We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice evening with friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mariscada

La Mariscada
Residence La Reale, 66700 Argeles-sur-Mer, France
0468815987
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 162 Restaurants in Argeles-sur-Mer
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
kent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice evening with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

There were an abundance of restaurants to choose from in is port and all serving a good selection of fish as you would expect from a port side restaurant. We settled on this one. Right on the port frontage it has a good position overlooking the marina. The food was good value for money and the prawn starter was excellent. I thought the portions were adequate (some reports say they were small but we ate out a lot on this holiday and they were comparable) the wine was reasonably priced and all in all we had a lovely evening, the good weather obviously helped. The staff were friendly and the service was good, even though the restaurant was very busy

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    33
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Fixed price good food, small portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

On the surface, this place offers value for money. The food was good, service was ok.

3 course cuisine for 13.5€ a head which includes 1/4 carafe of house wine, we got better quality food than you might expect, small portions, but overall worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snitterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Value for money but small portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Value for money menu du jour, 13€50 for a 3 course meal including house wine. There are 3 starters and 3 mains to choose from and several choices for dessert. Typical catalan cuisine, their fish soup and chicken in a catalan sauce are both recommended.
Portion sizes are small always leave feeling I could eat a little more.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, Berkshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I visited La Mariscada with my wife and another couple and found the food to be excellent. The restaurant has views of the port, the interior is modern and comfortable and the service was friendly and efficient . I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting good food and a pleasant evening at the port.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food But A Bit Expensive In Parts.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011 via mobile

This restaurant had the best tasting dishes in the Argeles area and the fixed price menu's offer very good value. It was the small incidentals that I thought were overpriced such as bottle of water around 3.20€ (had two), pricey enough wines and deserts 7.50€ for those not choosing the fixed menu. However maybe we choose expensive deserts.

Service was very efficient and friendly and overall would have no problem recommending this as a "must eat" restaurant, but stick to the fixed price rather than a la carte and ask for "eau" normal.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mariscada also viewed

Argeles-sur-Mer, Pyrenees-Orientales
Argeles-sur-Mer, Pyrenees-Orientales
 
Argeles-sur-Mer, Pyrenees-Orientales
Argeles-sur-Mer, Pyrenees-Orientales
 

Been to La Mariscada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mariscada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.