We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Black Bus shuttle is a pain” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Paris CDG Airport

Save Saved
You added Best Western Paris CDG Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Paris CDG Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Allee du Verger, 95700 Roissy-en-France, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate Guaranteed
Ranked #16 of 32 hotels in Roissy-en-France
Brasov, Romania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Black Bus shuttle is a pain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I would rate this hotel higher but the shuttle service back to the airport driven us crazy.
Let me explain! When I booked the hotel, I understood that they offer free shuttle service from and to airport. Basically, we were told to get out of the terminal and take the Black Bus to the hotel ("Only three minutes from Roissy-Charles de Gaulle International Airport" - according to the hotel's site).
It sounds good but let's go to the real life: when out of the Terminal 2 with the baggage, we found out that the Black Bus is actually not the free shuttle to BW hotel only but to some dozens of Hotels in Roissy. After about 20 minutes of waiting, the bus arrived. The first stop was Ibis Hotel. The second stop was Millenium hotel which was next to BW so we decided to step out here and take a walk to BW.
We spent about 30-40 minutes from the Black Bus shuttle station to the hotel, including the 20 minutes of waiting and 5 minutes of walk.
I decided to consider 45 minutes for the way back to the airport. Great mistake!
Next day, soon after check out, the bus arrived. The driver has confirmed that this is the right bus to the airport. We boarded the bus and went to ... Marriot hotel. Then, to another hotel. And so on. The bus stopped at least 5 minutes in front of every single hotel in Roissy even there were no passengers to drop or pick up. After the tour of all the hotels in Roissy was completed, the bus stopped in front of the terminal 1 for ... the drivers crew change! They needed about 10-15 minutes to talk (a long handover, huh?). The bus finally arrived in front of Terminal 2 after 50 minutes!!! It's amazing, but they managed to waste about 50 minutes on what they called "Only three minutes from Roissy-Charles de Gaulle International Airport".

From the other hand, the hotel is nice and quiet. The room was large, clean and fine furbished, the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was OK as well. The WiFi worked well. They offer tea and coffee on the house.
I was not so happy with the breakfast. It was not included in the price of the room and quite expensive: 18 Euro/person. We ordered the breakfast in the room, asking for omelets. The omelet was absolutely tasteless (made of eggs powder?!). The other foodstuffs were more or less OK.
Overall, I consider that as an airport hotel it doesn't worth the money. If you need 50 minutes to reach the Airport, better stay in a hotel in Paris and take the train!

Room Tip: Consider that you may need one hour from the hotel to the Terminal 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    137
    63
    27
    32
See reviews for
67
69
28
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel and room were nothing special but OK. The real problem started with the shuttle bus which turned out to be a disgrace. Bus turned up late (many people waiting) and we were pushed into it with no room to breathe. Getting to the airport the driver advised us not to get off at terminal 1 where it was indicated but to wait since he was going to a closer entrance.... he never did and upon questioning he simply stopped the bus and let us out in the pouring rain, together with another group of travelers. We had to struggle with our luggage in the rain to reach the terminal.
I believe the hotel has a responsibility towards its guests and the "Black Bus" is an unacceptable and dangerous service; the driver should be fired.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Entire floor smelled of deodorant and mildew. Got up in morning to catch flight and the cold water faucet on shower was broken. No way to bathe before going to airport. Reported to desk, got a ho hum okay thanks for reporting it response. I have stayed in Best Westerns for most of my 65 years, no more.

As for the food, you really need to pick up sandwiches at CDG because the menu is very limited and not very good.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tooting
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

If these are attributes you seek in your hotel, then the Best Western at Charles de Gaul airport is a must visit.

Busted hairdryer in bathroom. No working hair dryer available for 10-15 minutes – better than a costly salon perm.

Iron and ironing board only available on request – useful if you are seeking the casual, crushed linen look.

Bed side lamp not working – in fact bed side lamp not actually present at all as someone appeared to have sheared it off at its base and taken it with them but sharp remaining end is obliging as a nail file.

No face flannels - extremely useful for guests with no face.

Complimentary eau de Lux shower soap – one of the fine fragrances France is so renowned for. No shampoo, conditioner, body crème because we are not worth it.

No room bar but a free mini sponge, choc crème filled Swiss roll does its best.

Reception refuses to take debit/credit card on check-in of pre-paid rooms saying no point in having it. Helps guests avoid frittering away money as this means they can’t order in-room movies and of course won’t be bothered to return to reception to register card in order to do so, therefore hotel selflessly loses income.

Hotel in-room advisory boasts of vending snack machines by reception but does not include that they come complete with an out of order sticker. The surprise of course is priceless and ensures delight at the caring for your calorie controlled diet.

Only two of the three pc’s are working in the business centre. As long as you don’t want to print anything such as your flight’s boarding card that may be fine, of course if you do it is the pc that attaches to the printer.

If you like watching sunsets then wait for the hotel’s complimentary exhibition bus where they tell you to wait outside the exhibition centre. You can enjoy the gamut of sunshine, then sunset and then Paris by night plus a personalised tour guide (that you access by phoning reception on roaming Vodafone charges) as you listen to reception ask if you can see the Novotel and other sights. Finally the nice Comfort Inn lady brings your enjoyment to an end by getting her equally nice driver to drive you back to the tender arms of your Best Western hotel in order for it to wish you a Bonne Nuit and to tuck you in with a Club (Le) Sandwich, which seems to consist primarily of egg and that comes with undercooked fries (they absorb less chubby making oil that way I expect) and that you have to pay cash for because your card is not registered at reception.

The staff struggle on with some being quite sweet but one in particular should not assume you are at the airport waiting for the shuttle bus but at the exhibiton where its exhibition shuttle bus dropped you!

Room Tip: Yuo - Choose it at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

If one must stay at an airport hotel, this establishment is both convenient and quite comfortable. The airport shuttle is a little complicated getting from the airport to the hotel itself, but that reflects the mode of transportation rather than the hotel. The staff at this hotel, particularly Patricia, Genji, and Bachir were exceptionally helpful and refreshingly candid during my stay. They offered solid advice about getting into the city and returning at a late hour. Moreover, they were remarkably calm, gracious, and polite when besieged with guests who were vociferously grumpy and far from pleasant. More than a few Best Westerns in the US could benefit from whatever collective training takes place here in Paris. If pressed for an early departure from Roissy, one can rely on this hotel with ease.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopenhagenDenmark
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The hotel was booked by a colleague of mine - I ususally don't stay at Best Western hotels as I find the general quality level to be low compared with similar priced competitors - and yet again I was disappointed.

Let's start with the good things:

The room - was very nice and quite large. I had two queen size beds to choose from. Sleep quality was fine. In-Room amenities are fine - WiFi works fine etc.I don't really like it when you have to stand in a bath to shower - but that's apparently the standard in most hotels nowadays.

The Breakfast was really bad - yoghurt was not really cold (= disgusting!), juice was not cold (room temperature!) and it wasn't because I was there last minute. I was there at 8.00. I didn't dare try the scrambled eggs as it looked more like egg soup or the bacon as it looked very funny (burnt and on the same time undercooked). I went hungry from the buffet!!

As a Dane we pride ourselves on our design heritage - and I was pleased to see the most famous Danish design chair (The Egg Chair - designed by Arne Jacobsen) presented directly at the entrance. However taking a closer look I discovered it was a fake - what a disaster. I find it wrong on so many levels to endorse fake goods - especially in a international hotel chain.

All in all I would definitely go for another hotel next time around!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is located near CDG Paris airport, and serves the budget business traveler. The room was small, but adequate. The room and bath were clean, and the bed was comfortable. Towels were a bit skimpy but OK. Free Wi-Fi worked fine. Fitness room was surprisingly well-equipped. Bar was OK for a quick beer. Breakfast buffet was also good, had Asian as well as European style food. Shuttle service (Black Bus) serves several hotels, so was crowded upon departure, but again adequate. Front desk staff were very helpful, and gave good advice on train service into Paris from CDG. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: request an upper floor room facing away from runways for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Western Paris CDG Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Paris CDG Airport

Address: 1 Allee du Verger, 95700 Roissy-en-France, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Val-d'Oise > Roissy-en-France
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Roissy-en-France
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Paris CDG Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barely three minutes from Paris Roissy Charles de Gaulle Airport and 10 minutes from the Paris Nord Villepinte exhibition centre, our 243 spacious and comfortable rooms provide you with and ideal business venue. As well as our 16 new meeting rooms and business centre, we also focus on comfort, providing you with a fitness area, bar and 'Josephine's' restaurant with its innovative and international cuisine.OUR LOCATION, WARM DECOR AND CONVIVIAL ATMOSPHERE MAKE OUR HOTEL THE IDEAL PLACE FOR HOLDING YOUR INTERNATIONAL EVENTS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Best Western Paris CDG Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Paris Cdg Airport Hotel Roissy
Holiday Inn Roissy
Roissy Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Paris CDG Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.