We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Paris Roissy Charles de Gaulle

Save Saved
You added Mercure Paris Roissy Charles de Gaulle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Paris Roissy Charles de Gaulle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Allee du Verger | Restaurant Pays de France, 95700 Roissy-en-France, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 32 hotels in Roissy-en-France
Ontario Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was stuck here due to a missed connection and air France put me up here.check in was great especially since this was the day hurricane sandy hit the US and the hotel was full of stranded travelers.
Initially when I sat on my bed I was disappointed since all I could hear was creaky bed springs I didn't even know beds had springs anymore!! As it was I did sleep well. The bathtub had the black mold in spots around the caulking when a hotel is older which I hate but otherwise the room was spotless. The carpet in the hallways is stained and the woodwork on the doors looks beaten up this place needs a renovation.
I had an omelette at the bar for dinner which was very good and a nice evening with other stranded travelers. Good service and a nice bar area. Breakfast which was complimentary was a buffet with a big selection including a table. There is also free wi fi in rooms
The service by the staff at this hotel is very good. If you can overlook how dated it is you will be fine for a short term stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    209
    111
    36
    16
See reviews for
65
162
62
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Set your expectations low with this property and you'll be fine. Be realistic - you're staying at an airport hotel in a town that has a strip of a dozen lodging properties to accommodate delayed or early-morning travellers who (wisely) don't want the expense of a taxi from the city or the unreliability of the RER B train the morning of their departure.

Check In
Quick. Pleasant. Informative. Given map of the area and bus timetable with helpful hints on how best to go to/from CDG.

Common Areas
The lobby is basic but the age of the Mercure shows in the hallways. Dim yellowed lights. Filthy carpet. Depressing walk to your room. Elevators that bang and creak, and the dank smell of tobacco is everywhere (it's France, what do you expect?)

Room
Basic. Window that opens. Fridge. The low-rise bed was well used. Not exactly comfortable but not painful, either. Thin blanket and sheets. Clean. Kettle and instant coffee/tea tray. Work table with one chair. TV. The room reeked of disinfectant that eventually dissipated after opening the window.

Bathroom
Spotless. Excellent hot water. Sufficient towels. Of course, the ubiquitous glass half-panel French shower door is still a mystery to me - water goes everywhere.

Internet
Free if you select the correct plan from the Orange WiFi network. Do not use the cable - there is a fee for the cable connection.

Service
An iron and board (tiny) was brought to my room within 5 minutes of the request.

Breakfast
Not worth the EUR18. Buffet style but you can order cooked items. Wait staff circulates with coffee pots. Very attentive and friendly. But the food is basic - 2 types of cheese, 2 types of yogurt, croissants, toast, tinned fruit salad and 3 kinds of cereal (bulk.) Hot dishes are limited to fatty bacon, powered eggs (with absolutely no flavour) and dry pancakes. Avoid.

Transfer
You book the Mercure knowing that you're staying in Roissy-en-France. You're near the airport but not at the airport. The bus goes every 20 minutes. From the hotel to CDG is fast but the travel time from CDG to the hotel depends on where you board the shuttle. From Roissypole, you'll stop first at the Air France Operations Center and then make the loop around the entire T2 complex, stopping at the train station (top floor) before finally heading out to the hotel. It seems to take forever.

Would I stay again? No. The Ibis at CDG Roissypole has a new wing and renovated rooms with hard wood floors, tiled bathrooms, updated decor and free WiFi. The hotel is on the CDGVAL line so it's convenient to all terminals. Several resonable (even cheap) dining options with decent food and super friendly staff. And it's at least 25% cheaper than the Mercure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for the first (and last) time two weeks ago for one night. We normally stay at the other Accor Hotel called Novotel Wellness Center down the road but the air show in town had made the prices ridiculous there...so we decided to try this one.

So, the French Country Restaurant was a big selling point for us...our last night in France, a nice meal and wine before the hassles of airplane travel the next day sounded wonderful. What a HUGE disappointment. The menu is all a la carte, very pricey for what you get, and the ambiance and service was not at all the calibre they should have been. We named our waitress Madame Ice Queen...and we speak French. The restaurant itself felt like an Appleby's that had tried to make itself more upscale. We were the first to arrive and were seated at the very back of the restaurant, where I had a lovely view of coat racks in the banquet room next door. Charming. The food was good, not great...when we were told they have a 'star' I thought, well, I guess everything is for sale now.

The room was ok. lighting good for reading and the bath was a decent size. The hallways, elevators, lobby are all dated with beat up door frames and really dirty carpeting with spots and spills left over the years up and down the hall. It felt dingy.

The breakfast was adequate.

Bottom line - if this is the only hotel left with a room and we are in a bind, I'd stay here again. Otherwise, I'd do everything I can to stay at the Novotel Wellness Center, which though pricier at times, is light and airy and has a better restaurant and staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed in the city for 3 nights and decided to stay near the airport on our last night due to an early flight. We were actually booked at "another" hotel (horrible experience at check-in) but ended up in this hotel, MERCURE, and we were so glad we did! The front desk staff, at least 3 of the 4 we've actually talked to were nice, warm, friendly and helpful. The breakfast had great selection, food wass good and again staff at the breakfast room were nice, friendly and helpful. Our room was big, clean and smelled good! It almost made us feel like we were close to home. Shuttle bus was always on time which made the trip to the city so easy. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Probably not. I happened to be lodged here as a forced stopover in Paris because of a missed connection due to a cancelled flight. Got to the hotel late at night together with many other travellers who had suffered the same fate as us, only to be met by a rather bored (to say the least) reception staff who could not even pretend to be polite (they must have figured that since we were there out of someone else's choiche there was little point making an effort to please us, as we would hardly come back).
Rooms were rather basic, but seemed to be quite clean at least.
Left very early the next morning, but had time to check out their breakfast: buffet was not particularly plentiful, but had reasonable choice of both sweet and savoury options.
Altogether an average hotel, although well connected with the terminals, but then the area is full of hotels, and most likely there are better ones too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just an overnight stop and pleased to say peaceful despite the runway being not that far away so obviously the glazing works! Lovely to have a kettle to make a drink and a good comfy bed. Part of a tour group and shuttled into a side room for breakfast which was rather poor and less choice than the one for individuals. Our tour company and us had paid for porterage, but some on our tour had to chase up their luggage which had been abandoned in the lobby. Staff too busy chasing the "first class" passengers to even acknowledge our existence even when greeted! Come on, good manners costs nothing!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Paris Roissy Charles de Gaulle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Roissy Charles de Gaulle

Address: 1 Allee du Verger | Restaurant Pays de France, 95700 Roissy-en-France, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Val-d'Oise > Roissy-en-France
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Roissy-en-France
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Roissy Charles de Gaulle 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a 10 minute drive from Airport, this hotel provides a free airport/train TGV shuttle service. It also offers 24-hour front desk and free Internet Wireless access. The air conditioned guest rooms are equipped with a 42" TV (80 channels) and a tea and coffee maker. A buffet breakfast is available daily and the hotel’s restaurant serves traditional French cuisine for lunch and dinner. Guests can dine on the outdoor terrace overlooking the landscaped garden. Bar Aéro cafe is open until late and also has a snack menu. Room service 24/24. Airport is 2.5 miles from Parc des Expositions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Mercure Paris Roissy Charles de Gaulle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Roissy Charles De Gaulle Hotel Roissy
Mercure Roissy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Paris Roissy Charles de Gaulle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.