancied a few nights away from the hustle and bustle of the city, and we certainly found that here. The garden is small but beautiful as is the pool, and is just like the pictures on the website. We opted for a Privilige room, slightly more expensive than the others but found this to be a misnomer. The decor was very drab and the bedspread reminiscent of the '60s, however the bed was very comfortable and the room clinically clean(big plus).Maybe it's just France but we found the food and beverage here expensive compared with Barcelona. For example, at most we pay Euro 1.40 for a coffee, here it is Euro 4. Breakfast at Euro 11 represented poor value as did the evening meal menu, which was the same for 2 of our 3 night stay. We enjoy good food and wine and don't mind paying for it but here we felt basically ripped off. Also the attitude of the owners was 'cool' to quote a previous reviewer. We were not asked once whether or not we were enjoying our stay or was everything to our liking. Nice place, fantastic waiting staff but a bit more welcoming hospitality please for the paying guests!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

We stayed for two nights at the hotel with our two young children. The connecting rooms were extremely spacious, with lovely views over the countryside. I loved the furniture and the bathroom. The hotel is clean and spacious, with a very useful lift with young children. We felt very welcome by the staff, and enjoyed great service by the pool. The restaurant is outstanding, and the food is exquisite : we really recommend it. The owner also has an extensive wine collection, so if you are a connoisseur, or would like to know more about wine, you should ask !

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

Since 2006, my husband, 6 year old son and I have stayed at the Auberge, on several occasions. We have stayed for a nine night summer break, long weekends, even the odd short break for just the two of us. The Auberge is breath-takingly beautiful; original and charming externally, restored to the highest contemporary standards internally. The rooms and bathrooms are immaculate. With stunning views of the Albères, a gorgeous swimmimg pool to dine beside, whether that be breakfast or a heavenly evening meal and I think you would be hard pushed to beat what the Auberge has to offer. The owners are both exceptionally kind and warm hearted whilst at the same time keen to respect your privacy. Clearly, they have both worked very hard to turn the Auberge and it's restaurant into what it has become; very well known and very well respected. I have spoken to many other guests who also return year after year. In truth, I would love to keep this little diamond to myself but I can't - it wouldn't be fair. Especially in light of some recent comments. My family and I, and many other guests we have spoken to absolutely love the Auberge du Roua and if you enjoy spoiling yourself then so will you.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

Sounds like nothing much has changed. We spent three nights, were ignored by the owner on arrival while we carried all our luggage in; the room wasn't ready including no promised drop down bed for our daughter, no curtains etc. We sat down by the pool to relax after a long journey and they couldn't provide a glass of rose wine! Then we were chased away from the pool as they were preparing the restaurant for dinner. Owner fawned over favoured guests at dinner and barely acknowledged us. At breakfast the teacup was still stained with hot chocolate from a previous customer. Swore we would never return and advised Alastair Sawday, who's book we 'd found the hotel in, that his review was not borne out by the reality.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge du Roua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Roua

Address: 46 Chemin du Roua, 66700 Argeles-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Pyrenees-Orientales > Argeles-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Argeles-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge du Roua 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge du Roua – an authentic catalane mansion from the 17th century entirely refurbished into a hotel with 17 rooms and suites – welcomes you to the sunny climate of the Mediterranean.Situated outside the town of Argeles sur Mer, towards the vineyards and beautiful mountains of Les Alberes, l’Auberge du Roua provides a unique setting of contemporary design and comfort, including modern amenities of free wifi and high speed internet, coupled with a truly Mediterranean-flavoured cuisine and exceptional local wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Auberge du Roua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Roua Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Roua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.