We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beckham's Old Haunt?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cazaudehore et La Forestiere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cazaudehore et La Forestiere to your Saves list
Cazaudehore et La Forestiere
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1, avenue du Pres. Kennedy, 78100 St-Germain-en-Laye, France   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beckham's Old Haunt?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our package of Dinner, B&B plus bottle of wine total cost us 319 Euros! Amazing Value!

I imagine this would be a perfect location to explore the surrounding area...certainly the drive there made me want to come back another time. We were not disappointed and with beyond-hot-weather, we sat in the garden, with tea and fantastic French biscuits warm from the oven (very British!)

Our room, whilst small, was beautifully designed (the fabrics used in this hotel are gorgeously sumptuous), well equipped with French doors opening onto a tiny terrace with access to the garden, and a lovely bathroom complete with tub and luxurious toiletries. There was no air conditioning but incredibly we didn't need it as the room was cool.

A delicious dinner was eaten outside where other diners were of an eclectic nature...family groups, courting couples, business men and two pretty girls with a dashing slick-back haired tanned guy who must surely have had something to do with a certain football team whose training ground is opposite the entrance to the hotel! Inside, the restaurant is very stylish and I imagine in the football season would be a marvellous spot for some people watching. Service was good and our waiter very chatty and amusing.

Breakfast was served in a small area off the reception and was perfect. Freshly baked breads, croissant etc. Fresh juice, local yoghurt, homemade preserves and beautiful china. Attention to detail is evident in this hotel. Staff were quietly efficient and very smiley.

This hotel had a truly lovely ambiance and we would definitely return.

Before leaving I wandered across the road to Paris St Germaine's immaculate set-up where a chubby security guard half-heartedly shouted "Madam, pas des photos" - or something like that. As he wasn't going to waste energy getting out of his car, I took pictures of the player's carpark slots. One of them was Ibrahimovic's...apparently he's pretty good!!

Room Tip: If space is a priority ask for a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    45
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
18
62
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We booked a one night stay in a classic room for a stop-over on our way back to England. Our package included dinner with drinks and B&B and seemed to represent very good value. The hotel has a rather strange location - on the edge of a wood, but on a road that also included social housing, a military establishment. light industry and the Paris St Germaine football team training ground! The reception staff were very good and our room had a small outside area overlooking the garden. When we checked in, the hotel staff told us that a table had been booked for us and would be available any time after 8pm. When we showed up at 8.30, the restaurant manager said he did not have our booking and was extremely arrogant (in a manner that Parisians have a reputation for, but I've never encountered before). His subordinate then found our name a the top of the list and a vague attempt was made to acknowledge a misunderstanding. We were given menus and "amuse bouches" almost immediately but no one came to take our order (despite a huge number of staff). Eventually, we were able to attract the attention of a waiter, who went to get the restaurant manager. He told us that the delay was due to the fact that someone has taken something off our table which indicated that we had already ordered (??). Overall, we found the service from the "senior" staff (including somelliers) very poor. They spent a long time talking to (what we assumed to be) regular customers, and left us feeling very uncomfortable. The regular waiters were nice, but seemed to only be allowed to serve food or clear plates - all requests had to be passed up! We chose to have breakfast in the main hotel rather than return to the restaurant. Our dining experience spoilt the whole stay, I can't even remember the food, although I'm sure it was good. We will not stay at this relais & chateaux again. I have marked overall service poor - however, the hotel staff were great + the senior staff at the restaurant were terrible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackmannan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Invariably Relais and Chateaux hotels and restaurants are very good and a reliable option. But La Forestiere was definitely a good find. We were seeking a hotel close to Versailles which is also close to Paris but without the frustrations of actually being in the centre of Paris. So we arrived at La Forestiere and having been offered a very reasonable rate we settled in a very comfortable room with outside table and chairs on the edge of the forest.

But the great treasure of this hotel we discovered later. I will report on this later but the restaurant is absolutely wonderful. Under the friendly but highly professional management of Vincent Pedrot, we enjoyed a culinary delight complimented with wine recommended by the sommelier. The setting, ambience, food quality were absolutely first class. A must for anyone staying at the hotel or staying anywhere in the area. If you are considering visiting Versailles and Paris I would advise staying at La Forestiere.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

A fabulous place where nature, good life and excellent food are gathered for a great brunching, lunching or dining time, above all during special Jazz music nights! It is the place to be if you want to spend a pleasant time with friends, family, for business o even for a romantic session with your soulmate!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to Paris by bike. The room was spacious and comfortable. We had dinner in the restaurant - we had chosen one of the half-board options, which seemed good value. The food was good and the staff attentive if a little formal. What pleased me most about this hotel was the friendliness of the reception staff. We had arrived hot and sweaty after a long cycle ride and they looked after us and our bikes and the next morning made sure we had enough cold water for the hot day ahead. It's little things like this that can turn an average overnight stay into something more memorable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights and 3 days. In the general is a very good option if you like to stay out of Paris. we booked a junior suite, for French Standard was big, small living room, spaceous shower room, the best the shower amenities from L'occitane which is a fantastic brand of French comestic line, I loved it. The bed was quite confortable, nice fabric sheets and pillows. The decoration of our room was horrible, too corny for my taste, but at the same time combines with the Forest atmosphere...we had a small terrace with view in the forest super nice. Very very friendly staff, 10 points! The breakfast delicious, the croisants fantastic, typical european breakfast, bread, butter, honey and mermelade.
Im my opinion a bit expensive for the type of hotel, but I will for sure go back in my next visit to Saint Germain en Laye.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent 4 nights in a classic room and enjoyed our stay in this romantic hotel. On arrival it has a lovely feel and is right next to the enormous forest which is enjoyed by families. We got a bit lost and the map provided by the hotel is of little help as it does not correspond to direction signs in the forest. Our room, though somewhat tired, had old world charm and was stylishly decorated. We had a little patio with table and chair which we would have enjoyed more had it not been next to the tennis court where they play till late at night. Paris and Versaille are both fairly close and this hotel is a haven in the mayhem of traffic. service was friendly.

Room Tip: Far from the tennis courts
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaëtan D, Responsable commercial at Cazaudehore et La Forestiere, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment.
The Tourist Office of St Germain en Laye just edited new maps about the walk in the forest that should be easier to follow.
Kindly note that we will start some soft renovation in some of our room during the summer !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cazaudehore et La Forestiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cazaudehore et La Forestiere

Address: 1, avenue du Pres. Kennedy, 78100 St-Germain-en-Laye, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > St-Germain-en-Laye
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in St-Germain-en-Laye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cazaudehore et La Forestiere 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cazaudehore is the name of a family and a place that embodies for three generations the art of living and receiving in Saint-Germain-en-Laye.Just twenty minutes from Paris, in the heart of the thick forest of oaks and in the setting of a beautiful garden, the hotel and its restaurant, member of the Relais & Chateaux chain for 40 years compose a getaway near and far. Near by its accessibility, by far by the feeling of escape it provides.Here act the magic of a a natural setting enhanced by excellent comfort and gastronomy, cadenced by the swing of jazz music on Friday nights. For a bucolic lunch or a dinner by the fireplace, during a few days, Cazaudehore La Forestière is the refuge of a family home, where you feel at home, better than at home. A beautiful hideaway, near the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cazaudehore et La Forestiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cazaudehore et La Forestiere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.