We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique old school hotel with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pavillon Henri IV

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pavillon Henri IV to your Saves list
Pavillon Henri IV
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Rue Thiers, 78100 St-Germain-en-Laye, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Unique old school hotel with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

There are spectacular views of Paris from the hotel. This property may have some rough spots but the hotels style, location to the city center and the view make this a good stop. Did not eat here so can't comment but a quick walk and you can find food, and its close to a castle.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavillonHenriIV, Responsable commercial at Pavillon Henri IV, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We thank you for your comments and pleased to read that you appreciate our historic and unique place ! Looking for the pleasure to welcome you again if you wish to try our restaurant and its delicious carte.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    55
    30
    21
    8
See reviews for
36
109
5
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We chose this hotel for its location and were not disappointed. It was just a short walk to the train station and from there twenty minutes to the centre of Paris. The views from the terrace are every bit as good as described by other reviews. The entrance hall was quite impressive and the reception and check in efficient. We had two rooms and whilst not expecting a large room were quite disappointed by how small our room actually was. It had signs of damp and whilst we did not spend a lot of time in it the lack of air conditioning was a problem. The bathroom was also small but quite modern and functional,
Our other room, whilst the same price and next door, was somewhat larger, different in layout and altogether preferable. It did however only have a handheld shower over the bath. Both rooms were quite noisy as pointed out in other reviews.
Breakfast was satisfactory, but rather limited in choice and the staff were not the most enthusiastic or efficient.
Having said that, for us the location was absolutely ideal, St Germaine en Laye itself being well worth a visit and for that reason we would not rule out a return to this historic old building on our next visit to Paris.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Visited here this week for a business trip near the hotel. We had a group of about 10 people staying at the hotel. We did not have dinner at the hotel, but stayed from 2 to 4 days, depending on what our folks were doing.

When you arrive, the hotel is quite nice in appearance. You enter into the old estate, which was the birthplace of Louis XIV, through a series of winding roads up on the hillside near the Seine River. As you arrive into the hotel, you are greeted with the appearance of a nice stately home. The reception area is open, with a staircase on the right side. The reception area is just past the stairs. The greeting was pleasant from the staff, and he was quite helpful in managing our taxi driver (non-English speaking unfortunately) and getting me a fan for my room (more on that part soon).

The view off of the terrace as you pass through the reception area is quite lovely, as most people post here in TripAdvisor. The terrace sits adjacent to the hotel restaurant area, where you also have breakfast.

Rooms: My room was quite nicely sized, but appeared aged. The sitting chairs showed definite signs of wear and one was slightly damaged. The bed was hard, but that is to my liking. A flat-screen TV was there, but I never turned it on!

The bathroom was also large, with an open shower with a dual head arrangement - a rain shower and a hand-held showerhead. The only complaint was that because the shower was open to the back, part of the bathroom got wet if you are not really careful. Water pressure was good with plenty of hot water during my stay.

Unfortunately, some of my colleagues did not have the same size and quality room as I did. A couple complained of very small rooms, no shower - just a bath tub with a hand-held shower head that you had to hold above your head if you wanted a shower.

Another comment is that the rooms and hotel are not air conditioned. Unfortunately, it was hot this week and the room was an oven. If the weather is hot, ORDER A FAN immediately upon arrival. I don't know if they would run out, but I was very happy to have mine as some of my colleagues really struggled sleeping at night.

This brings me to another point made by other reviewers - the hotel is quite loud with guests and early morning cleaning and trash pick-up. Because you must have the hotel windows open for air, you can clearly hear any discussions, parties, etc. that are going on at the site. There was a lot of loud talking going on until fairly late (past midnight) the night I stayed there. Additionally, my colleagues complained of a trash pick-up (large truck emptying dumpsters) at 5:30 in the morning!

Breakfast was below average. There was no staff in the restaurant and the morning I was there
the options were quite limited. Two selections of bread/pastries, cold meat, 3-4 choices of cheese, some yogurt, muesli, some juice selections, and coffee/tea. But, the coffee and tea were only lukewarm.

My colleagues tell me the bar was OK, but expensive.

So, if you were to poll my group, you would end up with a score from very low to above average - which is why I gave my score of average, 3 out of 5. Our room rate was 143 euros.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Just spent 2 night here for a company business conference. The facilities are excellent, with very good and plentiful lunches.
Dinners in the evening were excellent, with good food and wine selections.
What makes this place though is the rooms, and the view. The rooms are large, by anyones standards, with a great king size bed. The bathroom is truly enormous to typical french levels, with separate bath, shower, and his/hers sinks. The piece de la resistance though is the view. To wake up in the morning, with the balcony doors open is a scene of sheer beauty. Seeing Paris in all its glory, with the sun rising and the mist being burned off, really sets you up for the day.
I need to come back here again soon, but purely at a relaxation level

Room Tip: Paris in the summer is thing of sheer beauty....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavillonHenriIV, Responsable commercial at Pavillon Henri IV, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Quelle location: the town and Château de Saint Germain-en-Laye on one side - complete with its resplendent jardins, and the Seine and La Defence on the other.

The hotel is on the site of the demolished Château Neuf and birthplace of Louis XIV, the surviving paved terraces of which still incline down the embankment to the Seine and Le Pecq.

Rooms vary in price. We stayed for two separate booking totalling 8 days in the west-facing cheaper rooms which overlook the parking facilities (139€ in American style breakfast). These are infinitely presentable rooms in the style of fussy French, shabby chic. Perhaps un peu petit! We stayed at a particularly hot/humid time, and the installation of air-conditioning would have improved the experience. The east-facing rooms overlook Paris and, naturally, are plus cher.

The salle des bains are reassuringly large and posh and all, it would appear, slightly different. Some have walk-in cubicles, others, stand-in-bath mixers. One had the "telephone" cradle in the bath, but nowhere to hang the shower head. So you have to learn to sponge down with one hand whilst se doucher-ing avec l'autre. - all without spraying over the shower glass and onto the bathroom floor. Hey ho, I learned the technique on my dernier jour.

The petit déjeuner was more than a little decent; comprising a range of hot, cold and continental - and all eaten in the Terrace Restaurant overlooking La Defence and Paris. Wonderful!

Apart from breakfast, we didn't eat at the hotel. We found a lovely gaggle of eateries and drinkeries in Saint Germain, a short walk away, where we spent every evening.

The hotel staff are extremely nice and very patient with my dreadful attempts at speaking their language.

I hope to return.

Room Tip: If staying in the cheaper rooms, ask for one away from the kitchen vent below. It can be noisy unti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavillonHenriIV, Responsable commercial at Pavillon Henri IV, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We thank you for the details given further to your recent stay in our hotel. Sorry for the problems in the shower ! We are pleased if you have appreciate the best of our hotel, as the beautiful view over Paris and the quality of our services and staff. We hope to have the pleasure of a future stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Vesinet, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Rooms are correct and clean for the level, but the view on Paris is the best I've never seen from the west. Breakfast and service are OK, reception very friendly. Ask before to reserve because it's a very wellknown place for weddings, and the night can be not so quiet. But the place is incredible and you feel like a "courtisan" near the park of the king Louis XIII and in the house where was born Louis XIV !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavillonHenriIV, Responsable commercial at Pavillon Henri IV, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires plutôt élogieux sur notre hôtel, vous avez pu admirer toute la vallée de la Seine depuis votre chambre et le restaurant panoramique. Lorsque nous recevons une réception de mariage, les clients de l'hôtel sont toujours informés en amont, et les chambres les plus calmes leurs sont attribuées.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Germain en Laye
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Regrettably there was a private party in the restaurant causing noise in the rooms on the second floor untill 3 AM. The hotel did not seem to have received the booking from easy to book so charged us again and did not sort out the issue of miscommunication between website and hotel system. Room was not clean. Good points is that the hotel is well located and has the potential of becoming a wonderfull hotel if managed differently and renocated significantly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavillonHenriIV, Responsable commercial at Pavillon Henri IV, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Sir, we are sorry if you are desapointed about your recent stay in our hotel. In fact, your online booking on a partner website never arrived in our system. So we had to request for payment again because we never received the payment you made online to our partner. We had to wait on Monday to call them to have the explanation. We organized your check-in as quick as possible in order not to keep you waiting to find a solution. Regarding your comment about noise, we usually propose the more quiet rooms park side to clients because the noisy rooms are already booked by the group if they play music late at night. We are sorry if you find your room not clean, you should tell us so we had the possibility to change your room when you arrived. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in other circumstances and again apology even if we are not responsable about the reservation problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pavillon Henri IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon Henri IV

Address: 19 Rue Thiers, 78100 St-Germain-en-Laye, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > St-Germain-en-Laye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in St-Germain-en-Laye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pavillon Henri IV 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on a vast terrace, near the castle and the forest, this neoclassical house saw the birth of Roi Soleil, Louis XIV. In the dining room with its unique and spectacular view over Paris and the Seine Valley, a delicious cuisine stamped with modernity has replaced the noble recipes of bygone days. You will appreciate the well decorated rooms either with the view over Paris or park side. Private parking, free wifi. RER A train at 5 mn walking (30 mn to Champs-Elysees). An ideal setting for a romantic stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pavillon Henri IV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon Henri Iv Hotel St-Germain-En-Laye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavillon Henri IV, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.